Show ratings & reviews for

4.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

58 People found this comment helpful

After surviving a four day Migraine, I had to find help I could afford. No Doctors. No Prescriptions. WebMD and Mayo Clinic both said B2. Most reviewers here and on Amazon take 400 mg a day. I say start small. I take 200 mg (2 pills) a day on first break with FOOD. Food prevents upset stomach associated with taking vitamins. I also drink it down with Emergen-C. That's all! After a week up ...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I began taking 25 mg per day of vitamin B2 (riboflavin) because of chronic migraines. I chose this dosage because I had seen a study 25 mg of B2 worked as well as higher doses. Unfortunately, after a month, there was no effect on my migraines. I also developed chest pain and heartbeat irregularities, which went gradually went away when I stopped the vitamin B2. I don't blame the brand I used -- th...

Shared reviews and ratings

Prophetess Melody Burgess | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/20/2021
Condition: Hypertension
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking dietary supplements that contain high levels of riboflavin in them and I also had it intravenously injected into me because I was very depleted of all vitamins and nutrients and was dehydrated. I am a truck driver with my CDL and I had to have a hair follicle test done and because I had no idea that these supplements were going to cause me to test positive on a hair follicle test for the company I went to. So I was fired from my job cause no where is this specified on any information criteria. This supplement info sites need to add warning signs that these supplements will cause false positive hair follicle test. Their is no warnings no info giving when taking these supplements. I was fired for this!! If I would of known I would not of been fired. It comes up as amphetamines. Which is speed/meth. I do not do drugs. But the doctors that gave test do not know this!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/5/2017
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works. I take 50mg WITH my meals - not before or after, to prevent migraines. I balance this with a morning and dinner time multi-vit with B complex. My chemistry is a little more sensitive in the afternoon, so I can feel fatigued dependent upon too many "bad" food ingredients, but not a migraine. My migraines that B2 fixes are food ingredient caused migraines. Many ingredients are industrial processed, used in most foods today and using a migraine prescription med is not safe everyday, and causes rebound migraines. As someone else said, B2 clears quickly, so multiple X per day might be good for others. I learned, for me, it works only when taken with the meal that can have ingredients I don't tolerate. 20 yrs ago I tried this, starting with a 50mg pill in the morning. I thought I would have to go to the emergency room, as it felt like I drank 50 cups of coffee. It cleared before I went, but never tried it again, wondering how others could take 400mg. My chemistry may have changed. I started at tiny bits for weeks, increasing over time. I try not to eat the foods that affect me, but it's almost impossible, so I am happy this now works. I wish I knew the HOW of it, as it seems simple. I believe my chemistry has changed, but foods ingredients have changed a lot over the past 25 years.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/25/2017
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/1/2016
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/25/2016
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bellbird | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
12/20/2015
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had migraines for 40 years, riboflavin is amazing, 200mgs daily maintainence dose 400mgs daily if breakthrough migraines occur. This has been a really effective preventative for me and definitely worth a try.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wcrsmiles | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
6/6/2015
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on almost every drug, including giving myself injection. Side effects are almost worse than the migraine. 2 years ago my Dr. put me on 400mg of B2 daily. It has been wonderful and doesn't have a book for warnings and side effects. I still get break through migraine, but they aren't as bad. I use vomit, couldn't stand, noise and lights were unbearable. My Dr. is keeping me on the B2 and adding Botox injections to hopefully eliminate everything. B2 by Spring Valley 100mg at Walmart

