Skip to content

    Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Namenda XR oral.

    Overall User Ratings

    22 Total User Reviews

    User Reviews

    «Previous 6-10 of 16 Next»
    Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
    3/5/2015 9:47:46 AM

    Reviewer: March, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Caregiver)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 5

    Comment:
    My mother has taken Namenda xr for about one year. She began experiencing confusion, anxiety and hallucinations--believing people had come to visit her, especially people from her past-- and her memory was disintegrating. Her primary care physician diagnosed her condition and prescribed Namenda. Within weeks she had improved significantly: no more hallucinations, no more distress. Her short-term m ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
    9/19/2014 10:29:36 PM

    Reviewer: Sadformama, 65-74 Female on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Caregiver)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 1

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 1

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 1

    Comment:
    I feel that ever since my mom was prescribed Namenda Xr, it just made her worse. She had swelling, and now she does not even speak. Very confused. I should have never given her this medication. Really wish I would have done my research before giving it to her. Now Namenda XR is on backorder, makes me wonder. Even though I don't plan to give it to her at all. If there is no cure for Alzhe ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
    8/11/2014 9:14:01 AM

    Reviewer: Caregiver daughter , 55-64 Female on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Caregiver)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 1

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 1

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 1

    Comment:
    Read carefully the negative side effects. There is a very good chance my mom's serious illnesses since last March 2014 were the results of a change in her medication for the treatment of Alzheimers. She has been on the time release Namenda XR since March with serious side effects, including fecal incontinence, unsteady gait, dizziness, headaches, confusion, UTI's, Edema, lack of mobility,d ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
    5/19/2014 5:16:48 PM

    Reviewer: Us2, 55-64 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Caregiver)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 4

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 4

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 4

    Comment:
    we started the namenda almost 4 weeks ago/doctor started namenda xr time release as of today, so the ratings are based on the other namenda not namenda xr

    Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
    3/13/2014 1:10:28 PM

    Reviewer: Moshe, 65-74 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 3

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 3

    Comment:
    I really do not notive any difference at this time from switching to the Nemenda XR from Nemenda. I changed from regular Nemenda to XR less than a Month ago. I should give it more time to give an opinion.

    «Previous 6-10 of 16 Next»

    Ask the pharmacist

    Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
    See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

    Ask a Question

    Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

    disciplining a boy
    Types, symptoms, causes.
    fruit drinks
    Eat these to think better.
    embarrassed woman
    Do you feel guilty after eating?
    diabetes supply kit
    Pack and prepare.
    handful of vegetables and vitamins
    Diet tips and mistakes.
    birth control pills
    Which kind is right for you?
    Remember your finger
    Are you getting more forgetful?
    sticky notes on face
    10 tips to clear your brain fog.
    Close up of eye
    12 reasons you're distracted.
    Trainer demonstrating exercise for RA
    Exercises for your joints.
    apple slices with peanut butter
    What goes best with workouts?
    woman having a good day
    Revitalize your life.

    Newsletters

    Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

    • WebMD Daily

      WebMD Daily

      Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

    • Men's Health

      Men's Health

      Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

    • Women's Health

      Women's Health

      Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

    By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy and understand that I may opt out of WebMD subscriptions at any time.

    WebMD the app

    Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

    Find Out More
    IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

    The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

    Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.