Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

51 People found this comment helpful

My head cold was dragging on without significant improvement. Somewhere in my foggy brain I remembered my chiropractor said zinc prevents colds. I got my Quantum Cold Season TheraZinc spray out and immediately began to improve. Yes, I was already sick, but it began to reverse my symptoms without the use of any other medications. My nasal congestion began to lessen and after blowing my nose, less c...

Most voted negative review

20 People found this comment helpful

My mom and I took this medicine, It was the liquid version and we BOTH threw up, this is a bad product and I do not recommend it to ANYONE that is going to use this. I have been sick for 10 days just because of this product.

Shared reviews and ratings

mhmdshawqi | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/2/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My sense of taste and smell are very weak .I noticed it returned to normal if I take zinc supplements around 8 mg. Like the food tastes really nicer and I could smell everything around me very well, which normally i do not smell anything even if my family or colleagues mention a smell in the room.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tigermoon | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/9/2020
Condition: Zinc deficiency
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking in pill for and haven't had any problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 |
3/26/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mom and I took this medicine, It was the liquid version and we BOTH threw up, this is a bad product and I do not recommend it to ANYONE that is going to use this. I have been sick for 10 days just because of this product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
unblocktheplanet | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
8/21/2019
Condition: Common cold
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took a 40mg Zinc supplement daily for years. In addition, Zinc was in my multivitamin/multimineral, my calcium & B-complex supplements. I have Hashimoto's thyroiditis, often comorbid with hypocortisolism. Zinc is used clinically to reduce high cortisol. I'm still not right but I fely decidedly better when I deleted my 40mg supplement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Harley6quinn | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/29/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the zinc tablet from equate brand They only thing bad I have to say is I turned out to be allergic to the active ingredient so I had to stop taking it but the 3 days I did take it I had no runny nose no sneezing and no caughting I would definitely recommend this for anyone that is not allergic to it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
It works! | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/21/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first signs of cold, I suck on zinc tablets and it usually stops the progression of the cold within 3 days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LDD | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/3/2019
Condition: Hair loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This supplement has helped me with hair loss. I noticed a reduction on the amount of daily hair on my white floor since I started taking it. I had to pass the broom twice a day and grab the balls of hair to put in the trash, now my hair loss is minimal. The "365" brand offers chelated zinc and contains also some copper. It took me years to find something that worked. I guess I did not treat the root cause until now and it was mineral deficiency. Please note I initially purchased the liquid zinc from the "Benevolent" brand and that one gave me horrible vertigo. I later noticed this brand not only includes zinc but also Elderberry Fruit, Umckaloabo Root, and Echinacea. I ended spending more than $400 on doctors and the symptoms stopped a couple of days after I stopped taking the liquid zinc. I did not think of the liquid zinc as the cause until I took it again and the vertigo started again. I stopped it for good and I did not experience vertigo ever again. I have been taking the "365" brand which works with no side effects in one month. I will continue using it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Helenback | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/7/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking zinc has made me very tired. However after consuming it over a period of time i feel much better and the sleepiness is no longer affecting my day to day life. It has helped me detoxify from arsenic and helo with elevated copper levels.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 19-24 |
7/9/2017
Condition: Hair loss
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/19/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Zinc does not make you lose smell/taste. It actually helps. The comment from the person taking ZICAM and lost smell/taste, is due to Zicam, not zinc. If you look up smell/taste loss zicam, you will see results. It is the same as with Flonase. I lost my smell and taste due to Flonase and used zinc and I got it back. Maybe the zinc did not help, but did not cause it. Zicam and Flonase can cause it. Not Zinc. Do research.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/18/2016
Condition: Common cold
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad side affects! Nary a cold for years, then 3 in a row. I was 68 and in good health other than the cold[s]. I saw the hype on zinc supplements as a cold treatment. Self dosed with Zicam exactly as directed on the bottle and I believe it helped moderate the cold's duration. HOWEVER... I lost all sense of taste and smell shortly afterwards. Came on gradually. Called my doctor who's first question was 'are you taking a zinc supplement'? Came to find out that loss of taste/smell is a common side-affect. The sensory loss continued for about 6-7 months and has gradually returned. Zinc can be dangerous. Research side affects yourself before trying...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beeps4 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/3/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
webmdsandra | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/1/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was having bad leg cramps in my calves and feet for a few months, especially at night. Tried magnesium, calcium, vitamin D, potassium, but nothing helped. Tried zinc gluconate 50mg tablets three times a day for a week and the cramps completely subsided. Even my skin eczema looks better. Will cut the dose of zinc in a couple of weeks or so back closer to RDA levels to prevent copper deficiency, hopefully the leg cramps will stay away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
11/13/2015
Condition: Hair loss
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have MPB, scalp also itched a lot. Since I take a daily dose of zinc the itch is gone. No regrowth of hair. Hair loss is more steady now, but that is due to minoxidil & finasteride (at least, I'm pretty sure)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gwen |
7/2/2015
Condition: Psoriasis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used zinc oxide ointment daily for my psoriasis The improvement was very noticeable after 1 month and dramatic after 2 months. The psoriasis had covered large areas of my body. It cleared up almost completely. I applied it every night before bed and left on all night. Zinc oxide orally didn't work. Ointment also much more effective than cream. The psoriasis on my scalp cleared up just through the amount I was getting on the rest of my body. Now years later I still get occasional small patches and ointment doesn't work so well perhaps because not getting enough of it now that area affected is small. I sourced the zinc oxide from a veterinary supplies place as a cattle ointment! Could get a large amount relatively cheaply. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GoddessNikkei | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
5/6/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Zinc has many uses and primarily strengthens the immune system. While ill with an upper respiratory tract infection and also bronchitis using it helped healing. Great for energy and sexual function especially overall vitality.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/4/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Easies the pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
10/14/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take it in the form of Aire Borne before and after boarding planes. I travel at least 8 times per year. When I take it before and after as well as for 2 days after two to three times a day I virtually never get a cold from a plane ride whereas I would get two to three colds a year from riding airplanes. If I take it at the first onset of a cold it frequently will stop it dead in its tracks. I am a retired physician with HIV and I am convinced it helps with the common cold.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
otj5 | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/26/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It help me realize that if u Got the right medicine that anything is possible

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me | Age: 13-18 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/27/2014
Condition: Anorexia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking zinc because my hair had been falling out in clumps every time I showered or brushed my hair. (Because of anorexia)The zinc didn't completely stop it from coming out but it did help quite a bit. Only a few strands per stroke with the hair brush come out now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More