Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Xiaflex Inj.

Overall User Ratings

9 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

1-5 of 9 Next»
Condition: Dupuytren's Contracture
2/3/2014 3:07:06 PM

Reviewer: Shoddy Jones, 45-54 Male on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 3

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I have Dupuytren's Contracture in my pinky fingers on each hand. The drug worked briefly but the symptoms have returned to each finger and to same extent as before. The drug is a total waste of money.

Condition: Dupuytren's Contracture
10/2/2013 1:14:16 PM

Reviewer: Anthony Beach Lake, on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 1

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 3

Comment:
Had it done Sept 23rd 2013 Fingers in my right still stiff Just thing How hard it is to wipe yourself when you can't bend your hand and fingers Will I do this again I DON'T THINK SO!

Condition: Dupuytren's Contracture
9/3/2013 12:10:23 PM

Reviewer: rachelnardo, 55-64 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
Moderate pain and swelling the day of the injection--some relief with ice pack and elevated hand. Extensive bruising and swelling in my hand and arm for several weeks.

Condition: Dupuytren's Contracture
8/18/2013 4:16:23 PM

Reviewer: Unhappy, 65-74 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 1

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 1

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
I had the injection 7/2/2013. It was very painful, my hand and finger were swollen for weeks; my finger is still swollen and stiff and sore as of 8/16/2013. My finger is also still bent at about the same angle as before this painful, expensive, time consuming procedure. I would NEVER use it again. I had surgery 3 years ago on the other hand and much better result.

Condition: Dupuytren's Contracture
7/31/2013 8:01:18 PM

Reviewer: David H, 55-64 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 3

Comment:
After 5 surgeries in my right hand, Xiaflex seemed like a great option. The procedure was far less painful and recovery much quicker. However, here I am one year later with my hand in about the same condition as when I had the work done before. Nevertheless, I will try it again as surgery and the nerve damage it causes, are almost completely off the table as an option.

1-5 of 9 Next»
Report Problems to the Food and Drug Administration
 
You are encouraged to report negative side effects of prescription drugs to the FDA. Visit the FDA MedWatch website or call 1-800-FDA-1088.

Health Solutions From Our Sponsors

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

tea
What you should eat.
Woman sitting in front of UV lights
Is yours working?
woman using breath spray
What's causing yours?
colon xray
Get the facts.
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
bowl of yogurt with heart shape
Eat for a healthy heart.
woman doing pushups
To help you get fit.
Colored x-ray of tooth decay
Know what to look for.
Woman sitting with child
Do you know the symptoms?
fruit drinks
Foods that can help you focus.
Sad dog and guacamole
Don't feed this to your dog.
Thyroid exam
See how much you know.

Women's Health Newsletter

Find out what women really need.

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.