Show ratings & reviews for

4.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

140 People found this comment helpful

I am highly allergic dustmite, mold, pollen and cats. I have had severe glue ear for the last month, have been taking prednisone for swelling and it worked. Started cleaning out a dusty and moldy building Prednisonde didn'tappear to work any more.Read an article about Bromelain purchased it and relief the very first day this is day three of taking it and I am delited with the results my hearing ha...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I started taking Bromelain after doing research and finding it is allegedly helpful for sinusitis due to allergies, as well as muscle pain. 6 weeks later, I am still suffering from sinusitis and back muscle pain. I have taken to using nasal wash, which has been more effective with my sinuses than the bromelain, and regular pain killer now for the back muscles. I am never free of pain. I started o...

Shared reviews and ratings

Judith | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/21/2021
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking bromelain for 2 weeks. I take it for arthritis, my knee has stopped aching. My nose usually runs non stop in mornings in winter, I still feel slightly blocked but I don't have to blow it at all. My stomach usually bloats a lot and it gets very uncomfortable. It feels much better with only slight bloating and it feels flat again and comfortable. I'm 72 and taking 500 mgs of bromelain forte and I will increase dose and keep taking it, am loving the results. I also feel like I have more energy.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/27/2020
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had Degenerative Disc Disease for over 18 years, and yes the narcotics help, but didn't stop my pain (not counting hourss or minutes where the pain was low from the meds, and/or being totally into something. But most of time, Huge pain, chronic pain, and a reminder every day that I have it, especially when doing things! I take a 500 mg Bromelain tab with each of my 3 meals, and it took 22 days and all of a sudden, most of my pain is gone!!!! Yes, I still feel tension and tightness and like the oncoming feeling of the pain increasing, but it stops, I've been pain free for 6 days now, again, after having it daily for over 18 years!!!! No side effects for me, I did lower my pain pills, and I got down to the lowest I've ever been, but still had to have that, as the day I went under the lowest dose, the pain returned, so I got back on the lowest dose!!! I've told everyone on F.B., and want to tell more, even tho from these other reviewers I see it doesn't work for everyone!!!! I'm Estatic!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
5/15/2020
Condition: Sinusitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sortanormal | Age: 75 or over |
3/22/2020
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I walk regularly and am in good condition. I also have one shorter leg, so I have build-ups on most right shoes. Sneakers, just inserts. Because of the shorter leg, I often get sore ribs and costochronditis (pain between the inflamed ribs) I have short legs and a long body. My feet usually don't reach the floor, causing me to slide down for stability putting my back in awkward position. I often work on my iPad mini in bed and hold it up as I read or get into a bad and stupid position to write or text. The can cause neck and shoulder pain. Since I don't seem to stop some of the dumb stuff, I take bromelain! I roll on a 6-7inch roller for my back and/or on a 4inch wax candle. Both help remove any spazzing in muscles, and QR Bromelain works quickly for me, and I can feel the pain go away. I was taking with general simple enzymes, but it works fine alone. I take breaks from bromelain every few days. Side effects: I do believe it has some laxative effect which I don't like. Also makes me wonder if it affects my liver as it changes poop color to yellow. All-in-all, I'm happier with bromelain than any other pain killer. Now, If I could only avoid doing stupid postural things that cause the pain, that would be best. Hope this helps somebody. BTW, I'm OLD not elderly May we all stay safeRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Edgar Markosyan | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/21/2018
Condition: Pityriasis lichenoides chronica (PLC)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I got the first symptoms of PLC, I thought of it as hives. Then it started spreading and changing color from red dots to brown. Went to a doctor, gave a full blood test. Results were perfect, no issues. Then was advised to go to a dermatologist. First one, was clueless, second, elderly knew what it was but new cure. (last encounter was 30 years ago.) Third one was a charm. She assigned me to a photo therapy. Just in case, I have consulted with a friend of mine, who is an acupuncturist and herbalist, advice me to use this as a treatment. I took his advice and started talking bromelain. Photo therapy along with bromelain, helped me to get rid of PLC.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wild Cherry | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/22/2018
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Bromelain after doing research and finding it is allegedly helpful for sinusitis due to allergies, as well as muscle pain. 6 weeks later, I am still suffering from sinusitis and back muscle pain. I have taken to using nasal wash, which has been more effective with my sinuses than the bromelain, and regular pain killer now for the back muscles. I am never free of pain. I started out taking 1/2 tablet of Bromelain because I have difficulty swallowing large pills, but then began taking both halves one after another and nothing changed with the higher dosage. It hasn't helped with the swelling in my sinuses or any inflammation in my back muscles. If anyone asked me to recommend Bromelain I would simply let them make their own choice because perhaps it would help them, but I won't be wasting my money on Bromelain anymore. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/14/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

