Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

I suffered from cluster migraines since the age of 17. I'm now 48. Since 17, I tried everything- Caffergot, Midrin, Fioricet along with practically every OTC known to man! All with little or no effect. The downside is that I suffered for years- until Imitrex came along. I remember the first dose I took of it, sent me into a tailspin, but as I adjusted to the side-effects, it was clear I had FINALL...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

horrible side effect. Imitrex is awful and terribly expensive.

Shared reviews and ratings

Jessica | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/25/2021
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Thank God for this medication nothing worked until this came along within a hours my headache is good I feel some pressure in my chest at first then fades away

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lbutt91 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/21/2020
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only medication that has ever worked for my migraines since day one! My only real side effect is a little drowsiness and thats it...I finally found relief!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
phylrob | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/3/2020
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried other drugs. This one works ...now my drug plan doesn't cover it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David B | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/6/2019
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a male who has had migraines for 34 years now. I was diagnosed at 14 and am 48 now. At this point, I'm lucky enough to only have a migraine about once every few months. My doctor prescribed Imitrex about two years ago and I hate it. I took Midrin for years until it was virtually impossible to find. With Midrin, I would take it whenever I thought I was getting one. With Imitrex, I have to be absolutely sure because the side effects of nausea and pop rocks feeling in my head is just horrible. And, while it could be that my migraines have changed, it seems that, while not as bad, they last for days now if I take the Imitrex. It's like I'm just suppressing it. Sometimes I have to really question if I want to endure the Imitrex or just go through 5-6 hours of horrible pain and vomiting instead. Everyone I know with migraines has sworn off Imitrex saying it made them feel worse and I'll be asking my doctor for a different drug on my next visit. I'm on day three of a migraine currently. I took the Imitrex on the first day but, again, feel it's just prolonging it at this point. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KyLa | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/28/2019
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been a life saver for me! Iâ??ve had migraines for as long as I can remember! They last anywhere for 4-7 days. I no longer have to suffer at work, no light sensitivity, no nausea, best of all no pain. Yes there are some side effects, but nothing horrendous. I take a generic (sumatriptan) It is a true life changer for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ladyg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2019
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had migraine headaches regularly for many years. I used to take other things and excedrin migraine. Excedrin is no longer working so I was given Imitrex 100mg today. Within 30 minutes I had severe neck and shoulder pain, exhausted, dizzy, tingling in my limbs that went to not feeling anything in my body. I had chest pressure and my headache was still there. I made my self throw up to try and get any medicine out of my body, took a shower, drank lots of water and within 2 hours I was feeling a little better. Still have headache and some neck pressure. I will never take this medicine again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/8/2019
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's expensive but my gosh it works! I've had migraines that even sleep wouldn't cure. They have kept me awake all night long. Imixrex has cured them within 15 min! The only downside is it must be taken early, when you begin to feel a migraine coming on. If you don't catch it early it won't really do much. This has been such a relief for me and I would recommend it to anyone who suffers from migraines. I completely understand how crippling it can be to your day. It will help you!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/25/2018
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been a miracle pill for me. I have suffered for years with migraines from the weather and my doctor prescribed this and within thirty minutes my headache is totally gone. The only side effect I have noticed is a feeling of weakness and feeling slow for about an hour after taking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindy | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/25/2018
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication does not work, I cannot imagine it works for some. For me what a waste of time and money suffering. I would also like to add, it seems to make you really dumb.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EBailey | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/7/2018
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I almost preferred to suffer with the migraine. This medication intensified the pain of my migraine for about 30 minutes. I would begin to sweat and feel nauseous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lee555 | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/22/2018
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wouldnâ??t be able to live without this medication!!! My migraines come from trigger points in my trapezius muscles. I take a pill and usually within about one hour my migraine is gone. I have no side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
izzie2 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/15/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had migraines for over 3 years now and this was one of the first medicines I was perscribed. It was awful!!! It would make me throw up within 30 minutes of taking it. But my migraine would still be there and usually became worse. I was then given Cyproheptadine which works like a charm. I would not waste your money on this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/11/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mom and brother have migraines like i do. All 3 of us of us are prescribed Imitrex, and its amazing! My moms migraines are more severe then my brother and i but they usually help her! It kicks mine everytime plus the help of excerdin migraine! Have a migraine coming on now and ive taken both, sp hopefully within an hour its gone!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/30/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/9/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HappyNancy | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/21/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered for years before I found Imitrex. It works like magic. I even call it my magic pill. Works in about an hour and all symptoms are gone; migraine, nausea, all of it. Very rarely (2x in 5 years) it has made me vomit, so I make sure I eat something before taking it. That seems to work. Also, I do feel a bit foggy after taking Imitrex, and can't seem to think straight. This is gone by the next day. I do wonder if long-term this is safe, but I am addicted because they actually work. Nine pills in a box usually lasts me 2 months. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joelta | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/19/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication works pretty good (faster and more completely once the Dr had me take it with an Aleve). My migraine is usually gone in about an hour, no matter how far along the migraine is. It works better than the rizatriptan I started out on. It does cause me to get a little foggy once it starts working though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carlos | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/18/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 77 years old and have suffered with migraine headaches for 20 years. NOT ANYMORE IMITREX ORAL stops my headache within 1 hour, a great medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bee93 | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/16/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible , if anything it intensifies my migraine and I got instant jaw pain, stiff neck And pain in the back of my head and neck. Discontinued immediately

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/2/2017
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i get debilitating migraines multiple times a month. imitrex does make them go away most of the time with just one dose, though i have to sleep awhile after taking it. i once tried to take it when i felt a migraine coming on and proceeded to finish my work day and it resulted in a lot of bad vomiting and dizziness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More