Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

456 People found this comment helpful

I live in sunny SoCal so the sun or my body's processing of vit D wasn't doing such a good job. For approximately 2 years I had been experiencing general body aches and pains. It got to the point where I could barely walk at night due to excrutiating pain in both feet upon getting out of bed to use the bathroom. My doctor took blood tests (but not for vit D), sent me to a rheumatologist. Nothing...

Most voted negative review

44 People found this comment helpful

Unsure what to do? Diagnosed as having hypothyroidism about 1 yr ago. Taking synthroid. Feeling so tired and muscles fatigue and ache so easily. Just found out my Vit D level is 10(range 30-50) TSH alittle off too. Dr is increasing synthroid but wants me to take 50000u of Vit D 2x a week for 12 weeks. After reading other peoples posts, I am really concerned about all the side effects :( I don't w...

Shared reviews and ratings

Rob's Question | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/19/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is for Rob and anyone else who doesn't know about the D Vitamins. D3 is the one you want to purchase and use, over D2. Our bodies convert D2 to D3. So, just get the D3, and you will have better results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FloridaGirl | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
8/19/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First of all, I am extremely alarmed to see 50,000 I.U. (or 1.25mg) of Vitamin D, being prescribed to patients, by doctors! THIS prescribed AMOUNT OF Vitamin D, IS WAY TOO MUCH! By the way, the majority of doctors have the equivalent of a one half hour course, in nutritional education, IF THAT, included in their schooling. Food is medicine. Having said this, I will proceed with my personal experience, and knowledge, about Vit.D. I take Vit.D because, it is SO IMPORTANT for our overall health. I am 53 years old, and take a heart medicine, (called Atenolol,) which does not allow me to go out in the Sun. So, I have to take a Vit.D supplement. I take 400 I.U. (or 10mcg) of D3, everyday. (600 I.U. is the RDA, or the Recommended Daily Allowance, for people over the age of 70.) Vit.D is EXTREMELY IMPORTANT to the normal functioning of our bodies, and plays a large part in keeping us Cancer-free, as well. Our bodies, continuously, scan through EVERY CELL in our entire body. When this scanning mechanism encounters a cell with a "bite out of it," (due to exposure to radiation, through x-rays, etc.,) or other mutation, it replicates this abnormal cell, and this is one of the ways Cancer occurs. Vit.D keeps this from happening. That's why it is SO important. When we have healthy Vit.D levels, the mechanism that scans each and every cell, can recognize the mutated cell, or the cell with "the bite out of it's DNA," that is faulty, and NOT replicate it. It, instead, discards the cell from our body, and we stay healthy. 15 minutes of DAILY sunshine is, generally, enough for Caucasians to get the amount of needed Vit.D. African Americans, and those with more pigment in their skin, need a few more minutes, (if sunlight is allowed.) In addition to this, scientists have recently learned that, Vit.D (in larger doses, and over an extended period of time,) is extremely beneficial, in fighting the COVID-19 coronavirus, in it's early stages. Vit.D is essential for normal growth and development. It promotes the use of calcium and phosphorus in the formation of our bones and teeth. It is especially needed for infants, children, and women, during pregnancy, and lactation. In mild cases, results of lack or deficiency of Vit.D, are the interference with utilization of calcium and phosphorus in bone and teeth formation. Irritability, and weakness are also results of a lack, or deficiency, of Vit.D. Severe deficiency leads to rickets. Valuable sources of Vit.D, are Sunlight and Fish-liver oil. Low concentrations are found in egg yolk, cream and butter. Milk may be enriched with it, (but, 1 quart of whole milk, fortified with V.itamin D, only equals 400 I.U.) Ultraviolet rays from special lamps, acting on the skin, are another way to get Vit.D. Lesser, or trace, amounts can be found in (fortified) yeast and sea vegetables (Nori, Dulse, etc.) Natural food sources of Vitamin D are meager. If one chooses to use Fish Oil, keep it under refrigeration, as that is where it is stable. We store Vit.D. in our liver. Again, the Recommended Daily Allowance is 400 I.U. until the age of 70 years old. Then, the (RDA) Recommended Daily Allowance, goes up to 600 I.U. I am a Vegetarian. So, additionally, I take B12, along with my Vit.D, DAILY. I, also, eat Iron, DAILY, as well, through Natural, Organic, Whole Food Sources, like: Egg Yolk, Beans, Oatmeal, Raisins, Apricots, Peaches, Prunes, Molasses, Peas, Green Leafy Vegetables, Almonds and Soy Beans. ~Note: If you take a Calcium - Magnesium Complex: Calcium (1,000mg.) - Magnesium (500mg.) *We can ONLY absorb 600mg. of Calcium, at a time. So, eat your supplement (of 600mg. Calcium) in the morning, AND at night. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sher | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
7/13/2021
Condition: Fibromyalgia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 2000 per day of D3. My doctor approved it. We don't get enough sunshine and Cut D3 is excellent for anyone who is has low D3. Have doctor do lab work first. It also helps to keep Covid away with small amount of zinc. Haven't had a cold in years. D3 helps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vikas | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/6/2021
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Such a helpful information. Thanks shorturl.at/vFOPY

