Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

232 People found this comment helpful

I was having difficulty remembering the name of things or finishing sentences...or even remembering the topic! Trying to lecture at the university was a struggle. Within 2 weeks I could tell a HUGE difference!!! I feel 15 years younger, and I am no longer groping for words.

Most voted negative review

38 People found this comment helpful

PHOSPHATIDYLSERINE -- severely NEGATIVE results. VERY BAD SIDE EFFECTS... {{{ PHOSPHATIDYLSERINE = Anti-Serenity.}}} Experienced severe ANGER provoked upon slightest irritation or problem. GABA does not help.

Shared reviews and ratings

kellz | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/16/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Anxiety/Depression use. Of course these things come with a lot of fatigue and mental drain. I have felt like a psycho much of the time after one week of use. Very unstable mood and manic at times. Severe to the point that I feel like screaming and crying at the slightest things. Last night was my last dose. I've slept for maybe a combined 7 hours the past 2 nights. I finally realized that this is the only possible cause. What a nightmare. Please beware.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robert | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
4/10/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helped me make a miraculous recovery. When 21 years old, acquired a life-threatening brain virus called HSV encephalitis. Memory got impaired enough that failed several jobs because of it. This product (Vitacost brand) made a noticeable improvement. Scored better on tests memorizing lists of words. A week after starting, supervisor made comments about how well I was working. Even though he didn't know I started using it. Have used it for 10+ years now, believe it's worth it. I only rate effectiveness as 3 stars because to me, 5 has to be a complete recovery. I still have some deficits though. Recovery is good enough that a post-doctorate student described it as "unprecedented". Original prognosis was never being able to work or go to school again the rest of my life. But recovered well enough that now operating a business full-time while concurrently enrolled in C.S.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jbkwildcat | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/15/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 weeks of supplementing mother, 75 with MCI/AD 400mg once daily capsules, NOT planning to continue with increased daytime sleepiness and delirium, may consider changing to nightime dosing but difficult with compliance/adherence

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
9/27/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 1 100mg softgel every night before going to bed. It helps me fall asleep and stay asleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
1/19/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am almost 91 years of age and a writer. I just published a book on Amazon last summer and hope to publish another one soon. This product includes bovine, which is great for the brain and w/out soy. My experience with the product is very good. I wish I'd known about it years ago!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chocy4 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
3/4/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Phosphatidylserine for 10 years now for various reasons! ADD depression, anxiety, hallucinations and for memory. I find it really relaxed me taken twice a day at 100mg morning and evening! It also gets rid of depression and helps me concentrate on work. I take it with Acetyl l Carnitine and find of I use just the Acetyl l Carnitine the benefits are not the same? As soon as I take my afternoon dose around 8 hours after the initial morning h dose with the Acetyl l Carnitine within half an hour I notice an incredible difference from the morning dose wearing off and anxiety,panic, worry and racing to thinking normal and relaxed and on the ball again! I could not find the best brand Of use which is Swanson 100g Phosphatidylserine and relativly cheap in England AmazonRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe Smith | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/27/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took 100mg once a day for two days now. taking for memory issues after general anesthesia. will have to stop though as making me totally spaced out mentally, sleepy, and fatigued.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
trapezedancer | Age: 65-74 |
9/1/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I noticed an improvement in brain function, processing and memory within 2 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
grunt | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/22/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take 500mg PS with 3g fish oil. It has vastly helped my concentration with postgraduate academic pursuits. I have got constipated too. Provides an overall subtle feeling of well being replacing my former depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jimi | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
10/12/2016
Condition: Vascular dementia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Living with SVD which eventually leads to Dementia, common neurological erratic within my immediate family. Been taking 300mg a day for several years now and the associated anxiety which is the by product of the cognitive impairment or blockages is very subtle to none. I have also found that you must take this supplement for approx one week before any improvements are evident. One draw back is if you do not take the supplement daily and miss several days the Cognitive impairment comes back along with Anxiety associated with headaches. Again, approx a week on 300mg a day almost brings you back to normal. In the beginning I had started off with 100mg a day which I felt after 2 years was not sufficient and found some Anxiety would begin. Today, 300mg for just over 2 years now is now borderline in providing enough to stabilize. This supplement is a bit pricey in Canada so moving to 500mg, which I feel the right dosage, a day with no subsidies would start to put some strain on the pocket. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim630 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
7/1/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This supplement virtually saved my life. I take ADD medicine, but only after taking Phosphatidylserine was I able to fully take control of my emotions. I was able to move away from being hypervigilant. My startle reflex slowed down to a manageable level. I remember after about 2 months I thought to myself, â??This is what normal feels likeâ?. I have been taking PS for 10 years now. I was able to complete a Masters in Business Administration and earn several professional certifications. I canâ??t explain how or why, but Iâ??m very thankful for the result. This is only part of the results. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andreasbkk | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/8/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did some research on it. I got very interested. So, I got this product and took it for about 5 month. It is so amazing. It feels like I have an absolute new computer in my head. My brain is so much faster. All the math problems I get, are just done within a second. I started to give it my daughter, with the same result. Make me, Einstein looks like a junior. You should try it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/15/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After an adverse reaction to steroid injection my cortisol levels went through the roof. PS was a heavenly find and gave me back my brain in conjunction with Rhodilia and Ashwaganda

