Show ratings & reviews for

4.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

146 People found this comment helpful

I have chronic Gastritis from Bile Reflux Disease. Over the last five years I have tried many PPI's, Carafate and diet changes. Slippery Elm works excellent! Much better than all the other things I've tried. I've stopped all prescription meds but this herb for my stomach pain. The prescription meds didn't relieve my gastritis pain and made me tired, achy and deficient in B12 and iron. This herb...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

Can anyone tell me if slippery elm goes out of date please ?

Shared reviews and ratings

Jenny | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/27/2021
Condition: Melanoma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A nurse friend of mine told me to make a salve with slippery elm and rub on ganglion cyst and it was gone within three weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lulu | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/25/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a very severe response to an antibiotic, causing excess stomach acid. The result was constant coughing, vomiting (caused by the coughing) and damage to my oesophagus. A health practitioner recommended Slippery Elm Bark from BioCare. I have been taking it for two weeks and the symptoms (which had lasted for weeks after I stopped the antibiotics) have completely gone. I noticed the effect immediately. It’s rare for me to write any review, this product was so effective that I had to write about it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
6/29/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used for many years for sore throat. Faster and more soothing than sore throat lozenge. Used only as tea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/16/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helped the condition I was treating. Took 2 capsules a day and caused moderate bloating, gas and increased urination. Side effects are too much for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amyj | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/9/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for GERD & EOE This has worked wonders for me! I had constant burning in my stomach and esophagus. PPI's were not working and I didn't want to use steroids so decided to try slippery elm. So glad I did! It has helped me in such a short amount of time. Water aggravates my GERD so I mix it in almond milk 3 times a day. It's truly been a life saver!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anne | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/12/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Can anyone tell me if slippery elm goes out of date please ?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
7/20/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Someone commented that you can only get Slippery Elm, in Powder form. I still get the lozenges at a health food store.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wm.edwards | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
1/16/2018
Condition: Irritable bowel syndrome (IBS)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using this for more than 10 years to temper IBS flare-up - it works, is a life saver & is wonderful!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
passing53 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/31/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Uses for treatment of any mucus infection, yeast infections. After treatment, I visit the doctor to make sure that yeast infection no longer exists.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shannon | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/26/2017
Condition: Nonmelanoma skin cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tried slippery elm for sore throat. It seemed to had immediate soothing effects in tea form. It also seemed to make me nod in and out of sleep all day. My achiness from flu is all gone and sore throat is much better! Tastes like maple with black pepper. I like it so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Singing | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/13/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MD diagnosed me with vaginal yeast infection. I treated myself with a vaginal douce of slippery elm. Also, I soaked tampons with Slippery Elm. Two weeks later wen to doctor, no signs of infection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kitten526 | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/20/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had 8 children and from the time they were 4 or 5 when they had sore throats I would give them one of the slippery elm tablets and have them suck on it. It even helped when they had strep throat. I still use it myself these days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alchemilla | Age: 65-74 |
3/3/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

slippery elm by mouth is NOT used to produce an abortion. Please get your facts straight - many years ago shards of the bark were inserted into the vagina to procure abortions and this is why Slippery elm is only available in powder form nowadays.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/24/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had IBS for 13 yrs and try anything that claims to help me for this. I was hopeful at first, but it seems I'm back to square one. Very disappointed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/18/2015
Condition: Irritable bowel syndrome (IBS)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I believe this is easing my IBS symptoms and making it easier to pass stool.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 19-24 |
8/18/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works wonders for my nighttime heart palpitations! The only way I can sleep. (Nature's Way, Premium Herbal Slippery Elm Bark capsules)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wow | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/13/2015
Condition: Irritable bowel syndrome (IBS)
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tremendous help for me. I don't have official diagnosis, but have IBS symptoms, including diarrhea, constipation, gas,and horrible cramps, that last for hours. I take a teaspoon of slippery elm powder with green tea every day in late morning. The results are amazing!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sparky | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/13/2015
Condition: Irritable bowel syndrome (IBS)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have used it for severe ulcerative colitis and secondary arthritis in my knees and have found it soothing & healing even while in a flare up. Also put it in smoothies (no fruit...too acidic).Used in conjunction with L glutamine and probiotics very gentle on the system.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/12/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works instantly for heartburn. Very happy with this!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
survivor4life | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/9/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mouth sores after radiation/chemo are painful. I make a past with a small amount of organic slippery elm powder place inside my cheek, tongue or anywhere that presents with sores. It works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More