reduced pain and swelling of joints

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/28/2017
Condition: Sinusitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use bromelain to help reduce sinus congestion. For me, it is highly effective. At night, my sinuses will clog up. With bromelain, it is greatly reduced or eliminated. But the overall benefit is undeniable along with saline nasal rinses which I've done for years, but not as effective alone. I take it 4x every 24 hours for day and night relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
The Vitamin Shoppe Bromelain | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/15/2017
Condition: Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynnie | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/2/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe arthritis that suddenly flared up, crippling me. During each subsequent flareup, I've needed prednisone. Been on diclofenac for a couple of years, plus various narcotic pain relievers, none of which did much good. Started on Medizym from Enzyme Superstore, which contains bromelain, trypsin and rutin. It took a few weeks, but my pain level dropped significantly. No flareups in more than a year, and I took myself off of all but occasional diclofenacs. Also take cucurmin (turmeric), but it was the Medizym that did what the prescription junk couldn't. Not pain free and don't expect to be, but much better. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pam | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/21/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bromelain is an ingredient in the Papaya Enzyme that I take to reduce indegestion, and it works very, very well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
arthrisolution | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/29/2015
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Increased my heart rate way too much. Will stop inmediately. Dose 150mg twice daily included in artritis solution brand.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Craig11 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/24/2015
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have found taking 3 x 500mg capsules per day of 2,000 GDU/GRAM Bromelain, before, with, or after each meal, to be really helpful in reducing inflammatory pain response in the GI (the cause of which is not fully known but thought to be either an allergic response to Cr, Co, and Ni heavy metal ions from a metal/metal THJR artifact, and/or possible allergic reaction to fish oil/krill supplementation, and/or genetic predisposition to inadequate digestive capability for fatty proteins, or potential combinations of these malfactors). The taking of the Bomelain has shown a reduction of CRP's measured in blood from as high as '47' (during an acute inflammatory episode of the GI) to as low as '1' in a matter of one week. Before taking the Bromelain the period of elevated CRP (as one marker)in blood, and pain and GI inflammation, was significantly extended during such an episode. Therefore it appears to be a helpful substance in this instance.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bromelain | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/22/2015
Condition: Critical illness (trauma)
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had much swelling due to trauma and after taking this for one week I could feel a noticeable difference and an increase in size because inflammation was decreasing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 |
5/19/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use Bromelain for Gout relief. It has a very dramatic effect, and works much better than colchicine, without the side effects, and its much less expensive as well. I'm surprised bromelain is not recommended as the the primary treatment for inflammation and pain gout.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hellowebmd | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/29/2014
Condition: Rhinosinusitis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seems to decrease congestion, stuffiness, and swelling in paranasal sinuses and/or nostrils for me. I have a deviated septum ("S"-shape curve: to left on top and to the right on bottom of sinus) from sports and enlarged left sinus and am usually congested nearly 24/7. I still do not feel that my breathing is completely clear but this seems to decrease swelling, congestion, and stuffiness in my face. Did not use in conjunction with corticosteroid sprays, Sudafed, etc. Do also use Emergen-C (but do not think that directly relates to help in this condition as I had been taking that before Bromelain). Specific supplement used is the WEBBER NATURALS TURMERIC BROMELAIN, so yes, it could also be the turmeric. Planning to buy pure bromelain supplement next. Specific Product: WEBBER NATURALS TURMERIC BROMELAIN.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
don't have one | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/16/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This worked great for about 2 months and then all in pain returned. I was so disappointed but I had a good few months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janie | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/28/2014
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused rash and some itching on torso!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sinus bromelain | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/18/2014
Condition: Sinusitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started getting terrible sinus infections once a month, Dr's kept gving me antiB's, infections kept coming back. Started taking bromelain, no more sinus infections and I finally don't sneeze 5,000 times a day,as I did for my entire life

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy husband | Age: 45-54 |
6/30/2014
Condition: Sinusitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Couldn't breath through my nose for 5 years. Couldn't sleep at night because I couldn't breath. My wife researched to find something that wouldn't harm my health since she worried about all the nose sprays, Tylenol, ibuprofen I consumed daily. She came up with Bromelain 500 mg (1000 GDU's) 3 times a day. After the second dose I noticed a difference. I slept through the night, first time in years..... Needless to say Bromelain IS a blessing. To top it off my knee pain & swelling is also gone from sports injuries. Basketball & Football. Bromelain I INCREDIBLE stuff. The trick is to take the bromelain on an empty stomach to rid allery/sinusitis. Don't take my word for it, try it yourself. What a relief. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More