Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

114 People found this comment helpful

For the past 2years I take 2 TBS ground flax in water with 2 TBS apple cider vinegar & 1 TBS molasses most every day for diverticulitis. I have not been hospitalized or been to the ER as I had in the past.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

It works a little I think, but I find fishoil more effective.

Shared reviews and ratings

Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/15/2021
Condition: Constipation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been suffering with Slow Stomach Emptying (Gastroparesis) it seems like forever. I'm 58 and have had severe constipation which has made me have to go to the ER to seek relief. I had a bowel movement 1 time a week. Taking 2-3 tablespoons of whole flaxseeds (soaked overnight) has allowed me to now have a bowel movement every day! I can't even tell you what a difference this has made. This is the only thing that has worked 100% for me. Ground flax seeds are better absorbed by the body but the flax seeds that are soaked overnight has been a Blessing for me and has made me regular. It'll work for you too. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dositej | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
12/28/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

July 2017, I had Total cholesterol 6,35 (it's in the family). I'm 55 yrs young. Went to see a doctor and she prescribed cholesterol medications - one of those 'statins'. I had the last check up and blood work in Nov. 2018. Cholesterol went down to 5,30 (which is still high), while LDL from 4,30 down to 3,50. These are still high values, but I never took a 'statin' that the doctor prescribed. All the blood work that I did from 2017 till now, I never mentioned to my doctor that I was not taking the pills. And she kept saying, that is going well, cholesterol levels drop down every time I did a check up. It took me a bit longer, 1 year and a half, but I was worried about my liver (statin kills the liver) and as a kid I had previously gone through Hepatitis A. Anyway, never took a pill for high cholesterol - all that I did for 1 1/2 years every morning, was a drink of mixture blended ginger/garlic/lemon and oatmeal with flaxseeds for breakfast/lunch. I love oatmeal anyway, so it was not part of a diet, it was part of me :-). I dont think that I missed a day without that ginger mix drink and the oats/flaxseed meal. Next doctors appointment is in Jan. 2019. I bet she will be still impressed by the progress I am making with her pills that she prescribes. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Celia | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
10/22/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For about 30 years I have used ground flax meal in gluten-free baking as a substitute for eggs and a "binder" that replaces the gluten in wheat flour. (Usually Bob's Red Mill brand, not listed in the options here, but widely sold.) I would love information on how heating to 350°F or thereabouts effects both the beneficial and potentially harmful compounds in flax meal. I have seen occasional vague references to baked flax meal losing most of the health benefits, but no reliable sources, and no examination of whether the potential risks are also lost. Ideas?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sandylou | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/12/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused bloating, gas. cramps, and diarrhea. Also dizziness from bloating.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Feelin' Great | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
1/19/2017
Condition: Constipation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered from constipation my entire adult life, at 59 I started making flax seed granola and eating 1 cup each day, I now have no constipation, I am regular, I feel so much better, words cannot describe. The only advice I would give is to find the amount that works for you, I am starting to cut back to a 1/2 cup a day because I have so many bowel movements and I am a bit gassy. My bowel movements always look good, they aren't runny, I feel like my body is finally flushing itself out each day. I'm telling you flaxseed has changed my life!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BoyScout18 | Age: 13-18 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/27/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son has been taking Flaxseed oil in capsule form daily for approximately 3 months and his acne is MUCH improved with some side benefits being decreased constipation. Definitely will continue this supplement for him.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JamesF | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
9/16/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Your information with regard to the possible effects of the phytoestrogens (lignands) in flax possibly increasing the growth rate of estrogen positive breast cancer is out of date. The lignands in flax, like the phytoestrogens bind to the beta estrogen receptor on breast cells, while mammalian estrogen preferrentially binds to the alpha receptor. Estrogen binding to the alpha receptor up regulates cell proliferation while estrogen binding to the beta receptor down regulates cell proliferation. Also only one receptor is available at a time, so a phytoestrogen binding to the beta receptor also has the effect of blocking of an endogenous estrogen from binding to the alpha receptor. As such flax (and soy) phytoestrogens are anticipated to result in a protective effect with respect to estrogen sensitive breast cancer, which corresponds to the observed correlation with reduced breast cancer with increasing soy consumption.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ABDUL | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/27/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Headache

