Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

142 People found this comment helpful

I have been a "highly funtioning" depressed person for many years: life of the party, witty, intelligent, charming, intelligent conversationalist, highly successful at the top of the food chain in my field, ...until I got home. Work was an escape from myself for me. If I had no weekend functions to attend I would be catatonic, only getting out of bed to use the bathroom. I had always felt like a...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/25/2021
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication saved my life. After suffering severe PTSD after trauma/sexual assault as a child and hitting rock bottom this medication really helped through hardest time of my life, it took the edge off when times got too hard for me. Highly recommended first few weeks are awful horrible side effects but please be patient with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ahelp | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

(25mg)I believe this medication can work and will work for some people. DO YOUR RESEARCH BEFORE THO. I have taken it for a little over two weeks so my experience may not be valid as it does take 4-6 weeks to work in some cases. the first few days were horrible and I was not expecting it. The only thing that kept me going was the reviews online that said to push through it. I had every side effect, insomnia, new depression (suicidal thought), lack of sex drive, foggy mind, all the flu-like symptoms, increases in anxiety including anxiety attacks which I have never had, lack of appetite. I felt utterly hopeless. It did start to get better and then for some reason my anxiety came back and increased I am worrying about things I have never worried about before. I am constantly worrying. It caused my life to be so much harder and I just want to return to baseline. I am praying that will happen once I stop. I think it can help people, but I keep wondering if this new anxiety is due to the medication or me just finally snapping and becoming scared about everything and if anyone has had similar increases in anxiety does it go away once you stop? I really hope so. I feel slightly hopeless and am hoping everything will go back to baseline when I stop.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarah | 19-24 | Female | Patient
3/21/2021
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hasn’t worked for me at all. I constantly fear my surroundings and it has caused suicidal thoughts. Makes my head feel dense and heavy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sertralin | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/13/2021
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It made me feel like I did some bad dope hands and feet sweat all the time I quit taking it cold turkey and feel like killing myself to make sure I don't hurt no one else with my behavior sorry forgive me lord

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/21/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication since July and I have seen a major change in my mood and energy levels. In usually in a great mood and always up doing something. My only issue would be of a sexual nature. I've been in a relationship for a little over 3 years and I have never had trouble getting an orgasm until I got on the medication. It's very frustrating. That, however, would be my only complaint.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
senvuke | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/10/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had epilepsy for the past 20 years with grand mal seizures occurring throughout the years, I was prescribed a medicine called "Tegretol" to control these seizures. Fast forward years later I started developing more frequent seizures and it turns out the "Tegretol" was causing low blood sodium levels and I ended up being hospitalized because of it. During my hospital visit they switched my seizure medicine slowly to "Dilantin" and this changed totally f**ked up my mood with just a really depressed feeling. I forgot to mention that "Tegretol" is also a mood stabilizer so I felt fine on it except those seizures occurring. I did some research online and wanted a medicine that can fix the depressed mood and irratibility that I felt being on "Dilantin" and found "Setraline". Its been two weeks and I feel better, more concentration and less irritability. I feel like it evens everything out. Its no fun taking 5 pills on seizure medicine a day but then again I consider myself grateful to be alive and enjoying life. Good luck to all and God Bless. SonnyRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VD | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/15/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took sertraline (Zoloft) for just over one year. This was one of the worst medications I've ever taken so far. It didn't help out with my anxiety one bit. Wouldn't recommend this medication to anyone!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/13/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the first and only medication I have ever been on in my life time. ( I have SEVERE anxiety/moderate depression ) I was prescribed 25 ml sertraline which unfortunately was not a positive experience for me personally. Each to their own, every human being is different and what works for you might/ might not work with someone else. My best advice is to not give up. If you have not found what works best for you keep trying until you do. You are not alone there are people in the same exact boat as you and it will get better. My negative side effects were daily diarrhea, severe nightmares, and restlessness. I stopped the medication made a doctors appointment & knowing what symptoms I had my doctor recommended for me to double my dose, which probably would have doubled my symptoms!! Needless to say I switched doctors and medications & I'm doing much better now! Trust your gut instinct and do your research, if you do not feel right with negative symptoms something is probably not right. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I truly feel like I handle my stress so much better on this medicine. No side effects for me, it's great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | Patient
10/9/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lady Grasshopper | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/4/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Found myself headed for a heart attack. If i continued I would have ended up dead at 23. Developed afib along with many other side effects. Anxiety turned to full on panic attacks, insomnia, profuse sweating, rapid weight loss, diarrhea, swollen lymph nodes and chest pain. No one took the side effects seriously and dose was increased. For certain I would've ended up dead. Im 4 days into stopping cold turkey and I finally feel relief. This is a scary medication. Never felt such terror in my life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
theo | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/7/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this for 15 years, The things that I used to care about no longer worry me. no sexual side effects, i recommend this for people who want to take the edge off! Side effect: on missing a dose i feel my head is whooshing sound and it makes me a little lightheaded. so i don't miss doses if i can help it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2020
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have very bad anxiety and PTSD. Iâ??ve been taking this for two days now. I have no appetite at all, cannot sleep, diarrhea, nausea, and a very upset stomach. I have already notice in the two days that my anxiety isnâ??t as bad as it usually is; Iâ??m not clenching my jaw as much, as well as I havenâ??t had any panic attacks as I would 3-6 times a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/5/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It took approximately 3 months for the drug to become effective in treatment of my anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christine | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/2/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have ptsd depression and anxiety when I first started taking made me tired but no longer does tried going up in dosage just upset my stomach so now I’m testing another drug to use at night for sleep

