Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

50 People found this comment helpful

I am a mosquito magnet...if there is one around, it finds me!! Several years ago I was told about B1 as a mosquito repellent. I have used it ever since!! I start taking it a couple of days before going camping. And I think I got two bites. Normally I'm covered! I stopped taking it upon our return, and somehow got over twenty bites. I started taking TWO B1 tablets after that and I've had on...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

Was told taking B-1 suppliment would help prevent insects from biting during an upcoming cruise. After a few days of taking, I began to break out in a rash. This exact same thing happened last year when I took a cruise. I had several treatments from a dermatologist but we could not figure out why I had a rash. I just now linked the two reactions together. It is the only plausible explaination ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/14/2020
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynne | Age: 45-54 |
10/7/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took shot of vitamin b1 in base of skull. Not sure how much. Works instantly. Was told to take 1 gram spread out over a day if cant take shot. Worked on my bad posture migraine, hormone and food trigger one. First shot lasted 4 months which is insanely good for me. Watch out for food triggers!! Citrus. Berries , nuts, diary, chocolate, coffee, etc etc

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
7/24/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been a severe alcoholic for more than 20yrs. I've been aware for years of death due to cirrhosis, kidney failure, etc. but had never heard of WKS until it happened to me. The Korsokoffs side of it is life changing. I was tested by a psychologist and confirmed. I was immediately put on B1, and told never to drink again. I haven't so far, that was 19 months ago. It has taken a long time and a lot of hard (sometimes emotionally draining) work to try to rebuild my memory (both short and long term). I couldn't remember my immediate familys' names, I couldn't remember basic words (hallway, window, shark, etc.). I knew what everything was, I could picture them mentally, but I couldn't remember the name or word. It was weird because most of the loss was with nouns, not verbs, adjectives, adverbs, etc. I was very embarrassed to hold conversations because of this. I am relatively bright, and taught high school level math up to Calculus for 23 yrs. So this Korsokoffs syndrome was both mentally and emotionally debilitating to me. After not drinking, taking B1, and working very hard at challenging myself mentally; I started noticing my memory coming back into full shape again about 6 months ago. I still take B1 and practice rebuilding my memory daily, and of course I no longer drink (I thank God daily for that as well). Without a good doctor and B1 this probably wouldn't have gotten better. My suggestion: If you are an alcoholic, stop drinking (AA, counseling, church, etc. Use everything available. Millions of people are willing to help you, your simple requirement is asking for help, realizing you can not do this yourself). See a good doctor and ask about WKS. Awareness is key. Best to you all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thiaman | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/8/2017
Condition: Thiamine deficiency
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe deficiency after alcoholism, symptoms included paresthesias, nutcracker esophagus, restless legs, neuropgenic muscle atrophy. In large doses, seems to deplete B5. Be careful not to treat just one apparent deficiency. Other deficiencies (such as B5, B7 and B9 and B12) can produce same symptoms. Full blood from a competent medical professional, whose responsibility is to the patient, and not to a stingy system trying to save a buck is essential.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SAD | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/26/2017
Condition: Thiamine deficiency
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started this for Hashimoto's related fatigue, as recommended by thyroid pharmacist Izabella Wentz. She suggests 600mg/daily as Hashi patients are almost always deficient in B1. I started w/100mg 2x/day. After 1 day of taking it I developed a weird tingling throughout my body

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hairy | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
4/12/2017
Condition: Mosquito repellent
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for over 10 years. about 1 mosquito bite per year. I live in the Midwest and walk, play golf and hunt.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/8/2016
Condition: Athletic performance
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
11/3/2016
Condition: Insect repellent
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take it to avoid getting bit by fleas,if there is one flea I will be the one to get bit, take it in the start of spring for a few months and works really well

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/24/2016
Condition: Mosquito repellent
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jregelin | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
8/23/2016
Condition: Mosquito repellent
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A friend told me about taking Vitamin B1 to repel mosquitos. If was always to one the mosquitos bit and live in a high mosquito region. I have been taking the vitamin since then, only during the mosquito season and have not been bitten by a mosquito in the past 6 years! No joke; this also worked for my grandchildren when visiting as long as they took a tablet every day. I have told everyone I come in contact with because of my results. Some have reported that it does not work for them. Not sure why there would be a difference. u can believe I will never be w/o this vitamin. I use Spring Valley B1 from Walmart 250mg. This brand was not listed however I was required to Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/8/2016
Condition: Thiamine deficiency
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 60 days of the chewable vitamin, my thiamine level went down. I am now trying another vitamin to see if it absorbs better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Todays1 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
7/8/2015
Condition: Mosquito repellent
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used the Mosquito Patch with 300 mg B1 Thiamin . It worked great for me and my children when applied 2-4 hours before you go out

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Breadqueen | On supplement for 10 years or more |
6/29/2015
Condition: Mosquito repellent
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a mosquito magnet...if there is one around, it finds me!! Several years ago I was told about B1 as a mosquito repellent. I have used it ever since!! I start taking it a couple of days before going camping. And I think I got two bites. Normally I'm covered! I stopped taking it upon our return, and somehow got over twenty bites. I started taking TWO B1 tablets after that and I've had one bite since. I am a believer!! My children use it too...one son was in the Philippines for two years and it really helped him! We love it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/28/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I know that most people take vitamin B-12 for energy, but for some reason it is vitamin B-1 that helps with my energy level over that of Vitamin B-12 or the B complex. I even noticed this in my late teens that the B-1 vitamin would give me energy when I was so tired that I couldn't hardly get out of bed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Doby | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
12/5/2014
Condition: Diabetic nephropathy
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Found some improvement but not a cure. I find that it lessens the pain somewhat, but every little bit helps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
teasels1 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
5/7/2014
Condition: Mosquito repellent
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When the bugs come out so does the Thiamin I receive very few mosquito bites and very if any ticks.I can not take DEET in any form due to reaction.So the Thiamin save this outdoors mans summer

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/12/2014
Condition: Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome (WKS)
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAVE TAKEN THIS WHILE I WAS HOSPITALIZED AND ADMINISTERED THIS IN FORM OF IV INJECTION.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Natural B | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/3/2013
Condition: Thiamine deficiency
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take it at night before going to bed mostly but I have noticed a difference on my stress level and hormones.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
3/15/2010
Condition: Athletic performance
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/5/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was told taking B-1 suppliment would help prevent insects from biting during an upcoming cruise. After a few days of taking, I began to break out in a rash. This exact same thing happened last year when I took a cruise. I had several treatments from a dermatologist but we could not figure out why I had a rash. I just now linked the two reactions together. It is the only plausible explaination for the rash.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More