Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

83 People found this comment helpful

I took VR because I heard it will help me sleep, and less anxious. I was taking meds from the Dr for depression and anxiety and want to wean off. VR half an hour before bed works for me. I also give it to my daughter when she is having difficulty sleeping and it works for her too. No bad effects for any of us. Recommend taking 2 capsules half an hour before going to bed. You will get a good ...

Most voted negative review

18 People found this comment helpful

After trial and error (I had been taking different things to sleep at the same time sometimes) I tried solely Valerian Root, at the recommended dose on bottle (2,100mg) (I had been taking half that with a unisom, or sometimes half a Valium, and always magnesium, and sometimes prescribed vistaril instead of unisom antihistamine) and BAM I realized why I felt like such crap in the morning - headache...

Shared reviews and ratings

sam1 | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/15/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My system doesn't filter copper correctly, leaving me anxious. The first time i took this was the last. Over the top anxiety. After reading that pregnant women who took this had babies low in Zinc, Aha! Wish I didnt have copper accumulation issue=

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brook | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/3/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If I am up to late I will take a capsule. I also like the tea at night. I decided to take less Seroquel consulting doctor and this has filled the gap. I get a very good nights sleep without waking a few times during the night witch I have had problems in the past. I may also sleep longer than usual I am ok with that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/13/2021
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Oddly this worked in the complete opposite direction. I don't have insomnia but have restless sleep, and since trying valerian in herbal tincture a week ago my sleep is even worse. Since starting I haven't felt sleepy, or even tired, in days. And now when I try to fall asleep, I'm unable to. Very strange, as if it were a energy drink for me instead of a sleep aid. The side effects on webmd did say it causes insomnia in some people...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 |
2/6/2021
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first time I used Valerian I experienced nausea followed by violent vomiting. I tried it again 3 weeks later, thinking that there might have been another cause for those symptoms. When I awoke I felt extremely drowsy and unsteady and soon thereafter I again became nauseous and vomited. Of course I will not use this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amanda | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/4/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried a course of valerian for insomnia due to an active brain from studying until late in the evening, but I found it made it worse. My body felt calm but my mind was left whirring all night. It seems to work for some people but be paradoxically stimulating in others.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lyndy | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
5/19/2020
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Old age ,you start sleeping less ect, Started taking about 2 years ago, once asleep i stay asleep for a good number of hours, Took about 1 week before it started working , First time it worked i slept 10 hours,Recommend highly

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HelenS | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
1/10/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have found that liquigels work better than capsules of dry root extract. However, the product I was using has gone out of business. Your Life 100 mg soft gels.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ha ha | Age: 0-2 |
12/16/2019
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/15/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have always been a deep sleeper but after menopause I started having sleep issues. This product is wonderful and I have a deep sleep, dreaming, without waking for at least 6-7 hours. I do not experience any grogginess in the am.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anxious1 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
5/12/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i started having panic attacks in my 40's. Was prescribed Clonazepam. After a few weeks it started to increase my anxiety. It took me MONTHS to wean off it. But sometimes I have trouble sleeping - fast heart rate, worrying thoughts, waking up in the night. I started taking Valerian root at night, and was able to sleep easier and without waking up in the early morning hours. I have not noticed any side effects, but do not take this product daily. I take about 1000mg at night to help me sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dwwilliamsw | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/9/2018
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

iT ISNT WORKING WELL FOR ME AND Im having indegestion badly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessica | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/30/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have problem with my in law in Feb 2016, my insomnia started Late April 2017, I always have a chatter and wondering mind, I consulted Dr assuming I am on Depression

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
12/18/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been using the capsules for 2 weeks and every single day of the two weeks I would wake up randomly at 6 am and then every hour after that and wouldn't be able to get back to sleep no matter how tired I was. I started taking these because I had trouble falling asleep and that has been fixed now but I continually wake up now leaving me even more tired.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BPerd | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/4/2017
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I guess I just don't respond well to sleep aids. I've tried melatonin, which made me sick, unisom, L-theanine and others don't do anything at all. So I tried valerian root for the last week. It does help me sleep but I have the most unpleasant side effect in the mornings that I just cannot figure out: a quite sore back. It's supposed to help relief pain I have read, but in my case it seems to cause pain. I don't have this back pain issue when I don't take it. I can't find a reason for why it should, but it does. I'm not sure if I will continue to take it, I think I just have to deal with chronically sleeping horribly.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
11/21/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Valeriana officinalis has very calming, stress relieving, antispasmodic and anxiety relieving effects. Very recommendable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joshua | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/12/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Valerian has been effective. What is troubling is that the benefits and side-effects are always minimized by WebMD while actual prescription drugs are usually far more dangerous than supplements because side-effects are often severe to even death. Are these evaluations driven by pharmaceutical industry suggestions?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hudbar | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/2/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

there is day time drowsiness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ANN | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/13/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AliDee | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/14/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my second bottle of Dried Valerian Root Extract (very concentrated) and I use an alcohol-free tincture. I have been using it over a month. It is very effective, I use it primarily to calm anxiety and drink 30 drops diluted into a beverage a couple times during the day. I am a very manic person and if I drink enough, it can make me sleepy, but usually I just find it calming and do use during the daytime as well as before bed to sleep better. The only complaint- the smell. In a strong beverage, you cannot taste it, however the smell is not pleasant. I do find the effects beneficial enough to look past this. But I would not call it palatable and would certainly dilute it in a strong flavored beverage if using an extract/tincture. 5 Stars for me, I love all natural, fast acting, long lasting relief from Valerian root for my anxiety and mania and fast paced thoughts.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MaryRobin | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/23/2017
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Vallerian about 1 week ago. It definitely works. I take it 1 hour before going to bed. I usually read for at least an hour, now im putting the book down within half an hour. It also helps my anxiety, but by making me sleepy, and at half dose. My only complant is, I definitely have a hangover the next morning. I am so groggy it took me half an hour to get out of bed. But my morning coffee helps to releive the affect. I am going to reduce the dosage from 2 pills to 1 and see how that helps.I havent had any unusual dreams like i've herd others talk about.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More