Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

143 People found this comment helpful

I have been a "highly funtioning" depressed person for many years: life of the party, witty, intelligent, charming, intelligent conversationalist, highly successful at the top of the food chain in my field, ...until I got home. Work was an escape from myself for me. If I had no weekend functions to attend I would be catatonic, only getting out of bed to use the bathroom. I had always felt like a...

Shared reviews and ratings

Psilocyb7 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/13/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not for the long term , doctors etc should provide better ways forward coming off. dreadful environmental interactions and dreadful side effects if you miss. I should of done more steps to work at well being before jumping the gun with this. Especially once routines and behavioural patterns are locked in it becomes very hard to brake any kind of mould once it is locked in place because you know how bad the side effects can be stepping the dose down or missing them - So it has you trapped and cornered so to speak. There should be better funded clinics available. In my honest opinion , SSRi should only be prescribed as part of a working program of no more than 6months , once mind and brain path ways rebalanced and remapped the same program should then help you to come off them, whilst providing various activities and types of service to the community (community service shouldn’t just be there for criminals but for those with serious depressive disorders) I’m now in the process of coming off SSRI’s one day at a time , I should of done this years ago. All in all they’ve offered me very little benefit whilst making companies a hell of a lot of money. Only have myself to blame. The cycle ends now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Holly | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/4/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on sertraline started as 50mg and then put to 100mg and then 150mg and gp is considering upping to maximum of 200mg this medication really has not helped me at all I still have my depression as it was from day 1 I still have suicidal thoughts and have attempted lack of appetite lack of sleep these tablet really are not doing anything for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don’t take it | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad anxiety all of my life. Took this medication and within 3 days of continuous use my anxiety was worse. Made me bipolar wanting to harm myself. Racing thoughts that were incoherent. Full blown panic attacks, crying, depression and helpless. Worse 3 days of my life and the few weeks following. Find someone or something that makes you happy because this will not. You will go through hell just to feel empty and when you decide you want to feel again it will be an absolute nightmare getting off of this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lab | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/24/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

