Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of prevalite oral.

Overall User Ratings

41 Total User Reviews

User Reviews

1-5 of 35 Next»
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
8/19/2014 7:18:22 PM

Reviewer: Dncngrama, 75 or over Female on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 5

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
The medication works great, but I have developed severe itching after taking it for about 90 days. A gradual thing. Went off it 3 days ago and getting some relief but still experiencing some itching. Will call Dr. to get advice.

Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
8/27/2013 9:34:21 AM

Reviewer: Lisa, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 5 to less than 10 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I had my gall bladder out over 5 years ago and have been on this ever since. Although it is horrible to take (I mix it with anything non-carbonated), the results are fantastic! I would NEVER eat/drink anything away from home (going out to dinner was not an option). Now, it's just part of my life routine and just something I have to do. I always keep some in my purse just in case. Works gr ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
1/7/2013 11:27:15 PM

Reviewer: caknitter, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 2 to less than 5 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 5

Comment:
I had severe problems with diarrhea for several years after my gallbladder was removed. Several doctors told me there was no solution to the problem; my endocrinologist suggested this, and it changed my life. Before, I was apprehensive about eating in a restaurant or going to someone's home for a meal. It has taken a little experimenting to adjust the dosage and frequency, but I've never t ... Show Full Comment

Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
12/2/2012 9:02:23 AM

Reviewer: SuzyTee, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 5

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 1

Comment:
Really, really works to prevent bile salt diarrhea. The problem is, this brand (Prevalite) doesn't taste very good. I have had a much better taste experience with Sandoz Cholestyramine Light, which actually tastes good.

Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
2/2/2012 9:02:12 AM

Reviewer: Theresa, 55-64 Female on Treatment for 5 to less than 10 years (Patient)

Effectiveness

Current Rating: 4

Ease of Use

Current Rating: 4

Satisfaction

Current Rating: 4

Comment:
Had gall bladder out 5 years ago and on Prevalite ever since. Once a day, mixed into unsweetened iced tea. "Dumping syndrome" not the problem it used to be.

1-5 of 35 Next»
Report Problems to the Food and Drug Administration
 
You are encouraged to report negative side effects of prescription drugs to the FDA. Visit the FDA MedWatch website or call 1-800-FDA-1088.

Ask the pharmacist

Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

Ask a Question

Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

hands on abdomen
Can you catch one?
Woman sitting in front of UV lights
Is yours working?
woman using breath spray
What's causing yours?
womans hand on abdomen
Are you ready for baby?
MS Overview
Recognizing symptoms.
bowl of yogurt with heart shape
Eat for a healthy heart.
woman doing pushups
To help you get fit.
Colored x-ray of tooth decay
Know what to look for.
Woman sitting with child
Do you know the symptoms?
mosquito
Stings, bites, burns, and more.
Allentown, PA
Are you living in one?
Thyroid exam
See how much you know.

Women's Health Newsletter

Find out what women really need.

WebMD the app

Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

Find Out More
IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.