Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

63 People found this comment helpful

Saffron has worked wonders for my husband's severe depression! I use "The Gathering of Saffron" from Spain - Select Grade. I steep about 150 mg overnight in hot water. My husband drinks it every morning. He has been using it everyday for about 8 years. He has suffered from depression for over 50 years. During that time psychiatrist have prescribed many pills. None worked very well and the side ...

Most voted negative review

20 People found this comment helpful

Did not work.

Shared reviews and ratings

Arman | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/22/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shirly | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/28/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MP | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
8/19/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects. I'm not a zombie, I still feel emotions, I've lost weight and Saffron has allowed me to eliminate all pharmaceutical anti-depressants. I take about 8 strands every morning in my coffee. After about 3 years, I took a 4 week break from Saffron and had a relapse into depression. I now use daily and intend to for the rest of my life. I'm diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder. I haven't been under a psychologist care for several years now and have all my symptoms completely under control with a positive outlook and pretty active lifestyle. Saffron is amazing. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Honeygirl | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/1/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been in one of the worst depression strings I have experienced in the last 22 years I have suffered from depression. I was barely hanging on and on a wait list to see a counselor. I started researching treatments I could access immediately. Within 2 weeks starting taking a combo of Saffron and Tumeric daily, my mood swings are smaller and more manageable. I still have tough days, but I no longer have the debilitating level of hopelessness that existed prior. I am going in 5 weeks of taking the combo and have no intention of stopping. Life hasenâ??t felt this manageable in years! Saffron (Nusapure 88.5mg) and Tumeric (NatureMade)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Renee5774 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
3/27/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking saffron (I use life extension brand only as others though cheaper aren't effective for me) for several years. At first it was to lose weight which I did but then I noticed I wasn't as irritable and was no longer suffering from the depression I had struggled with since I was a child. It helps increase libido and I also noticed a reduction in the number of migraines I was experiencing. I don't take it at night as it will keep me awake but morning use is perfect. I'm currently using 3 a day but in general I take 2. My husband has started using it and is also noticing many improvements.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bubbabytheseaaol.com | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/19/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Picked up after reading some research on...got the 88 mg (Only Natural brand)....wanted help with snacking, etc. and getting motivated to do my crafts....well in just a few days, I'd say it's working, will continue...and I'm a very senior lady!! but feel great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 |
3/10/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meryl | Age: 55-64 |
10/2/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I bought it initially because it claimed to lessen appetite and cravings. It helped craving lifted depression made me more energetic and less anxious. I bought in a capsule form. Took 88.25 milligrams per day. I felt less depressed after a couple of days and more motivated. So far after a week it is great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AllTexas | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/16/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using a saffron chew to aid in appetite control. I have found on days that my calorie intake is low, it helps me get through the day without to much hunger. No side effects detected. I use it a few times a week only, not on a daily basis. It is an aid, not a cure for no will power.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wheeling Judy | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/16/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been suffering Major Depressive Disorder for which I was hospitalized. I was prescribed 20 mg of Prozac which I took for six weeks. Although my mood was stabilized, I was suffering from severe side effects from the drug including laziness, inability to orgasm, dizziness, weakness in my hands/grip, hands trembling, and inability to concentrate. I decided that the Prozac was not for me as living with the side effects was worse than living with the depression. I have always been critical of pharmaceutical drugs and prefer homeopathic treatments when available. A bit of research led me to Saffron. I got it from Piping Rock and took a capsule the evening it arrived in the mail. I went to bed and woke up feeling rested and HAPPY. Happiness has eluded me for years. That morning I did not take the Prozac and instead took the saffron. I have been taking it for three days, morning and evening, and my mood has continued to be stable. I have found joy in the little things in life and have even been silly with my husband and daughter (something that never interested me in recent years although I had always been a joyful person). I did suffer some withdrawal effects from coming off the Prozac, like severe headaches and dizziness, but they seem to be subsiding. I will continue to take the Saffron in place of the Prozac. I cannot comment on long-term use as I have only been using it for a few days. I am also considering adding Tumeric to my diet as well as getting the Saffron spice to add to foods from time to time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/29/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for a week. I have Body Dysmorphic Disorder and as a result, horrible depression and anxiety. It has been FANTASTIC so far. Normally, because of my disorder, I am constantly surveying my surroundings and very sensitive to any stimuli (new people, places etc.) This would lead to constant stress and anxiety. I really only felt relaxed when I was alone in my room. Since taking it, I am already obsessing way less over my looks, which is the primary symptom of my disorder. It has only been a week, but it has really helped take the edge off of all my symptoms. I just hope it keeps working. I take a supplement with a concentrated extract once a day in the morning, but will probably have to up the dose as time goes on. Also, it makes me very sleepy, but not enough to be considered negative. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ms.H. | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I seldom review products, but felt I should share my experience with saffron in hopes it might help others. I have suffered from depression for several years. This autumn was especially bad as my mom had a stroke and died two weeks later. Over the years, I have tried numerous supplements, from St. John's Wort, Sam-e, vitamins, and niacin. Nothing seemed to really help with the overwhelming sadness. I read that saffron has proven to be helpful, so I thought I'd try it. The results are amazing. I put 10-15 threads of saffron in a cup, pour boiling water over it and let it steep for half an hour before drinking it. As another poster here suggested, I use "The Gathering of Saffron" brand which is available online. I feel like I have my life back. I do still take 400mg of Sam-e once a day along with a stress B complex vitamin, but it wasn't until I started using saffron that the clouds lifted. Not everything works for everyone, but this has been wonderful for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pepper | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/25/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Treatment works and I take 176 mg twice a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/10/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was recommended for weight loss

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
becky | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I drop a few of the stigmas (3-5)into hot water, let it seep for 5-10 mins and drink it as a tea. I also take a very low dose of an SSRI. I don't know if the two are meant to be taken together but my doctor had no complaints when I told him. Talk to your doctor for yourself though... The saffron definitely makes my SSRI work better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ishal | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/16/2014
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sbeth | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/24/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took away my anxiety and depressive spells!!its well worth the extra money on this spice its simply amazing I felt the effects long before I even knew it was a great alternative for depression ect. I was a skeptic but ...no more love this spice!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MrsC | Age: 65-74 |
3/16/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found after a few weeks it definitely helped me control my appetite. I did not look at side effects until after this time, and found out the odd dizziness and nausea I was feeling was definitely a side effect. The dizziness was actually frightening because it was severe. I feel if I only take 1 per day instead of 2, this will alleviate. Interested in whether or not anyone else has had this problem. I did feel because it is natural, there was less chance of the product causing a problem. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ela | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/3/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking to control cravings. Found it does suppress appetite and boosts mood. Not a miracle drug though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shahid | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/5/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used saffron, brand name Gohar for insomnia and for sperm count increase. The results are excellent. take it with a glass of milk before sleeping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More