Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

Have been taking Procardia XL 90 mg for nearly 5 years for HBP and has been very effective but the side effects have been getting progressively worse. Terrible joint and muscle pain, gas, indigestion, slight dizziness, gum problems, no libido, hair loss, etc. The most annoying is that my feet and hands feel like they are scalded. Dr lowered my dose just the other day. Hope it helps.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I have been using this medication for three weeks and have noticed that my legs and feet began to swell, had cramps and a headache. Will have to discontinue and address the BP through diet and excerise.

Shared reviews and ratings

Mj | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/14/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given procardia to take when I was diagnosed with preeclampsia about 3-4 weeks after giving birth to my daughter. Worked with lowering BP but gave me horrible migraines and flushing, warm feeling all over my body. I stopped taking after about 3 months and began a workout program and watching my diet and sodium intake.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kahealani9 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/25/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I decided to take this med at night as I had heard it would make me sleepy. It sucks. I feel exhausted the entire day as well as waking up with a nasty headache that acetaminophen/aspirin/caffeine tabs wont touch. I will not be taking this med any longer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Exhaustedmama | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was originally put on Procardia for my second time with preeclampsia, chronic hypertension and nothing else was working. Readings shot up to 210/109. My readings came down, still high, but took a few weeks to get back to normal numbers. I started noticing some side effects immediately. Headaches, extreme fatigue, tremors and twitching, itchy bumps on upper arms. More and more side effects seem to be showing up after a little over 2 months on it. Vertigo has progressed to a constant feeling of being on an elevator or boat, floating feeling, hands swelling, sometimes light seems to dim and it's harder to focus my eyes. They almost feel like they're vibrating at times, an internal buzzing. Chest pain mostly on left side going into my arm, my back, up the front Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mommaof3 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/6/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this med when I was pregnant with my 1st child at the age of 32. I was dianosed with Preeclampsia and then Toxamenia. Due to these conditions, I have had permanent HBP that I need to control with medication. I have not had any side effects on this medication and have been able to keep my BP under control with it and throughout all three of my pregnancies.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/22/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started on 60mg increased to 90 mg x2. Swelling in my ankles is horrible. I will start exercising more and discontinue med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ATM | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/18/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went to see my Dentist about my gums starting to grow over my teeth. She asked me was I taking Procardia. I shockingly said yes. This is one of the side effects that I have experience along with frequent urination.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob Z | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/8/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since starting this med, I have been extremely tired in the mornings until 2:00pm. Muscle and joint pain, my feet are on fire, constipation has gotten worse. Side effects are terrible. 60mgs x 1x per day. Going to lessen the mgs and see if that helps. If not we try another one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/20/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Procardia XL for almost two years. When i first started this medication it worked great. But i had to stop taking Procardia XL because my ankles and legs where swelling so bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lalaine | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/26/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking Procardia XL 90 mg for nearly 5 years for HBP and has been very effective but the side effects have been getting progressively worse. Terrible joint and muscle pain, gas, indigestion, slight dizziness, gum problems, no libido, hair loss, etc. The most annoying is that my feet and hands feel like they are scalded. Dr lowered my dose just the other day. Hope it helps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jeannie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/23/2013
Condition: Chronic Stable Angina
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

9 months on Procardia for angina. Usually tired, leg muscles hurt, swelling in hands and feet when spending long hours standing, headache common, nighttime urination X 2-3 times per night, nighttime fast heartbeat, palpatations not improved. But haven't had to use nitro once....am working on more exercise and hydration.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
adjudicator | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this 3 weeks ago for HBP. I was on HCTZ for 1 week w/o good results. Now I take this, too. On HCTZ, I felt great, no swelling in lower extremities, no SOB, no palpitations. I dropped 8 lbs of bloat the first week. Unfortunately my BP didn't respond as would have liked. So I was put on this in addition. I feel like crap. I'm tired. I now have "kankles" even with light support hose all day. I get flushing and sometimes it feels like something picking at my face or where my ankle swell. Called the Dr. after first week.He told me he wasn't concerned and to keep taking. Don't feel as good on this and it's only helping my BP ever so slightly. There has to be something else. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
turqfeathers | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking for over 3 months; noticed I've been dizzy 10-12 hours later, ever since. Was told I have vertigo, but not thoroughly convinced == too coincidental with timing of Procardia XL. Anyone else get this dizziness?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
turqfeathers | 55-64 | Female | Patient
3/18/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wonder if anyone experienced really bad joint pain from this drug. Started 2 weeks after starting. Get dizzy and pressure goes too low; it's been adjusted for XL every other day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cricket | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/20/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this drug for gallbladder problems and it seem to help. has anyone used it for that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
l. baxter | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
6/18/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I like this medication because it does not make me drowsy and sleepy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/12/2012
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rudymo | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/29/2012
Condition: Occasional Numbness, Prickling, or Tingling of Fingers and Toes
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2012
Condition: Chronic Stable Angina
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shantelle brown | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/12/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this medication for about a week and a half. And so far im suffering from mood swings, slow heart beat and shortness of breath.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
West Girl | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started this drub for high BP and Raynauds. It worked very well, but after 5 months (60 mg dosage), hands started to swell and I've had a horrible rash. Have taken none for 5 days now and still have itchy rash. Did have very tired muscles and severe cramping with this drug,too. Wish the side effects weren't so bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More