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maxi | Age: 55-64 |
2/13/2015
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While Riboflavin does work for migraines, so do B12, B3, B5, and B6. I would urge anyone who takes large amounts of one particular B vitamin to also take a good B-complex, as all B-vitamins need to work together. High levels of just Riboflavin used for a prolonged period of time can lead to cataracts. Butterbur works well, as does Feverfew. My research and personal experience shows that some people do not tolerate B-vitamins that are not methylated. Malabsorption of B2, B6, B9 and B12 can lead to high homocysteine levels in the body, which become toxic and are responsible for migraines and other unpleasant conditions. Google "methylated B vitamins," and see that the inability of a person to methylate their B6, B9 and B12 can be genetic and run in families. Luckily, it is possible nowadays to find B-vitamin complexes in which those components are already methylated for us. It is advisable for people with these genetic markers to stop taking vitamin B complexes that contain unmethylated B6, B9, and B12, as it will destroy the delicate new balance. With this regime, which does include Riboflavin, I am not only keeping migraines at bay, but have stopped having food and environmental allergies (PABA works for the latter) and my digestion is much improved.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 |
12/9/2014
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having been suffering from cluster headaches as of lately, I had become frustrated with the traditional treatments. Getting blocks in the scalp and using injectables appeared to be a short-term solution. My doctor recommended a number of alternative options for treatment, one being B2. I am currently taking 400mg in the AM and have definitely noticed an improvement in the frequency of the headaches. I am having more good days than bad. I also am pleased with the other benefits...improved energy and skin. My adult acne that would appear monthly with my cycle has completely disappeared. It took about 6 weeks before I noticed a considerable difference. The only side effect I have noticed at this point is the bright colored urine.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kevin | Age: 13-18 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
11/13/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

riboflavin cleared up my symptoms in 6

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tracey | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/20/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started this treatment but was disappointed that my insurance won't cover the prescription. It is 52.00 out of pocket for 12 weeks the first week I take 5 pills then 1 pill once a week for 12 weeks that's 17 pills for that much money, that's a lot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Victoria | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/10/2014
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had migraines for 14 years. Doctors put me on 125 mg of Divalproex which was expensive. I still suffered with 'breakthrough' migraines. Recently my doctors changed my meds to 400 mg vitamin B-2 daily. I have the same results with the B-2 that I had with the Divalproex, but now I am taking a vitamin. I am very pleased with this change. A change from a prescription to a vitamin is a big improvement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robin | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/6/2014
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking 25 mg per day of vitamin B2 (riboflavin) because of chronic migraines. I chose this dosage because I had seen a study 25 mg of B2 worked as well as higher doses. Unfortunately, after a month, there was no effect on my migraines. I also developed chest pain and heartbeat irregularities, which went gradually went away when I stopped the vitamin B2. I don't blame the brand I used -- the pills appeared fine! I think I'm allergic to high doses of vitamins.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/23/2014
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after about 6 weeks, my migraines almost disappeared and they were chronic before and when I did get one, it was much more mild - I now take 100mg a day instead of 400mg - godsent for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Very happy | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/22/2013
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 400mg a day of B2 (Vitamin Shoppe) and within 1 week my daily migraines vanished! I have been suffering from migraines for 40 years and have tried multiple meds and treatments. Nothing completely stopped them. I also take Butterbur 3X's a day, CoQ10 300mgs daily and 400mg magnesium daily per doctors order. These helped but the B2 got rid of all of them. Amazed. Hope it holds!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joyce | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/8/2013
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from migraines and was taking Topamax, 100mg am, and 25mg pm. The new neu- rologist suggested 400mg of vitamin B2 daily. My migraines that were totally eliminated for 4 months came back, along with rashes all over my body and sleeplessness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GNC | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
11/5/2013
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had Epilepsy for 40 years now which also brought on migraine headaches. In the 90's I had to deal with massive pain 24 hours a day, seven days a week. I have been taking B2 for more than 10 years now and will continue until I die. The quality of the product is important also when suffering a migraine. I purchase the B2 at GNC. I take 1-100mg tablet 4 times a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane C. | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/22/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a Cluster Headache sufferer. I was taking a high dosage of Topamax daily, which caused bad side effects. When I changed neurologists I was put on a lower dosage of Topamax (cut in half)and began a daily regimen of 400mg of B2 daily. I've been cluster-free for 2 years and will continue to take the combination, probably for life. I have practically no side effects now and am extremely happy with the B2.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
timn | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/19/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have heart failure and have a hard time with exercise. i can feel my heart working hard. i take 1000 mg in morning ....then around 1 or 2 pm i take another 750 mg. when i do this i no longer feel my heart. seems to work with less effort. i can feel the oxygen in my muscles. this is an undervalued vitamin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lotti | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/23/2013
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed b2 for extreme migraines with paralysis, after being on numerous different medications used to treat migraines I can honestly say this is the only one that worked changed my life!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More