Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

52 People found this comment helpful

Have been taking this medication for a long time, 50mg. My blood pressure got much better and it began dropping to low so I started taking only 1/2 a pill and it stays at a great level.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I got a lot of the side affects from taking this drug

Shared reviews and ratings

Granma | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/30/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used atenolol for 1 month. It caused loss of appetite, anxiety, and a sensation of coldness,numbness on left side of chest and arm. Went to cardiologists,all tests showed my heart was strong and normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wennie Sasotona | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/4/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Many doctors prescribed it to me. It works for short term use. It slows down heart beat and less efficient on my HBP. I'm always fatigue and having insomnia. Finally CLONAZEPAM is prescribed for my almost every problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aching always | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/17/2019
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this med about 6 months ago. I have a non-stop headache with varying intensity. Atenolol has helped to decrease the intensity, but the headache is still always present. I have also started to gain weight which is very upsetting for me after loosing 55lbs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/30/2018
Condition: Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking about 2 months ago to slow heart rate. About 2 weeks after I started, I developed headaches which had never been a problem before. I searched all of these comments and nobody else complained of this symptom - so I'm going to my DR to have this checked out. My heart dr and my primary dr says headaches are not a symptom of this medicine - do have dizziness upon standing, but can control that - so how about you - anyone else having headaches with this medicine?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MedicatedMass3710 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Atenolol for high blood pressure, which has not been a real issue until I became pregnant w/ my first child, 5 years ago. I have had 3 kids since & the HBP seemed to be situational. But,recently, it's been consistently high. I eat well, am active,and don't like taking pills for this exact reason. My dr prescrbd Atenolol & w/in 2 days, my right foot was lightly puffy & tingling. It was sore from a few days b4, so I did not make the connection. Until Day3 when both legs - knees to toes - looked worse than being 9 mo pregnant. Painfully numb...pins & needle sensations. Clothes could not get past my ankles, forget any shoes besides flip flops. In dresses or skirts,my ankles looked like a 6 pack of hot dogs. Skin taute n shiny, waddling, unable to breathe. I was told this was an 'Uncommon' side effect, stop taking asap, and go to the ER or Walk In ER clinic since it was the weekend. I was gasping for air-unable to get a good breath. Brutal. Kidney pain. I went to the ER and was diagnosed w/ Bilateral Lower Extremity Edema. Its been 9 days and everything has gone back down except my feet which waiver from worsening to improving. The Dr said my feet will be the last areas to heal 100% being they are the farthest, distance wise, away and absorbtion is needed. I noticed they significantly reduce in swelling when they are wrapped or in a sneaker, which barely fits over my foot. Elevating and icing doesnt do much quick enough. The DR even said that this med usually isn't a first choice for a primary. One w/ a diuretic is standard, if your blood panel works within those parameters. He even asked if a nurse or assistant wrote the prescription instead - the baffled looks has ignited my search for a diff, more thorough primary. I would rather rip my nose off w/ a can openerRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
peterrabbit | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/12/2017
Condition: Rapid Ventricular Heartbeat
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a good medication for fast heart rate and anxiety I take 12.5mg a day and it keeps everything it check. Was kinda scared at first to take it, but now i'am doing good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tropicalsmoothie | 75 or over | Female | Patient
8/14/2017
Condition: Mitral Valve Prolapse Syndrome
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

bp still spikes at times but other meds drops bp and heart rate too low. Still trying find right combo for me as Im allergic to so many meds

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kjohnkeel | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Atenolol 25mg for two weeks due to a 50% blockage in one of my arteries. I'm constantly nauseated and lightheaded. I feel like I have a cold or flu - can't eat due to how bad the nausea is. I started taking the medication on a Wednesday, that Friday - Saturday I had gained 12 pounds! Doctor said I need to be on the medication for two weeks so it can get in my system. I - feel - awful!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary B | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/28/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking this medication for a long time, 50mg. My blood pressure got much better and it began dropping to low so I started taking only 1/2 a pill and it stays at a great level.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/11/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a beta blocker. Beta blockers should be the second drug you take for hypertension. First should be a thiazide diuretic because it has fewer side effects. These two drug classes are the only drugs for hypertension that by themselves reduce the risk of heart attack or death. Together, they reduce the risk of death or heart attack more than either does alone. Once you take minimal amounts of these two drugs, if more is needed, add an ACE inhibitor which further reduces the risk of death/heart attack. Caution: alone, ACE inhibitor does not reduce the risk. And then consider adding a fourth drug, a calcium channel blocker which, in combination with the others, adds further protection against death/heart attack. Talk to your MD about thisRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/9/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Originally used for HBP and panic disorder. Worked great for panic. took a long time helping with my blood pressure. I lost a lot of weight and live healthier now so I'm trying to get off of it Originally made my stomach upset quite a bit and I always took it with alcohol. Definitely improved my buzz. But now I don't drink but I noticed my libido dwindling. Just lack of interest even though I have many reasons to be interested such as a very attractive new girl friend. Hopefully getting off of this medication will help. Long story short it lowered my resting heart rate to the 50's most of the time and my blood pressure is usually in the 110-120/70 range. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thankyou | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/19/2016
Condition: Rapid Ventricular Heartbeat
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Atenolol has help me maintain a good heart rhythm and good blood pressure. I'm able to enjoy working out again were before I was scare of having a heart attack and not living anymore.It has changed my life for the better.I have taken this med for 2 years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/12/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The drug works very well for the first 7 hours or so, but after that my bp is around 130/80. It didnt effect my heart rate tremendously. Only side affect is cold feet and hands.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/2/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication over 20 years ago. Other than needing to be raised around year 5, it worked well alone for years. I had no adverse effects on this medication until the addition of a second medication to regain control of my still rising bp.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/22/2016
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on for 10 years to control Afib. Works well for that, but low energy and weight gain. I sometimes have shortness of breath.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy 55 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/2/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I continue to feel blowed and swollen when taken both the Hyrdro and the Atenolol so I'm searching for a medication that can reduce the swelling that the Hydro and the Atenolol provides. Any suggestion?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alexdad | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/27/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Third night of taking this drug, I woke up to go to the bathroom and passed out. I hit counter and fell on tile floor. I was in bad shape for 2 weeks. Now experiencing ED and have a constant cough. Been on this medication for 3 months. Need to find something else, as the side effects are not worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Am401 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/19/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication worked for me for about 7 years. Then, suddenly, it didn't work anymore. It keeps my heart rate down to around 60.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mindy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/21/2016
Condition: Rapid Ventricular Heartbeat
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had no problems with this medication since I started taking it in 2003. I stopped during my pregnancy, then started again after nursing. It really helps me feel better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jose Head | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/17/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It definitely reduces heart rate, but does nothing to reduce my blood pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More