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jamesthelawnmowerman | 13-18 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/24/2020
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been diagnosed with severe depression. I've been taking this for a little over a year now and around maybe 6ish months ago got it increased. I take 75mg in the morning. and it sure does do its job. No more stupid impulsive actions at school (I go to an alternative school) I rarely get depressed and when I do it's very brief.some side effects I'm beginning to notice with long term use are very dilated pupils, mild sweating, hand tremors (these are usually on and off and are very mild.) Overall I'm pretty satisfied even with the side effects it's much better than being depressed all the timeRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/16/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking it as an add on to bupropion 300XL which had started to loose effectiveness for my depression, 25 mgs didn't do much but 50 mgs did help. I found the sexual side effects to be very real and am making a trade off between depression and a sex life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Madmac | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/29/2019
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on sertraline a little over a year now and I’m generally happy with the drug. I’ve had depression and anxiety as long as I can remember but since starting sertraline i’ve been more motivated and have less suicidal ideations. I have a few side effects, most notably restlessness, especially in my legs, when I try to sleep or sit still. It’s always been an issue for me, but the drug has certainly made it worse in that regard. Otherwise, I’m doing pretty well. Hope you are too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
syd | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/6/2019
Condition: Extreme Apprehension or Fear of Social Interaction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medication in the fall on 25mg/day, when I had not been diagnosed by a psychiatrist. It is now the spring and I have been diagnosed with social anxiety, dysphoria, and mild ptsd. I am up to 200mg/day. When I started I felt a bit high, but it was such a relief that the voice in my head that hates me turned off! I don't have any side effects now, other than heartburn if I don't drink enough water with the pills. Therapy has helped so much too, but this medication is helping me feel comfortable on the subway, speaking or being silent when I want to, and at this point I'm smiling for no reason every day. But I feel like myself, not numb or out of touch with reality. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/4/2019
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I consumed Sertraline with Fluvoxamine and Trifluoperazine, one of each for 3 days. At first, I could feel some pain in my neck but since I had a cold at the same time, I thought the pain was somehow related. My pain gradually increased and on the third night, turned into dystonia (one of Extrapyramidal symptoms -sustained or repetitive muscle contractions result in twisting and repetitive movements or abnormal fixed postures). Now that I recall this experience, I feel extremely frightened and petrified, buy at that very moment, I couldn't feel anything and had no control over the crazy movements of my neck backwards and muscles near my brows and on my cheek. I somehow managed to wake my parents up at 1 A.M. and they were panicked to see me like that. I kept saying "help me" but literally had no control. I was lucky enough to be treated with benzatropine through intramuscular injection and after five to ten minutes everything had gone back to normal. I don't really know what could've happend if I hadn't received the medication. Would it last forever? Would it cost my parents quite a fortune to cure? All I know is that I'm never ever ever going to trust my psychiatrist or any other and I totally believe that medication is not worth the side effects and it definitely wouldn't cure your original disease. It would only suppress the symptoms. However, therapy may help you much more significantly. I don't think I'm going to take any kind of special medication in the future, because I will remember the trauma and the pain. Even when I'm writing this my fingers are shaky and I don't even know why. I think this experience has somehow treated my OCD nevertheless, because I'm inspired to slowly but surely work on my symptoms and never go to any kind of doctor's in the foreseeable future.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More