Show ratings & reviews for

4.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

144 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed with insulin resistance, as my fasting sugar was 135. My doctor prescribed a statin drug to help with my triglycerides, which were around 280. I bought a meter to check my own glucose levels, and even after a change in diet and exercise, I noted the the fasting levels climbing higher. I went off the statin and a man I work with told me about bitter melon. By the third day of tak...

Most voted negative review

17 People found this comment helpful

I find taking one tablet per day over 1-2 days I develop very bad vulva itching. Very uncomfortable itching that was never there in the first place. Had to discontinue the treatment.

Shared reviews and ratings

Arkie | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/11/2019
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The "Dawn phenomenon" problem of having acceptable glucose levels daily, but waking to nearly doubled glucose, was not helped by following doctor advice to have a light meal at bedtime. Bitter melon at bedtime is reducing from 180 to 140. It was 200 until adopting intermittent fasting, skipping evening food, forcing the liver to crank up and burn fat, to get DP down to 170-180. Both approaches combined to cut a total of 60 by morning. I sleep more soundly, and am regularly dropping 2 pounds a week. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
8/10/2018
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Disclaimer, i am asian. i don't take this for treatment.. but looking at reviews y'all need help with eating this. the younger the melon, the less bitter. best way to eat it is stir fried with salty duck egg or just egg. look up the recipe. soup can also be cooked from it, with pineapple added to balance out some bitterness. can pretty much eat it every day with great general health benefits. stir fry trick is to do quick initial stir fried, add a cup of water, steam for 1-2 minutes, and finish up stir frying. season with salt and chicken stock powder to taste.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bitter melon | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/4/2017
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have experience with the treatment and I'm satisfied with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WongHawaii | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/28/2017
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Clean out seeds and marshmallow, juice, remove foam & drink 1/2 cup every morning for the last 8 weeks. Sometimes mix with 1/2 cup strawberry/banana juice. Goes down easier if you hold yr breath while swallowing, followed by cold filtered water rinse. Challenging but I soldier on motivated by amazing benefits: hair regrowth, feel a lot better, energy has returned, mild depression gone, spider veins disappeared, eyesight not cloudy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gino | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
3/11/2017
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has lowered or eliminated the symptoms of pre-diabetes; frequent urination, very dry mouth, foot tingling, etc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pa Xiong | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
1/14/2017
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am of Asian descent. My family do not eat this fruit raw like a fruit (although you can) but we stir fry or cook it with various types of meat (beef, pork or chicken) with a pinch of salt. This was just part of our normal diet. I'm glad that it is good for diabetics. i will share this information with families!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
moly | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/11/2017
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Boosted my immune system

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/25/2016
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find taking one tablet per day over 1-2 days I develop very bad vulva itching. Very uncomfortable itching that was never there in the first place. Had to discontinue the treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Surfrider | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
8/19/2016
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had pre-diabetes with 6.1 A1C and 107 fasting blood sugar. After two years of eating a small piece of bitter melon fruit with each meal my AIC is 5.5 and fasting blood sugar is 98. Steady decline for both numbers over time. I buy the fruit at a Chinese grocery store. Cut it length wise into halves, scrape out the seeds, slice it into small pieces about 1/4 inch thick, microwave it for about 3 minutes (three medium size fruit)with some water in bowl. Spread it onto plates and place in freezer. When frozen, put in freezer zip lock bags and retrieve from freezer when time to eat. Not very tasty, but if frozen it is tolerable. Its a miracle food for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
olanna | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/24/2016
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with insulin resistance, as my fasting sugar was 135. My doctor prescribed a statin drug to help with my triglycerides, which were around 280. I bought a meter to check my own glucose levels, and even after a change in diet and exercise, I noted the the fasting levels climbing higher. I went off the statin and a man I work with told me about bitter melon. By the third day of taking this remedy, which I take in capsule form, my fasting glucose dropped to 100, and soon to 90. If I eat a high carbohydrate meal, my glucose levels tend to creep up. I just watch my carbs and exercise. I totally believe in this remedy.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HappyasaLark | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/21/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taken Bitter Gourd when I was diagnosed with Diabetes (March 2015). My Glucose was 562 and my a1c was >8. I was put on a sliding scale, whereas clucose lever over 120, I would have to take insulin. Since the beginning of taking Bitter Gourd, my Glucose has gradually gone down to less than 120 (where I do not have to take insulin). My last visit to the doctor in July he checked my a1c. He had his assistant call me with the results, she told me that my a1c was normal and the doctor said on my next visit if it is still normal, I will not have to take the metformin either.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Latigo | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
9/30/2015
Condition: Hyperglycemia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It lowered my blood sugar, almost too well. The only side effect I've had is dizziness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
xxxx | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/20/2015
Condition: Diabetic nephropathy
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Modelo | Age: 55-64 |
7/14/2015
Condition: Hyperglycemia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My sugar become normal

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LateKnight | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/5/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on metaform tablets for 2 years now after being diagnosed as a diabetic when I suffered a heart attack.I am not on insulin. 8 months ago I suffered balanitis It used to come regularly every approx 12 hrs.My penis was very red & sore & had white things on it.The doctor prescribed tablets & anti fungal cream that seemed to have no effect whatsoever Approximately 1 month ago at a supermarket I bought & ate some bitter melon fruit.Not knowing it had any benefits?I then read about it being beneficial for diabetes. The pain seemed to go away so I told my family about it & didnt worry about it anymore. However after three days the balanitis came back!!!I went back to the doctor three months later asked if he could prescribe different tablets & cream.He prescribed the same tablets as before & sent me to a specialist who suggested I have a circumcision This scared the daylights out of me.But I remembered that the bitter melon i had taken 4 weeks prior seemed to nullify my pain considerably! What happens if I buy more So i went back to the shop & bought two fruits.After consuming these fruits over 4 days I noticed my pain had gone completely.The redness had disappeared there were no lumps.I am mixing these fruits now with other fruits eg apples watermelon tomatoes oranges etc because the taste is better.I am only eating the skin of the fruit.I thoroghly beleive this has completely cured me in 4 days & will continue take daily from now on? Who knows it may have also cured or helped cure my diabetes I am going back to the doctor for further blood tests in approx two weeks.The doctor did say he beleived the balanitis came from my diabetes & as it hadnt cured recommended a circumcision.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
auntieM | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/29/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got a splitting headache and dizziness but it really lowered my blood sugar

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marionmorris359yahoo.com | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/17/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mel Lyn | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/16/2015
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I been using bitter gourd leaves extract for cough remedies.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/12/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I PREFER TO EAT THE DRIED VEGETABLE, AS THE TEA REALLY MADE MY STOMACH HURT EACH TIME I WOULD DRINK THE TEA.IT LOWERED MY BS LEVELS.BS LEVEL WOULD BE IN THE 100 RANGE 2 HOURS AFTER EATING MEALS.I WILL KEEP TAKING THE DRIED VEGETABLE TO SEE.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Franny aby | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
4/12/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My sugar went from 195 to 135 in 1/2 hour. It lowers my sugar and I've lost weight and stopped my meteor in. Metformin may have caused my hand neuropathy after 27 years of use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More