Show ratings & reviews for

4.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

46 People found this comment helpful

I used a product that contained ephedra and a combination a vitamins and minerals. This was the only product that ever worked for me. I really didn't have any side effects. My doctor told me i was in fantastic shape. BP was great all labs were great and i had minimal body fat. Now i weigh more than i ever had before my blood is high in bad cholesterol my BP fluctuates and Im Diabetic! I understand...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

My husband has been using ephedra for at least 13 years. He became extremely addicted to the pills and could not wean himself off. He found that he had to increase the dosage to feel any effects. I decided to take one pill because I was working 12 hour graveyard shifts. It made me feel awful like taking speed. I will never take it again, but, it helped me understand why my husband was always t...

Shared reviews and ratings

Isabel | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
9/16/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has been most beneficial to me to relieve allergy symptoms!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bruce B. | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
4/8/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It says that ephedrine has no benefit for asthma. Is that supposed to be a joke? I have taken it since I was a child for asthma in the form of primatene mist or tablets. It is the only effective thing you can take for an asthma attack, nothing else. The FDA attacks everything that works so that they can require a prescription. Don't believe this garbage, greed is whats driving the FDA.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BATMAN | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
10/27/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ENERGY & HEART MUSCLE EXERCISE

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
djxxx | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/8/2016
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frustrated mom | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/24/2014
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used a product that contained ephedra and a combination a vitamins and minerals. This was the only product that ever worked for me. I really didn't have any side effects. My doctor told me i was in fantastic shape. BP was great all labs were great and i had minimal body fat. Now i weigh more than i ever had before my blood is high in bad cholesterol my BP fluctuates and Im Diabetic! I understand that abuse was an issue with Ephedra but if the FDA is do concerned about it shy couldn't they regulate it dome how instead of just taking it away. Or maybe since it worked for weightloss thats the whole reason for taking it away! Since the ban there have been numerous companies promoting their weightloss pill. None of them work. The one thing they all had in common before has been removed. So frustrated!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 |
1/14/2014
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ephedrine (in conjunction with caffeine) is probably the only OTC substance that has ANY effect on weight loss. It works as a strong appetite suppressant and energy booster while dieting. When dieting I use 25mg E and 200mg C 2-3x/day. Do not buy the herbal form in "weight loss" pills (if they even still sell them)... the dosing and quality is suspect. Use asthma tablets like Bronkiad or Primatine (which contain actual ephedrine in precise dosages) plus caffeine pills or coffee. Some people do have side effects (basically you're taking a strong stimulant), so if you're sensitive to the effects or are a heart patient, it's not worth it. For most, however, it's the only thing worth spending your money on... everything else out there is a scam to one extent or another.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MMorgan | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
11/19/2013
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love the energy boost it gives me, but it also gives me heartburn, which can be painful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vivre Sa Vie | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/25/2013
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken different products containing ephedra; I like Black Widow the best. It has 25mg ephedra. Recently, I have been getting side effects like dizziness and nausea that I've never had before (from a product containing (27mg ephedra). I first started taking ephedra in my 20's. I'm in my 30's now so, I'm thinking its my age. Be careful as you age...I use half the recommended dose now, and I can't even have caffeine with it like I used to. I lose weight every time I h try ephedra. I've worked out and dieted (example: I cut cheese and butter from my diet)for months with no result. I'm glad this product exists!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vivre Sa Vie | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/25/2013
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken different products containing ephedra; I like Black Widow the best. It has 25mg ephedra. Recently, I have been getting side effects like dizziness and nausea that I've never had before (from a product containing (27mg ephedra). I first started taking ephedra in my 20's. I'm in my 30's now so, I'm thinking its my age. Be careful as you age...I use half the recommended dose now, and I can't even have caffeine with it like I used to. I lose weight every time I h try ephedra. I've worked out and dieted (example: I cut cheese and butter from my diet)for months with no result. I'm glad this product exists!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Loralei71 | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/23/2013
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product worked great for my weight loss an energy level improved highly. I took this almost 10 years ago until it was ban. Today I am at the highest weight I have ever been an am now considered Obese. Nothing out there helps. I wish they would un ban and bring it back. I know it would get me back to where I nees to be.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SMDB29 | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
6/30/2013
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
2/24/2013
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelly | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
2/13/2013
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had used the diet plan Fat Perdator with ephedra as an ingrediant . It totally worked for me ! I took it as directed without fail and I was just amazed at how I felt and the energy I had ! plus I finally fit in my bathing suit without the low self esteem . I would seriously purchase it again if it does come back on market!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
1/1/2013
