Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

100 People found this comment helpful

Have been having terrible hot flashes for more than four months. They occur three or four times an hour throughout the day, and then on into the night making getting a good night's sleep almost impossible. I tried both magnesium and sage, both touted as remedies for hot flashes, neither did anything at all. But within 4 days of me trying Black Cohosh, my hot flashes began to lessen. Within 2 weeks...

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

Do not take this. It will hurt you. It's a scam!! Ppl who sell this as medicine deserve to be imprisoned!

Shared reviews and ratings

Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/15/2021
Condition: Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this now for 2 weeks, after 2 days i could notice a difference, 120mg of black cohosh no hot flashes no anxiety. I just hope it keeps working for me. I currently have no nasty side effects so at the moment i highly recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carrie | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/8/2021
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began taking this three weeks ago. There may have been a decrease in frequency and intensity in hot flashes and night sweats but that was short-lived. I have now been experiencing nausea and lightheadedness. Discontinuing as I'm concerned about those unexpected side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No more! | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/16/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't had any hot flashes, since I started taking black cohosh! NONE!! Its been a game changer for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Perimenopausal RN | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
7/18/2020
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been using this for over five years. No side effects except If I don’t take it more than two days my symptoms come back. I absolutely love using black cohosh

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sherry | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/4/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 1 tsp every night before bed. I noticed a difference within 3 or 4 days of taking it. A full week into, zero hot flashes. I buy it in bulk extract powder, so there is no fillers. Just the Black Cohosh. I've been taking it for about 2 months now. Just ordered more. Great stuff! I haven't had any side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jackie | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/30/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Remifemin. It worked to drop my start of hot flashes by 50%. I was excited for this. Then after no period for a full year. (Menopause) I started to spot. I made a dr appointment and ended up getting a hysterectomy. They found I had precancerous cells on my Cervix. Good or bad? I cannot truly say.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/28/2020
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has help with the change of me going though menopause.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/10/2020
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 47 and just noticed that i have been getting hot flashes

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Willow79 | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/29/2020
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 weeks of taking this I've experienced severe nausea, dizziness, a rash and nightmares.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/18/2020
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a handful of months in to hot flashes (peri-menopause). I'm 48 years of age and my period is about every 45 to 60 days. Hot flashes came on all of the sudden. I was having up 10 to 12 a day - didn't last long, but they were horrible. Flushing, light sweating, overall feeling of being out of control for about 3 to 5 mins. Initially I was monitoring them, but after about a month, I realized it was no way to live. Professionally, it was tricky as they are so unpredictable. My doctor suggested I try Black Cohosh. I didn't want estrogen out of the gate (thought she is open to it for up to five years - a low dose patch). My mom took Premarin for 30 years and I believe it contributed to a host of health / immune related issues including cancer. I began Black Cohosh but noticed nothing for about 4 weeks -- discouraged I reached back out to my doctor. She offered the patch again, but in my resistance I kept going with BC. All of the sudden, hot flashes are gone. No night sweats, no flashes in the day. Literally gone. Everyone once in a great while I'll have the feeling one may be coming on but then it doesn't and it's usually in a high pressure situation professionally or some emotional situation personally. I realize there are questions about the efficacy -- but I can tell you for me it works. I also realize there are concerns - which I will monitor with my doctor through blood work and overall health assessment. Hot flashes 10 to 12 times a day is no way to live. Give it a shot if your doctor things it could suit and your health history enables it (i.e., no blood clots, etc.)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/11/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My friend recommended this herbal treatment for relief of hot flashes. She said it could take about a month to see results. I noticed the change within three days. Within a week the hot flashes were gone and now I can sleep through the night again. Itâ??s a fantastic treatment and I havenâ??t experienced any negative side effects. I am into my second month of taking it and will continue to do so.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Catspajamas | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/19/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The writer used the word deceased instead of decreased. Disappointing so see spell check not used in articles concerning women’s health.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wiesmal | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/9/2019
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It’s a dangerous product, research it, it caused an elevation in my liver enzymes!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ali | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
11/8/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 1 day of use, the hot flashes were gone. I've been taking it for over 2 years and I haven't noticed any side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Skittles rainbow | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/26/2019
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started for hot flashes and moods for premenopausal symptoms. Noticed horrible headaches, dizzy, light headed(almost passed out while driving) horrible nausea and hives. This is with one a day. I�m afraid of what 3 would do. Discontinuing use, too many side effects and dangerous. I do not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not Satisfied | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/28/2019
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not only did taking black cohosh NOT improve my hot flashes, it made them worse. To the extent that, I used to get them before but I just got very hot but didn't sweat. After 2 weeks of taking black cohosh, not only was I getting hot but was literally dripping with sweat -- 15-20 times a day. I stopped taking them and, within 3 days, my body went back to normal. Still getting hot flashes but no longer sweating profusely. So, for me, black cohosh was not only a waste of time, it made my menopause symptoms far worse.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KC | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
7/17/2019
Condition: Menopausal symptoms
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I understand that it looks as though there's a conflict in my #2 responses. However, after taking the Black Cohosh for almost a year, I started to feel extremely tired and had other issues. I went to my doctor and a blood test revealed I had high liver enzymes. My Dr. had me stop everything I was taking, all supplements, etc. I couldn't even take an aspirin. After 5 weeks, another blood test revealed everything was fine. The prior year, my blood work was fine. I started taking the Black Cohosh right after the blood test in 2018. I truly believe that the Black Cohosh affected my liver. I only took 1 capsule per day and the instructions were to take 4 throughout the day. I can't imagine what would have happened if I took the full dosage. I highly advise anyone interested in taking this to find something else. I switched from Estoven to straight Black Cohosh from the Health Food store. I may, or may not go back to the Estroven, which did work fine but costs a little more than the health food store brand Black Cohosh. After the 5 weeks, I found that I didn't have any hot flashes anyway. They must have stopped somewhere along the way while I was taking the supplements and I didn't know it because I was always taking them. My routine now will be to exercise more. That definitely helps. The brand that I used was the local Health Food store brand near me. It's not on the list. It's Black Cohosh Extract Plus 40mg. Standardized to 2.5% (1mg) Triterpene glycosides. Hope this is helpful.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ihatepills | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/4/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get really hot at night and have to sleep with 2-3 icepacks. I was told Black Cohash "really cooled you off" so I tried it. First night, I got through the night with 1 icepack. I thought, "Wow! It works!" but the next night I went through 4 icepacks, and that is where it is, every time I take one, so I've stopped, and now I'm back to 2-3. I've long felt that herbal supplements are nothing more than placebos, and now I'm convinced.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pammy | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
2/23/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can definitely tell the difference between when I take it and when I do not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sonia | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/19/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well i think it works for me. I see less hot flashes at night and also i feel better. It was a great idea to try this herb.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More