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mark | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/21/2019
Condition: Eczema
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had a wound in my butt for more than 4 years that didn't heal. I've tried everything that my doctor prescribed - more than 3 different cremes and I even went to a skindoctor specialist where I got some Bucky-rays and other creme. Nothing helped me. I was bleeding everytime I went to the toilet and my skin was itching.I read an article about d vitamin and castor oil (a natural oil) on castorolie.dk. They also wrote about manuka honey among others for conditions like acne and cold sore. I tried this oil twice a day and vitamin d (3000IU) for 3 weeks and it healed my wound. It really did help. I still have some itching once in a while though but my skin is looking good and healthy without any dry skin, scars or open wounds. I recommend for wound healing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/10/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just found out that my Vitamin D is 16 nmol or 6.4 ng which obviously very low! My Dr. wanted me to start on 2,000 iu's of Vit. D3! I was feeling a little nauseated but didn't associate it with anything! I researched on The Vitamin D Society that they recommend 5,000 to 7,000 iu's daily for low Vit. D! I decided to try 5,000 iu's but in the evening I had pretty bad vomiting! The vomiting stopped when I stopped the Vit. D3! I'm trying to get some sun but that's almost impossible the past 6 months in Southern Ontario, Canada! Anyone else have same problem! Will be seeing Dr. in 2 weeks! Are Vit. D injections a good idea!? Have to do something, can't live like this any longer! Help!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dave | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/4/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vitamin D level was at 7.6 which is way too low. Prescribed 50000 units weekly plus 4000 supplement the other 6 days. After 3 months, level is still low at 16.9. I am continuing the 50000 for another 3 months with 6000 daily on the other 6 days. Hopefully it will improve then. I have had to increase my insulin dosage slightly since beginning treatment. Not happy about that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tonia | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/1/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I too was very concerned when I saw the dosage of vitamin D 50,000. My level was at a 16. I am 2 months into my weekly pill and feel great. My energy level goes up every time I take it and I haven't felt joint and lower back pain the whole time. After reading what D deficiency could cause it's definitely worth doing. I didn't have any side effects whatsoever but I did take it with food. I also took a multivitamin a couple hours later after reading about your calcium and magnesium levels I need to be in range with D. My thyroid is out of whack which after reading they can go hand-in-hand so I'm hoping my blood work will show that's improved as well. Everybody's body reacts differently but I recommend taking it as soon as you can it's done wonders for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jj | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/27/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/2/2018
Condition: Seasonal affective disorder (SAD)
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started with 2,000IU a day and wasn't making a difference so I went up to 5,000IU and it started to help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/2/2017
Condition: Bone loss
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
11/5/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vitamin D in Nature's Way or Now Foods - they have no coloring. Best to take 5,000 - 10,000 daily as smaller doses are ineffective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 |
9/1/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I need to have a vitamin D supplement without any kind of coloring in it can you help me with finding one?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
7/5/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take 2000 units daily

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yramesor | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/3/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

topped up by being in the sun when I could.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kljonestx | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
3/26/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At the beginning of taking Vit D3 for low levels after bloodwork, I felt better. I started on 2,000 iu daily. Went back for more blood work one month later and the level was still low. Doc told me to increase to 5,000 iu daily. The bloodwork and prescribing took place a year ago (3/2016). I have been on it since then. Lately, I feel dreadful. Fatigue, brain fog, general malaise, aching all over, lack of appetite, sleep issues. Lately, I get moderately nauseated once a day. I have researched, and I am concerned I have too much Vit D in my system. Also, perhaps it has caused other Vit/Mins to decrease. I will not take it tonight and call my Doc tomorrow. Just wondered if anyone has felt these things with too much Vit D. After researching I think 5,000iu a day for a year was way too much. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
1/8/2017
Condition: Hyperparathyroidism
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have hyper thyroid ,my doctor suggest she had found that her patients with this condition were low in Vit D. I live in CA and spend lots of time outdoors so was surprised that I had a reading of 19. When 30 is the low marker(100 is high). I started to take 4000 ( not super consistently) and after 2 years at 40. Feel so much better and have not any side effects or illnesses like colds or flu. Get the blood test it is worth it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ava | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/15/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went to the doctor for my normal check up I told her that felt like my bones hurt all the time and that I was have muscle spams. She ran my blood work. Everything came back normal except for vitamin D levels. My number was 7 she told me that was way to low. I now take VIT D2 50000 once a week for 8 weeks. I have to say I feel better like my old self. I will continue with the treatment. I was fearful of side effects but I have not had any thank God.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jesuis | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/2/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the fourth time in several years that I have been prescribed 50,000 i.u. of Vitamin D to take twice a week (currently my level is 22) by three different doctors. Every time I've tried it, I have great difficulty sleeping and have had the same or more pain. This time, after the first pill, I felt very shaky and my legs felt weak. After the second pill, insomnia with anxiety returns. I can't stand it. My rheumatologist tells me that he has never heard of these side effects. This board helped me feel that it's not in my head. I will not keep taking these high doses and will take over the counter supplements of 5,000 i.u. daily, which has not bothered me in the past, though my level remains low. But I have to wonder if this supplement is even warranted. My levels remain low, along with a huge population of low-vitamin-D patients. I eat plenty of foods that are high in vitamin D and try to get brief sun exposure as much as I can.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
iron magpie | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/2/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More