Skip to content

    Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of Avonex Administration Pack intramuscular.

    Overall User Ratings

    84 Total User Reviews

    User Reviews

    «Previous 11-15 of 79 Next»
    Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
    6/1/2011 12:21:26 PM

    Reviewer: 35-44 on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 5

    Comment:
    I have been using Avonex now for nearly a year and a half now. I still take the Advil (800mg) prior to taking my shot. I almost always go to bed right after. It still hurts a little, but it beats the alternative,(wheel chair, walker, etc) I still feel like crap the next day, but its tolerable. I have had no symtoms since starting Avonex and no relapses, for over a year. The Doc said no need for an ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
    12/11/2010 8:20:40 PM

    Reviewer: 45-54 Female on Treatment for 2 to less than 5 years (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 2

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 3

    Comment:
    Been on Avonex for 3+ years. My Dr. wants me to stay on this one since it has been very effective for my case. Still experience the flu-like side effects. Glad that I only have to take the shot once a week, especially since I have to do it manually with no autoinjector like Copaxone has.

    Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
    9/18/2010 2:06:59 PM

    Reviewer: Frustrated, 55-64 Male on Treatment for 6 months to less than 1 year (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 2

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 4

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 1

    Comment:
    I was diagnosed with MS in September 2009. Started Avonex therapy in October 2009 and my health started to steadily decline. I have seen two different Neurologists due to my balance problems within the last year. I had my first MRI's performed in September 2009 and follow-up MRI's in August 2010. Results were the same. Both Doctors agreed that Avonex was a good drug, and both advi ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
    6/27/2010 3:00:28 PM

    Reviewer: Avonex veteran, 55-64 Male on Treatment for 10 years or more (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 5

    Comment:
    I have been on Avonex for fourteen years. Had previously tried Betaseron but had to quit after a few doses due to side effects. Since on Avonex I have remained stable with no attacks. This was confirmed by a recent MRI to check for progression. The MRI came back negative with no active lesions. I no longer have side effects of any kind, don't even premedicate. Had some side effects, main ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
    5/6/2010 10:57:13 PM

    Reviewer: montana, 45-54 Male on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 4

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 4

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 4

    Comment:
    have only been using for 2 months. only had flu like symptoms on one occasion. i drink plenty of water and take advil two hours before my shot, then tylenol pm before bed. my wife gives me the shot as i have limited use of my right hand. no improvement in my hand, but more energy and less fatigue.

    «Previous 11-15 of 79 Next»

    Ask the pharmacist

    Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
    See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

    Ask a Question

    Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

    disciplining a boy
    Types, symptoms, causes.
    fruit drinks
    Eat these to think better.
    embarrassed woman
    Do you feel guilty after eating?
    diabetes supply kit
    Pack and prepare.
    Balding man in mirror
    Treatments & solutions.
    birth control pills
    Which kind is right for you?
    Remember your finger
    Are you getting more forgetful?
    sticky notes on face
    10 tips to clear your brain fog.
    Close up of eye
    12 reasons you're distracted.
    woman biting a big ice cube
    Habits that wreck your teeth.
    apple slices with peanut butter
    What goes best with workouts?
    Pink badge on woman chest to support breat cancer
    Myths and facts.

    Newsletters

    Subscribe to free WebMD newsletters.

    • WebMD Daily

      WebMD Daily

      Subscribe to the WebMD Daily, and you'll get today's top health news and trending topics, and the latest and best information from WebMD.

    • Men's Health

      Men's Health

      Subscribe to the Men's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, nutrition, and more from WebMD.

    • Women's Health

      Women's Health

      Subscribe to the Women's Health newsletter for the latest on disease prevention, fitness, sex, diet, anti-aging, and more from WebMD.

    By clicking Submit, I agree to the WebMD Terms & Conditions & Privacy Policy and understand that I may opt out of WebMD subscriptions at any time.

    WebMD the app

    Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

    Find Out More
    IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

    The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

    Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.