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
C | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/12/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

insomnia

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pandora | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/3/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Calming affect especially helps with brain fog

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol (Brand: MRM) | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/18/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began to get hot flashes (on HRT) and my thyroid level went down - Pharmacist said any time we "mess" with cortisol levels it affects all hormones. Also, noticed weight loss and some nausea. Quit after 2 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/28/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Texas Gal | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
9/12/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

09-12-15—Please accept this brief-as-I-can-make-it rough-draft for factual info on Memory loss experiences from an 82 year old great-grandma. Suffered Equine Encephalitis at age 12 (1945 Unusually high west Texas rain & mosquito infestation affected my birthday present filly. Then my symptoms appeared likely from mosquito bite: Mama couldn't wake me for school. (I loved school!) I could not get enough sleep for six or eight weeks. EE in humans was not recognized by doctors at the time. After realizing later I was having short-term memory issues, we "connected dots" back to a two-year stress-related amnesia episode at age 20 (death of my infant) followed by short term memory not-recognized until age 62. I was Psych tested--declared not dementia—but …”Short-Term Memory in the basement”. Reflecting back, I had become "Sticky-Note Queen" as single parent supporting 4 Talented and Gifted children; helping with their homework, etc, during which time I Aced the GED exam at a nearby university. Later, I discovered documented confirmation that PS and IV Vitamins brought 5 year Alzheimer patients all the way back. Maybe PS would help ST Memory. PS gave me headaches. Search produced a balanced combination of PS, Phosphatidyl Choline, Ginkgo Biloba and Folic Acid which greatly helps to the extent I can go to town without my list. When I miss for 3 weeks, I'm more forgetful, but helps again after 3 weeks back on it. But I’m now back to sticky notes, so I've needed to up intake of this combination. As stress increases in preparing for world eventualities, am suspecting I need more PS. Will try the Soy based. BTW-I am an auto-didactic investigative reporter and "Health Nut"... and have written 500+ pages Holy Spirit-led journal/book on beating arthritis & other ills including memory loss without “conventional” med. Forgive the short-hand text! Just want you to have the facts. Many thanks to Web-Med for help through the years… and for this opportunity to share. Shalom Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jlo | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/7/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband seemed worse when I tried it on him. Now I realize it can interact with aricept.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mule whisperer | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
7/24/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a MVA and suffered a close skull concussion with word finding difficulties and short term memory loss. I had tried meny other products with no relief now I use PRO CAP LABS product 200 mg. once a day from Andrew Lessmam and have had a HUGE improvement in both problems. Worth a try for memory problems in my opinion .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More