Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

31 People found this comment helpful

I have taken Lopid for one and 1/2 years now and it has worked very well for me. It lowered my triglycerides from 1079 to 170 (still a little high) and also lowered my overall cholesterol level from 242 to 180. The only thing about thisdrug is remembering to ltlake it 30 minutes before you eat!!! Am I getting old?

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

it gave me energy,and i feel better,its just such a big ole pill

Shared reviews and ratings

Bill | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/2/2017
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took Niaspan for nearly a decade. Little impact on my Triglyceride number. (400 plus). Switched to Lopid. Within 3 months my tri's had dropped to less than 150. Just took my most recent test and they are now 69! Lopid is much easier to take than Niaspan, although I do take twice a day. Once in the morning and once again in the late afternoon. No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
high trig | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/28/2017
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

total chol normal LDL normal HDL normal Triglyceride high (441)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/1/2016
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Battled high triglycerides for years (400-600). Took niaspan with not much change. Switched to lopid several months ago. First test came back and my number was down to 88! Couldn't believe it. Waited several months and tested again. New number 93! Unbelievable. Take 30 minutes before lunch and dinner. Put a reminder on my phone to keep me regimented. Feel very blessed to have found lopid to work for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/6/2015
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Triglycerides were 1100 and in 3 months of this medicine, it is at 110 and A1C from 11 to 6.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wayne | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/18/2014
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started with triglycerides at 1300. Lopid dropped them to about 200. Now in combination with pravachol, I run about 150. I use generic Gemfribozil currently. I have had no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eddew7x7 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/28/2014
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for 5 years. I am now sleepy all the time and am very weak. Constant head aches and stomach pain. Liver test are showing that it is right at excessive levels, but not over the limit. Loss of memory is increasing. Afraid of this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
re75 | 55-64 | Male | Patient
11/24/2013
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No problems with taking med. It is still too early in my taking it to see if it is really working,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kingmarkone | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/16/2013
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my sister was taking this medication for her triglyceride level and had only taken it for three days and she developed diabetes. We took her to ER and she had BS level of 1649 was wondering if this medication had any effect on anyone glucose level

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RevTim | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2013
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I Just started taking this drug 2 weeks ago and however I take it twice a day 9am/9pm I can not take it 30 min for eating The only problem I have found with this pill is OMG it killed my sex drive and erections I do get headache from them and yes it will make you tired all day long other then that this med better work since it seems that I will be giving up sex for a while

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | Patient
4/27/2013
Condition: Low HDL Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

its been ok for me my clolesterol has gone down sents iv been taking it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
4/26/2013
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NOT A GOOD DRUG BROKE OUT WITH HIVES ALL OVER AFTER TACKING IT FOR 1MONTH THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO DIE

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/1/2013
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

weight loss and some mild stomach cramping are the only side effects I have experienced

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sandyp | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/29/2013
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this pill 2x a day now for about 2 months. After reading here I now know why I have headaches, feel tired all the time and cant sleep at night! Just this week I started to get sorness all over in my back and limbs. Have not had a follow up labs yet so dont know if its helped or not. Other than what I've mentioned I guess I tolerate it. But whew am I tired!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/8/2012
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Lopid about a month ago. First day, stomach upset. I take it after breakfast with lots of water. And again at night after dinner. No problems so far. Sometimes at first days on med. I experienced a small cramping near my navel. Not so anymore. Feeling some tiredness. Bowel movements are better. Also taking Lipitor 80mg a day near noon or lunch time, also with lots of water.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/14/2012
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had serious side effects. Muscle tightness all up and down my back and left arm. Numbness/tingliness in my left thumb and first finger, headache, loss of appetite, and not knowing when I am full. Tired in the middle of the day. If I don't time it just right and eat 30 min after taking the med, I experience diarrhea for a couple of hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharon Look | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/5/2012
Condition: Primary Prevention of Heart Attack
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe muscle pain-- fatigue--

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
5/24/2012
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i get extremely sick to my stomach every morning after taking this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/11/2012
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Lopid for more than 2 years and have not experienced any adverse side effects. I usually take before bed and when I wake up. Triclycerides have dropped and remain manageable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carmen ibarra | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/14/2011
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
patK | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/29/2011
Condition: High Amount of Fats in the Blood
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More