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kevin | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/12/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Dr. recommended 2 tablespoons a day of ground up Flax-seed for enlarged prostate. I am very pleased with the results. Almost immediately I had less trouble urinating and felt better overall through my GI system. I am waiting to see over time what it does.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GRD | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/1/2016
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GRD | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/1/2016
Condition: Constipation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MagnesiumMan | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
2/24/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 55 yrs old and really LOVE Flaxseed.....I was on Lisinopril 10mg and Zocor 20mg for like 6 years, and these 2 drugs were messing my body up and giving me Erectile Dysfunction. I found out that a heaping table spoon of Flaxseed with each meal and another 2 capsules of Fenugreek with my largest meal cause my total cholesterol to drop quite a bit. Since I'm a man, it causes my HDL to drop about 10% which is not good, but I have remedied this with a teaspoon of Niacin powder with each serving of Flaxseed. Note, YOU HAVE TO WALK AT LEAST 20 MINUTES DAILY. I have found that since getting on this regimen for the past 4 months or so that my SEX-DRIVE is in OVER-DRIVE, and I feel like I am 30 years old again. I DON'T KNOW IF THIS Flaxseed has my blood flowing freely down there or what. This is weird considering that just 4 months ago I was and felt intimidated by my wife and having performance fears, no sex-drive, etc.....supplements that I am taking and having this happen include: 4 fish pills, 2 grams vitaminc tablets, 3 vitamin e caps, 3 garlic oil caps, 2 B100, 600mg Magnesium, 9mg Boron, 2 green tea capsules, multivitamin, 2 Fenugreek powder capsules, and 2 vitamin K capsules to keep my blood from being too runny because most of these will cause blood to anti-coagulate. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mentorpro | Age: 45-54 |
12/19/2015
Condition: Constipation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered with IBS and chronic constitpation for years. I have tried a variety of laxatives with varying success. My Gastroenterologist recently put me on Mira Lax twice a day and it worked for a couple of weeks. When it stopped working I went back to taking a tbsp of ground Napolina Flax Seed mixed with 1 Simply Apple Juice warmed up for 1 min 30 seconds in the microwave and by the next morning I had to go and I went without straining. Sometimes the simple, natural remedies work best. It sure has for me. Mike Gainesville, GARead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ian | Age: 55-64 |
5/14/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works a little I think, but I find fishoil more effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jesuslives15 | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
4/6/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have struggled with cholesterol all my life and my body didn't receive the statin drugs too well so I was led to seek out alternative methods. I use the Barlean's Flax Oil capsules and have been taking 3-4 capsules per day. My cholesterol level dropped from 318 to 280 without prescription meds in a matter of months. In addition to taking the oil, I also increased my fiber intake, cardio workouts and water so diet and exercise definitely plays a significant role in lowering cholesterol! I don't plan to ever take statin drugs because there is a chance of liver damage. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MizKarin | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/24/2015
Condition: Constipation
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Calcium supplements prescribed by my doc caused constipation. Using flaxseed has eliminated that problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amy | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/15/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 2 TBSP of ground flaxseed a day to help with PMS. Not only did it NOT help with PMS, but it caused me a whole bunch of side effects that took a few days to go away and get over. Side effects included: high anxiety, depression, thoughts of wanting to hurt myself, feelings of gloom & doom, and just overall mental instability. If you google flaxseed, you will see lots of information out there on how it contains phytoestrogens. If you have estrogen dominance in your body, DO NOT take flaxseed. It will make you feel crazy like it did to me! Once I figured out it was the flaxseed making me crazy, I promptly stopped it and felt better in about 3 days. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/9/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jojoma | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/25/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Doctor wanted me to go on statins for high cholesterol and I asked if I could have 2 months to try to lower it by diet. Along with ground flax seed, I added walnuts, cinnamon and blueberriers to my daily oatmeal. My LDL went down 40 pts in the 2 months! No statins for me! My good cholestrol also went up and my BP went down. All in all I'd say it was a success.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gospace | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/9/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fibers are supposed to help reduce cholesterol- tried taking several singly, none had any effect. Started with 1 heaping spoon of milled chia and milled flaxseed, one rounded spoon of pectin and psyllium, one slightly rounded spoon of guar gum. Cholesterol dropped from 234 to 181 in 6 months. DO NOT start taking these amounts all at once, esp the guar gum. You will have severe gas pains and/or diarrhea. Was taking prescribed colestipol which is really nothing more then a fiber. Had zero effect on cholesterol. Taking any of these by themselves had zero effect. I've been trying for years to bring down high cholesterol without statins. This worked. I'm 58 now, and since first measured at age 38, my cholesterol has never been below 210 until now. I also gave up low fat low cholesterol foods as I started this fiber combination. Use real butter, eat eggs more often, etc. I eat what I like.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More