Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

53 People found this comment helpful

So I really love Skullcap, but after speaking with my doctor have decided to stop any further usage. The information I received shows that Skullcap Scutellaria can cause significant damage to the liver including increasing ALT/AST 5 to 10x normal, elevating bilirubin, causes reversible acute hepatitis. Figured I would share the information, although I am truly sad to see this taken out of my herba...

Most voted negative review

32 People found this comment helpful

I had a bad reaction to it, taken as a "tincture" in grain alcohol (like most all herbal tictures are), sold in a small bottle in the local health store. First of all, I'm a recovered alcoholic who should've known better than to trust an alcohol tincture. I don't know if it was the Skullcap or the alcohol solvent, but it sent me INTO a panic attack. (I tried Skullcap as a replacement to Valium - t...

Shared reviews and ratings

6/1/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

testa[asdf](asd)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
6/1/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

testa

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
6/1/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

test

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
planet | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/28/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm not sure if it is causing abdominal cramping. Seems to work from anxiety but the cramping is bad enough I'll stop taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 13-18 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/22/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It just did nothing. My state stayed exactly the same.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bluesybrother | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/30/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn't work at all! All I lost was $10.00.The reviews on Passionflower are excellent.I'm trying that.On a medicinal herbal website passionflower won hands down.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/2/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Really knocked me out!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pnd | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/8/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took if for five nights to help with insomnia and I ended up staying awake well into the morning hours. Did not work for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fayafay | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/1/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Working Man | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/8/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a bad reaction to it, taken as a "tincture" in grain alcohol (like most all herbal tictures are), sold in a small bottle in the local health store. First of all, I'm a recovered alcoholic who should've known better than to trust an alcohol tincture. I don't know if it was the Skullcap or the alcohol solvent, but it sent me INTO a panic attack. (I tried Skullcap as a replacement to Valium - to AVOID panic attacks). I suddenly started sweating *profusely*, from every pore in my body, sweat POURED out and wouldn't stop. I was drenched and I was scared for my life. And that awful taste just kept coming up in my throat the whole time. That was 3 hours ago, I've calmed down now. And I've thrown that Skullcap tincture garbage away. Never will I make even a similar mistake again. I'm fast getting the impression that herbal medicines are junk, if not outright poison.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cyndi | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/7/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking Skullcap for epilepsy and related anxiety. For me, seizures have always begun with extreme anxiety, and this treatment has drastically improved my condition. I am more confident than ever, and i notice that I have significantly less of the tingling sensation related to my condition.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Relieved | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/6/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Chinese Skullcap with bioflavinoids Brand name "Arthiease" by Ovos as an anti-inflamatory and pain reliever for a chronic condition. Accident injury in spine not arthritis. Using 2 in am and 2 in pm for 4 days gave more relief than I had had from any other medication in 5 years. I also had increased range of motion. This allowed me new physical activity. It also increased my sleep time from average of 3.5 to 4 hours to 4.5 to 5 hours... increased energy resulting. I thought this was only due to pain reduction until reading your review. After first week reduced to 1 3x per day. Ran out of supply after 3 weeks and returned to original pain and sleep levels in 2 days. Replenished supply after 1 week and noticed difference again first day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wisehedgewitch | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ican't take the usual treatments for stress so consulted a herbal specialist and he gave me a skullcap tincture to take 3 times a day. Its made all the difference to how I handle my stressful days and annoying people. Its not by any particular company. Its home made by the practicioner but it wasn't in the list provided.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aj3708 | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
6/30/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I really love Skullcap, but after speaking with my doctor have decided to stop any further usage. The information I received shows that Skullcap Scutellaria can cause significant damage to the liver including increasing ALT/AST 5 to 10x normal, elevating bilirubin, causes reversible acute hepatitis. Figured I would share the information, although I am truly sad to see this taken out of my herbal regiment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
grandma | Age: 7-12 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/28/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i use it for my grandson who has ADHD and it works

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have an anxiety disorder and suffer from insomnia and restless leg syndrome- this has worked wonders for me! It is "natures Ativan." Highly recommend it to calm nerves or muscle spasms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cinci56 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/29/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had read of Skullcap as a treatment for excessive libido. When my wife went into menopause and lost interest in sex, my solution of choice was to try to reduce my own drive. It was either that, or tear the relationship apart with the sexual frustration that I was building up. Skullcap worked wonderfully for me. My drive is reduced without any other noticeable effect. I see that it is recommended as a "calming" agent, and I agree with that. The good thing about using Skullcap to reduce my sex drive is that, when my wife IS in the mood, I can still perform - and I actually notice a bit of improvement in my staying power. When I am not called on to perform, I simply notice it less. Sex isn't in the "top 5" of daily distractions like it used to be. I am less sexually agitated and able to focus better on other things in life. I take Skullcap as a liquid infusion made by Pure Herbs, Ltd. approximately 2 ml/day. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/10/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

3 years ago I got a formula made up for me (Skullcap, Sweet Annie, Bacopa and Withania) to calm the nerves for work, as I was having to go around schools doing talks. It worked fantastically. Have just started taking it again as I have assessments next week, I know it's working already as I haven't yelled at the kids once all weekend! They normally get the stress levels up, but lately I've been working on them a different way and the whole family is a lot less settled. Go Skullcap!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
5/17/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Scullcap was recommended to me after my experience with Hurricane Katrina. I take 2 capsules in the morning and 2 capsules before bed and my anxiety level and mood swings have leveled off. I have taken this herbal for the past 5 years and, as my partner states, "I'm growing it outside, just in case we ever need this...it really helps". Highly recommend as an anxiolitic. I order bulk Scullcap lateriflora capsules from Star-West Botanicals

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Handytim | Age: 35-44 |
1/15/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I quit smoking 2-3 years ago, Ive had periodic anxiety, esp since my mom passed away 2 months ago...Scullcap and Tyrosine have helped me a LOT..I DID have to take low doses on Xanax to keep me working for the first month after my mom died, in addition to daily dosing of scullcap Scullcap never made me feel 'drugged' , like Xanax or other anti-depressants/anti-anxiety meds tend to do..usually take 850mg a day of scullcap

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More