Skip to content

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Gleevec Oral.

Overall User Ratings

79 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

1-5 of 20 Next»
Condition: Philadelphia Chromosome Positive Chronic Myelocytic Leukemia
5/9/2013 4:57:28 PM

Reviewer: Donald, 75 or over Male on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 3

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 3

Comment:
I have side effects of Gleevec that are not comfortable but the drug is apparently doing what was expected.

Condition: Philadelphia Chromosome Positive Chronic Myelocytic Leukemia
12/12/2011 12:38:04 AM

Reviewer: gleevec, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Caregiver)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 2

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 2

Comment:
My daughter has been taking Gleevec for almost a year now. Blood results are good, infact dr says shes in blood remission. But she has alot of bone pain, muscle cramps, sleeps 12 to 15 hours a day, no energy.

Condition: Philadelphia Chromosome Positive Chronic Myelocytic Leukemia
1/2/2011 3:38:01 PM

Reviewer: amazingthought, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 5 to less than 10 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
I started on Gleevec 9 2005 I have had issues most all have I also had to have a iron infusion after being on it 3 years my iron level got low and the BCR test or CBC did not catch it they had to run a iron test not sure what it was but I was so weak I couldnt get out of bed evenn though for months I told them I was having issues they jusst brushed it off. I have now severe joint pain inner and ou ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Philadelphia Chromosome Positive Chronic Myelocytic Leukemia
11/29/2010 3:17:26 AM

Reviewer: JeannieAnn, 35-44 Female on Treatment for 2 to less than 5 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I was diagnosed in Feb 2006. Have been in full molecular remission since Feb 2007. Could have bouts of nausea every time I take it, but have been taking Reglan with it and that, along with dr.'s approval of 6 days a week dosing, is not a problem. Have constant diarreha. At last visit, doctor said this will be a lifelong medication, but that's fine with me since it should give me a lon ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Philadelphia Chromosome Positive Chronic Myelocytic Leukemia
7/6/2010 12:31:00 AM

Reviewer: Linda, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 2 to less than 5 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I was diagnosed with CML 2 years ago. I was in remission after a year of taking Gleevec. Side effects are mild. Some days I get nauseated, other days I don't. I have found pretzels help with the nausea.

1-5 of 20 Next»

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
feet
Solutions for 19 types.
pregnancy test and calendar
Helping you get pregnant.
build a better butt
How to build a better butt.
lone star tick
How to identify that bite.
woman standing behind curtains
How it affects you.
brain scan with soda
Tips to avoid complications.
row of colored highlighter pens
Tips for living better.
stressed working woman
And how to fix them?
woman dreaming
What Do Your Dreams Say About You?
spinal compression fracture
Treatment options.

Newsletters

Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

  • WebMD Daily

    WebMD Daily

    Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

  • Men's Health

    Men's Health

    Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

  • Women's Health

    Women's Health

    Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.