since taking this medication i feel like less of a person. the main symptom of my depression prior to taking this med was a lack of emotion, which has only increased since. it has little to no effect on taking away my low points, yet seems to keep the good times from happening. i have no longer have any real sense of self, i feel disconnected from the world and people around me. i also have little to no sex drive, this isn't an issue so much because i don't have sex but it would be preferable being normal. there's an almost impenetrable fog surrounding my thoughts. the only real benefit i can think of is sleep. while i've never been a detrimentally light sleeper, i find myself sleeping in longer and waking up far less often. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Éireann | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My internist put me on this medication (25mg) due to having dark thoughts which were horrific,my concentration was pretty much null and void (Watching the telly without really watching it) and still is sometimes but I find myself depressed alot lately and I know the reason why (Possible Lung Cancer) and not being able to see my grown children (Live in different states) and they say they will visit me in the future here in NY but I doubt it,tonight I am taking 50mg and see if it hopefully addresses my depression.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/17/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've paranoid schizophrenia diagnosed two years ago. It's very severe. The depression brought me to the point of suicide but, thank God, my prayers, I believe were heard and answered when my doctor put me on sertraline. It took 4-5 weeks to kick in but when it did my mood improve substantially: I went from 0/10 to a 5/10 which is a life saver. It feels kind of scary to be this dependent on a drug but to be honest I believe Our Lady is looking out for me, so there's that. This has not been a magic pill or anything but it's a vital cruch for my mental health. I hope whoever reads this finds peace and I encourage you to add prayer to your search for healing, you won't regret it. God Bless, John. P.s. no major side effects yet on a 150mg dose.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hannah | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/13/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a HORRIBLE experience with this medication. I used this medication to treat my anxiety and instead it gave me a horrible depression. The first night I took it I couldn't fall asleep all night and the insomnia persisted not only during the time I was taking it but also after I was off of it as it took my body a while to adjust. Not being able to sleep affected my quality of life and my work a lot as I was not able to function at all. I was depressed the entire time. I completely lost my libido which lasted for a year after getting off of the medication!! I hope this works for you, it was the worst decision I made for my self to take it. I'm off of it now and seems like for me it's much easier to handle my anxiety through therapy Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SeekingSunshine | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/13/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On and off depression for 20 years. I've reached the end of the days where sertraline does something for me. Started out on Lexapro in my teens through early 20's, I was motivated but felt down most days. I've been on Sertraline with varying doses for about 8 years for chronic depression and seasonal affective disorder. Each time the dosage goes up and down, I have periods of dizziness and headaches for a few days but it's not something that shut me down. Right now, I'm on 125 mg/day and could sleep through my days if I didn't need to work and tend to children. I am suuuuper unmotivated and it's weird because it's the middle of summer and usually SAD hits mid winter. I have varying levels of anxiety. I have mild anxiety right now but in the past had to be medicated before I could get on a plane. It's so frustrating -the panic attacks. Because I "know better," but something in my head is so irrational and blows up an issue like its the only thing going on in the world and it's putting me in imminent danger. Somehow, the anxiety has subsided. I don't know why. But the depression is sticking around like a homeless cat. Note: at 200 mg I bled like crazy during menstrual cycle. I went to ER, they thought I was making stuff up when I said I think my antidepressant is making me bleed more. I met with a psychiatrist later and mentioned that episode and he confirmed that hyper-bleeding for menstruating women was a reported side effect when on higher doses. Good to know. Honestly, I always feel better when I get outside, work out a little or a lot, go see friends and do stuff with them, take my kids to the park, and eat healthy. Sertraline just isn't doing anything beneficial for me any more. Dr switched me over to Wellbutrin- the side effects look wicked. I've been unmedicated for 2 weeks now and feel a lot better than my last few days on sertraline. It's not about what's on the other side, it's the climb? I think at this point I know myself enough to know I need to be around people, to put myself in social environments, and to stay accountable about diet and exercise. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deano | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/3/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stress and constant worry. Took these eventually after refusing many times and it turned out to be the best thing I ever did. Felt awful for first week but after my lift changed for the better. I advise anyone in a bad place to consider these and to put up with the side effects for first week .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not a Staple | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/28/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken sertraline for over two years first I started on 50 mg and was recently upped to 100 mg. I experience brain fog, forgetfulness and an extreme excessive weight gain to the point where my entire body feels tight and my joints ache. I have disinterest in outer door activities and prefer to sleep with most of my free time and constant mood swings daily. In my opinion this medication should not be taken for long periods of time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
StressedTeacher | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/21/2022
