Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

64 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking melatonin for about 12 years for sleep problems - started at about 300 mcg ~1/2 hour before bedtime, increasing, when effectiveness lagged, gradually to 3 mg (i use the Natrol 3 mg tablet, which was not listed, so I used the Natrol 5 mg for this comment). Added 50 mg Bendryl (diphenhydramine)per night a few years ago and have not needed to change either dose since. I sleep throu...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

I had a few nightmares and then night 3 of taking I had a fright mare. It was so vivid and scared me so bad I actually became sick to my stomach. I have never had a dream in my life so vivid and never took melatonin again. I have never had a fright mare since. Good chance if it give you nightmares they will only get worse.

Shared reviews and ratings

poc | Age: 13-18 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/1/2020
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hate this pain, thank you so much

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
%uff02%uff1cscript%uff1ealert(1);%uff1c/ | Age: 7-12 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/1/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

amazing job"

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LincolnPickard | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
5/30/2019
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was the best melatonin product available.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
4/11/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking 2 to 5 mlg.of melatonin for the past 6 to 8 months. Started having excruciating pain in every bone in my body. Stopped only last night. Helped with the morning headaches and sleep but the bone pain is so intense. Read the same thing by many people! Won't ever take it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/23/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

1st time took it- headache and grogginess during day. Headache lasted hours. 2nd time, failed to keep me asleep and was anxious and irtitable next day. I'll pass.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 |
1/6/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am using 3 mg sporadically for sleep as needed when I start getting into cycle where I’m going to bed way too late. It works very well to get me back on a proper sleep schedule. I highly doubt it initially that it would work at all but it seems to work and I wake up much more refreshed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MW | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/6/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a few nightmares and then night 3 of taking I had a fright mare. It was so vivid and scared me so bad I actually became sick to my stomach. I have never had a dream in my life so vivid and never took melatonin again. I have never had a fright mare since. Good chance if it give you nightmares they will only get worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Oleg | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/16/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sleep

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jrk.rr.bcomcast.net | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/31/2018
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

FI sleep better and dont wake up during the night as often as I use to

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dk8790 | Age: 25-34 |
1/26/2018
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Awesome, vivid dreams. I also feel completely refreshed even though I slept 6 or 7 hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melatonin | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/15/2017
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It doesn't seem to get me to sleep

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rusty C | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
8/16/2017
Condition: Melanoma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 20 mg of Melatonin daily for five years as part of preventative treatment following surgery for metastatic melanoma. It was prescribed to boost my immunity. I didn't have a re-occurrence of melanoma for five years and was taken off melatonin. After stopping, I started having trouble with anxiety, depression, fluctuating emotions, and insomnia. I can't say with absolute certainty it is due to melatonin; but I have never experienced any of these conditions before until I stopped taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
7/15/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had chronic trouble with insomnia. person told me about melatonin. been taking it about 20-25 years now -- 3 mg 20 minutes before planning on going to bed for sleep (or short reading session in bed). Problems with insomnia are now fairly rare.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathleen | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/10/2017
Condition: Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Time release form of Melatonin works all night

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/2/2017
Condition: Tinnitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MikeMelatonin | Age: 55-64 |
5/5/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nature Made Adult Gummies | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/29/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since starting this regime I haven't had cramping in my stomach or diarrhea, ie, a storm in my stomach. It is such a relief. I hope it last. Nothing as been so effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/26/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frannie | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/4/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was placed on alprazalam following the death of my husband 4 years ago-i did not realize how addicting a drug it was-i finally was able to get off it by tapering myself slowly over a 5 week period-i am a retired rn-but now have insomnia--my doctor suggested melatonin 5 mgm or 10 mgm--five works fine-i can finally sleep

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anthony08 | Age: 7-12 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/28/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More