Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

343 People found this comment helpful

I have fibromyalgia, depression and sleep apena with difficulty falling and staying asleep. I have found a and was told by a specialitst that you need to start with a small dose of magnesium once a day (ie: 250 mg) for a few days and then increase it to twice a day. Gradually increase the doses until you reach the peak of diarrhea; then back the dosing down until it subsides. Stay on that does a...

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

I just started this treatment

Shared reviews and ratings

Carol Malivoire | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/1/2021
Condition: Muscle cramps
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I often get cramps in the arches of my feet when I'm sleeping and sometimes in the leg muscles. I was lead to believe the Magnesium would help to settle the condition and purchased the Magnesium 500mg ( from Magnesium Amino Acid Chelate 100mg ) Instead I've had diarrhea for the past 2 weeks and now stopping this medication. I was taking 3 tablets daily of 350mg (2 in morning and 1 at night). My doctor has suggested a Magnesium supplement so I am going to try 2 Mag-Sup daily. If diarrhea persists then I will back down to 1 tablet daily.. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rosemary | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/22/2020
Condition: Restless legs syndrome (RLS)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After about 1 month, my restless leg syndrome was under control. No more severe pains when in bed. I am 66 years of age.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patient won | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
3/16/2019
Condition: Restless legs syndrome (RLS)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have the chronic form of Lyme disease. The bacteria utilities magnesium in its life cycle instead of iron,(most bacteria utilize iron). Consequently I found myself with RLS, chronic constipation, bouts of anxiety, headaches, nerve ticks. I’ve found 200 mg of magnesium CITRATE, (calcium/magnesium was ineffective) before bed eliminates the RLS and most constipation. Easy, effective and inexpensive. The list of choices below is unwieldy, ineffective and doesn’t include the manufacturer my most recent supply came from. NOW 200mg MagCitrate. Neither Magnesium glyconat or Magnesium taurate functioned as well for the RLS as cheap mag citrate does. A very definite side effect of mag citrate is a loosened stool. In my case, a very positive benefit. If you take more than the body requires you will end up with explosive diarrhea, bowl discomfort and possible nausea. Don’t do this, more is not better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wallflower | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/20/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The best thing I've found to help with regulating my sleep. Also aids with constipation, muscle cramps and pain, concentration, mild improvement in energy. Good supplement for osteo.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ELA | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/6/2018
Condition: Attention deficit-hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just found out about about the benefits of magnesium, and realized I may be deficient of it. I liked reading the reviews, but why no body is mentioning WHAT TYPE OF MAGNESIUM SUPPLEMENT they are taking? There are so many different kinds of Magnesium Supplements are offered out on the market. Is there a difference what kind is used? For what is the deficiency? WHICH BRANDS ARE THE BEST? PLEASE HELP.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 |
1/30/2018
Condition: Headache
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I DON'T KNOW IF I'M TAKING ENOUGH.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
1/17/2018
Condition: Restless legs syndrome (RLS)
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Finding the right magnesium supplement that does not cause diarrhea isthe most difficult part. Magnesium glycinate is good for this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1/8/2018
Condition: Anxiety
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anna | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/9/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking Source Naturals Magnesium Malate for brain, focus, anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Getting better | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/1/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Came down suddenly with severe asthma. Started oral Mg citrate, and later Mg chloride, along with Epsom salts (Mg sulfate) baths. Alleviated asthma symptoms, along with headaches, heartburn, leg cramps, tight muscles. I almost certainly had a Mg deficiency. Made a huge difference in my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peggy VDB | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/30/2017
Condition: Multiple sclerosis (MS)
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 2, 400mg magnesium oxide soft-gel caps by Nature Made together in the AM. It helps to reduce the frequency and intensity of muscle spasms (a.k.a. Charlie Horses). There various types and forms of magnesium. For me, the gel cap dissolves better. Your body will respond according to the dosage. Too much will give you loose stools.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
9/28/2017
Condition: Chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Magnesium helps with sleeping at night. It doesn't make it easy but it makes it possible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ALG | Age: 75 or over |
9/15/2017
Condition: Restless legs syndrome (RLS)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have take prescription drugs for RLS for over 10 yrs and always have to reboot every 6 months. I tried Magnesium Glycerinate did and now do not have to take the prescription meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Luckyme | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/16/2017
Condition: Leg cramps
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Leg and foot cramps were keeping me awake at night. I tried everything. Even pickle juice and yellow mustard. The pickle juice helped for a while, but the cramps were becoming more frequent. I found out about the magnesium. I've been taking 200 mg per day to start and happy to report that it has been working. Since I'm not getting the cramps at night anymore I sleep for 4 hours straight now - and feeling so much better!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/17/2017
Condition: Leg cramps
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I sometimes get very strong leg cramps while sleeping. Magnesium is very useful in avoiding this or, if I forget to take the magnesium, taking it when I get the cramp calms it very quickly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dianne | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/28/2017
Condition: Arrhythmia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed heart arrythmiasin the months following my son's passing, then about a year later went into A-fib and was treated in hospital. I researched supplements/adjunctive therapy for this, started taking Magnesium Oxide at nighttime, was still having heart arrythimias, but not A-fib again. Then in further research found that the best absorbed form is Magnesium Citrate, not as easy to find but did find it at Rite-Aid. So I take 500mg Mag Citrate at bedtime, significantly lea palpitations/arrhythmias. Hope this helps someone else.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Judyrue | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/19/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thewaywewere | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/27/2017
Condition: Restless legs syndrome (RLS)
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has been less than a month, and I think it is helping. At this point, it could be wishful thinking. It will take a little longer to be sure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
various | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/22/2017
Condition: Arrhythmia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Palpitations and Arrythmia for no apparent reason. I am generally healthy and heart all ok. After months I decided to take Magnesium although cardiologist told me it was not relevant. It worked after a few weeks and symptoms are gone! All I could find in the developing country I'm living in is Magnesium Oxide 500mg/day and I see that there are different qualities on the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chris | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
2/13/2017
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had frequent migraines for over 20 years...3-5/ month. I began taking MagOx400 daily and this totally ended my migraines...except when I ran out of MagOx. I've read other posts that reported stomach/bowel issues but that is an issue with Mag CITRATE. DO NOT TAKE MAG CITRATE. Another poster had exactly opposite but this is wrong. Mag Citrate is used before colonoscopy so it will most assuredly cause diarrhea. Instead, use MagOx400 which is Mag Oxide. They are a bit chalky and can be tough to swallow but are DEFINITELY worth a try. You're welcome!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More