Condition: Obesity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I lost 120 pounds on the old product by Youngevity (FM-2001). I took this product religiously over an 8 month period. At the time I was 26, had not kids, and life was fairly stress free. I also developed the habit (and had the ability--physical, mental, time, etc.-- to exercise for 1-2 hours every day for 6-7 days a week.) I now have gained almost all of it back at the age of 47; after having 2 children, and both my husband and I pursuing very challenging, time consuming, and anxiety ridden careers. Thanks to the Government of the "Land of the Free", I no longer have easy access to this extremely helpful supplement. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fran | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
4/2/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have asthma. The drug, Singulair, prescribed by the doctor would cost me almost a weeks pay every month. The asthma does not bother me in most of my daily activities, only when I am doing some very strenuous activity. For this, I pre-medicate with 25mg. of ephedra. For me, there are no side effects. I just feel good/normal and don't run out of breath. It takes a bit longer to kick in but works as well and doesn't have the side effects that I get from the albuterol inhaler that I need to use before exercise since stoping the Singulair, at a cost of less than $5 a month. You can get it behind the pharmacy counter with no Rx, just like pseudo-ephedrine.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hbrady27 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
3/16/2012
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband has been using ephedra for at least 13 years. He became extremely addicted to the pills and could not wean himself off. He found that he had to increase the dosage to feel any effects. I decided to take one pill because I was working 12 hour graveyard shifts. It made me feel awful like taking speed. I will never take it again, but, it helped me understand why my husband was always talking fast, shaking and his blood pressure became a huge problem. His usage went from the normal to him taking up to 6 pills at a time and did this at least 3-4 times a day. He is addicted to ephedra and we are no longer together because of the effects of these pills. All of our friends and family can not be around him because he is always speeding. So he is now in a treatment center tiring to kick this addiction. In my opinion ephedra should be illegal, which I thought it was, but health stores that promote protien drinks etc. has ephedra hidden behind their counters. People please beware of this and do your homework before using anything with Ephedra in it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cheryl517 | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/12/2011
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bought my supplement at a local health food store and took exactly by the directions. After 1 week of taking it, I was sitting at work when, with no warning, my sight when completely gray. I could not see at all -- I'm not talking blurry or fuzzy -- I mean totally gray. I was in the office by myself (thank God I was not driving, etc.). Anyway, I was able to fumble around and call someone to come over -- thankfully it lasted about 30 and my sight did return. I called my eye doctor and explained my symptoms and was told they thought it was circulatory. I made an immediate appointment (had someone drive me in case I had another episode -- as there was no warning the first time -- it was like a veil had dropped over my eyes) and my PCP asked more questions. When he called the health food store and talked with the clerk, he pulled out a Physician's Desk Reference and actually looked up all the ingredients and found that the main ingredient was a derivative of ephedra -- which causes constriction of the blood vessels. And, in my case, the blood vessels in my eyes were so small that the constriction of my blood vessels caused no blood to be flowing to my eyes -- which in turn caused temporary blindness. My PCP advised me to immediately cease and desist taking that medication and I now advise any doctor I see of my "allergy" to anything with any type of ephedra in it. It was the scariest thing I have ever had happen to me with an OTC med. Check with your doctor -- and keep them informed of your progress. My PCP would have not known of my propensity for this reaction, but contra-indicators (drug interactions and side effects) are a very important part of any OTC med you consider taking.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/4/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking ephedrine for whatever reason is your business. I take it for energy I work long hours at a physically demanding job. I notice nothing bad about the effects I get from it. But the FDA has made a monster out of this drug for no reason. Only thing that comes to mind is the IRRESPONSIBILITY people have when it comes to take supplements. People dont keep track of how many they take and of course you take more than what your supposed to your gonna have an effect. Take 11 aspirin and youll find yourself with problems. Its the irresponsible people in this country that ruins everything for everyone else. Ppl are dumb I mean they have a heart problem and take stuff there not supposed to and blame the product. This is the problem with this product is that Americans are too stupid to be responsible. Theres a reason that it is legal in canada and not legal in the US. They come up with every excuse in the book. Well what about alcohol hundreds of thousands die of liver problems not to mention drunk driving but youll never see the FDA ban booze or Cigarettes. Its all POLITICAL. And this country will always remain in the shithole its in because people put politics before the welfare of the nation.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bighandspet | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/26/2009
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am an ex meth user clean for almost 3 years. i gained a lot of weight as aresult of quitting drugs and the crappy prison food i was forced to eat for 2 years. i needed something effective yet safe and legal to help me lose the 40+ pounds i gained (disgusting yes i know) while incarcerated. i started taking bronkaid 25 mg ephedrine tablets (which also contain guifenisen) 2 tablets before breakfast 2 before lunch and sometimes 1 later in the day. i take the tablets for 5 days then take 2 days off so as not to burn out my adrenal glands. i have a cup or 2 of coffee in the morning with my pills as well as a baby aspirin to form a homemade ECA stack since the FDA has banned the premade supplements. so far i have lost 32 pounds. i have a lot of energy and less hunger. i reccomend ephedrine to HEALTHY people who want to lose weight. i should mention i have fairly low blood pressure even with ephedrine. my last reading was 110/58 with a pulse rate of 66. i do not take any other medications Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/26/2009
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ephedrine really reduces my appetite and cravings helping me stick to and enhancing my low carb diet. i have used ephedrine in the past without a specific diet and found it effective. very energizing though perhaps i take more than reccomended

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More