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I started on 100mg sertraline about 10 weeks ago and it was originally subscribed for PMDD and to take for two weeks prior my period. When I took the first dose I felt light headed and nausaues for a couple of hours but about 6-8 hours later I felt the anxiety lift and felt a nice relaxed sensation in my forehead. My head became a lot more quiet and I also became more quiet and chilled. The first couple of weeks I struggled with sleep slightly but after a while it was back to normal. Because I felt it helped with my anxiety I decided to keep taking it continuously. I kept feeling the benefits for about 3-4 weeks, nice sensations in my forehead, relaxed feeling, uplifted mood. After that time though I started to feel the effect turn in to numbness and I felt less joy and just generally detached and uninterested so I decided to half the dosage. After a week of halving the dose from 100 mg to 50mg all the good benefits returned and been stable and happy since. I haven't really had massive anxiety or bad mood for about 2 weeks now, it's been amazing, life changing, you just need to trial and error what works for you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/17/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I promised myself that I would come back and leave a review if I noticed improvement. I've been taking Sertraline for 10 weeks for severe anxiety. I resisted medication for a long time but got to a point where my anxiety was impacting my life on a daily basis; it was debilitating. As a type "A" personality, I knew I had to try something. I started veryyy slow 12.5 mg every other night and went up to 25 mg every night after about 2 weeks. I had about every side effect listed; a LOT of increased anxiety, trouble sleeping, stomach issues, nausea, headaches. The first 3-4 weeks were honestly SO awful. Reading the messages on this board helped me push through and stick with it even though I was far from convinced it would help. After 10 weeks I can honestly say I feel so much better and am SO glad I stuck it out. I may still go up to 50 mg but even at a low dose I'm feeling more like myself again. I've been there, I promise, it's worth it to stick with it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jen106805 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/16/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking sertraline about a year and a half ago. For reference, I’m a registered nurse and I see a lot of stuff that is emotionally damaging. I absolutely love my career and know how to properly leave it at work now. Anyways, I am a very outgoing, loud, athletic 23 year old female and I used to wake up in the middle of the night with the most real and scary night mares you could imagine. They were actually panic attacks that I was on the verge of everyday that I was able to talk myself out of. Unfortunately once I fell asleep at night I couldn’t snap back to reality and this started happening more and more frequently to the point where I couldn’t sleep more than 2 hours without waking up in hysterics, vomiting from the panic. After speaking with my doctor I was put on 25mg daily, I felt kinda sick (nausea, sweating, diarrhea, increased anxiety, insomnia) and yes this was tough but I knew it was temporary. I combated that with gravol, melatonin, ice packs, you name it, I tried it. After a week I didn’t notice much of a change and my doctor and therapist chatted and increased my dose to 100mg. After about a week I noticed it working. I was sleeping better at night, not sweating all the time, not as short tempered as before. It’s now been a year and a half and yes my life is still very stressful but I don’t remember the last time I had a panic attack or nightmare.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashlee | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
6/11/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been on sertraline in and off for 6 years.. only now I had the courage to get off them I am seeing them for the silent soul killer. While on them, which is heavily pushed by health professionals. I thought I felt better because I didn't feel anything. Then came the detachment and the total loss of self i had experienced. I forgot my home address, my simple job taks. Who i was! I encourage anyone who has been on them for years and still feels funky or just not the same, speak to you doctor and see of it may be the medication that is actually the issue.. I'm not a health care professional at all but that was my experience woth this drugRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Em | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve taken this for 2 months, and have to say my anxious thoughts feel a lot less real and don’t affect me as much. I feel like I want to get out of bed in the morning and like I can make decisions and just sort of just get on with things, which I really couldn’t do before. Have to say, I’ve lost a lot of interest in sex, which does make me upset. I don’t feel like the same person in that area anymore. I also feel slightly emotionless, but because I’m doing more things/ not completely bogged down with anxiety, I think it’s worth it (for now, until I can afford therapy). It’s a tough one!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/25/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Last year I had major anxiety and panic associated with intrusive thoughts and depressive symptoms. The doctor prescribed 50 mg of Sertraline. After the first 10 days, when I was first sleepy and then insomniac and discovered that I couldn't drink coffee anymore (otherwise, I had hand tremors), I have been great. I put on a bit of weight (7-8 kg), but I have always been borderline underweight, so it was not bad. I am now slowly tapering down as I feel, thanks to therapy, I now know how to manage. However, I could not have done it without sertraline.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alex | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/16/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sertraline changed my life. As with many others I waited months to start the medication because of all the horror stories I read on this website. Although everyone's experience is different I wanted to say that there IS hope for you. I suffer from debilitating anxiety. I could barely sleep at night, going to the grocery store was painful, my intrusive thoughts felt like they were crippling me. The first week or so, I had a few side effects. I had some headaches and I would get waves of slightly increased anxiety about 5 hours after taking my pill. After that, side effects pretty much went away. I can now sleep at night, going to the store is less painful, most importantly the intrusive thoughts have decreased immensely. I think it is worth trying. I feel like I can finally breathe. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vicky | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never been on any meds...but after the lost of my only daughter...this has help me to cop .. Its only been 4 months...and my doctor started me on this a month ago...thank god ...i was loosing my mind...but now ..i can somewhat handle with my ...mood swings ..crying...and feeling guilty...without this is ..i might have ended up in the psych ward.. Again a month ..I'm doing better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M Mazzone | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/12/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking 25mg daily. Been on it for about 1 year now. I might be getting use to the drug cause my Anxiety and Panic attacks are coming back. I have also gained about 25 lbs. Plus I now have NO interest in having sex. Thinking about asking my Dr. to change the Meds just don't like the side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Oolid3 | 19-24 | Transgender | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/10/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on 25mg for coming up on two months, the only side effect I've had is light sensitivity and a little bit of weight gain (which tbh I needed). Within days of taking it I got euphoria and seemed happier, but Within a month it began leveling out and it became moderate happiness. May need to up the dosage however because now being almost two months on it, mild depressive symptoms are hitting harder, but I'm pretty sure that's a tolerance thing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More