Skip to content

    Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Lantus subcutaneous.

    Overall User Ratings

    113 Total User Reviews

    User Reviews

    «Previous 11-15 of 45 Next»
    Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
    4/28/2011 12:30:28 AM

    Reviewer: osusana, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 3

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 3

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 2

    Comment:
    I had hypoglycemia nearly all my life which switched to Diabetes 2 when I reached menopause. I started on Metformin 500mg 4/X day. If I stick to an Atkins diet, I can control my BS but I'm addicted to sugar. My BS increased to 400-500 eating sweets and carbs and I started on Lantus. I'm now taking 40 units a.m. and 30 units p.m. I initially used the Pen but I had two of them jam up and I s ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
    3/28/2011 4:35:26 PM

    Reviewer: 55-64 Female on Treatment for 10 years or more (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 3

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 4

    Comment:

    Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
    2/25/2011 1:25:45 AM

    Reviewer: No name , 65-74 Male on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 2

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 1

    Comment:
    Startd med 2/21/11 Ihave taken 60 units my blood sugar has actually increased and hasnit droped below 210 in that time period I have had two of the listed rare sever side effects they are swetting and rashes also my blood pressure has drobed lower than has been my norm .with aresting heart rade of 80 my normal rate has been 70 and below I check my BP daily

    Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
    1/31/2011 11:20:44 AM

    Reviewer: 35-44 Female on Treatment for 2 to less than 5 years (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 4

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 4

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 3

    Comment:
    This medication has worked very well to control my blood sugar, but I gained 45 pounds in 8 months after starting it. Not very happy about that.

    Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
    11/15/2010 12:57:00 PM

    Reviewer: okjoe, 55-64 on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 1

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 2

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 1

    Comment:
    Diagnosed 2 year ago placed on Lantus/ Humalog 6 months ago. Some effect, dropping from "normal 380-500" range to fasting of 210-295. Very expensive for very little results. No assistance as I am on medicare.In donut hole, costs over $1000 a month. Not good for me. Will settle for old 380-500 range.

    «Previous 11-15 of 45 Next»

    Ask the pharmacist

    Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
    See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

    Ask a Question

    Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

    disciplining a boy
    Types, symptoms, causes.
    fruit drinks
    Eat these to think better.
    embarrassed woman
    Do you feel guilty after eating?
    diabetes supply kit
    Pack and prepare.
    Balding man in mirror
    Treatments & solutions.
    birth control pills
    Which kind is right for you?
    Remember your finger
    Are you getting more forgetful?
    sticky notes on face
    10 tips to clear your brain fog.
    Close up of eye
    12 reasons you're distracted.
    Trainer demonstrating exercise for RA
    Exercises for your joints.
    apple slices with peanut butter
    What goes best with workouts?
    Pink badge on woman chest to support breat cancer
    Myths and facts.

    Newsletters

    Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

    • WebMD Daily

      WebMD Daily

      Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

    • Men's Health

      Men's Health

      Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

    • Women's Health

      Women's Health

      Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

    By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy and understand that I may opt out of WebMD subscriptions at any time.

    WebMD the app

    Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

    Find Out More
    IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

    The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

    Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.