Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

35 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking 2 naproxen twice a day for a couple of years with very good pain relief. Cardiologist now recommends I stop or alternate with Tylenol. Two weeks in and I am miserable . 67 years old, female, retired nurse. Kidney and hepatic tests are normal. I'm going back to what works.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I have taken this drug at different times for different types of pain. I can't take ibuprofen anymore because it is very hard on my stomach. Tylenol type pain relievers don't help me much so I have tried the naproxen. It is pretty effective at relieving moderate pain and reducing more heavy pain. Each time that I've had to take it for more than one day I get heart palpitations that get worse an...

Shared reviews and ratings

Frank | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/19/2019
Condition: Mild Pain associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have used daily for over 3 years, increased dosage in cold months with good effect now am decreasing dosage as gastric reflux has increased. Have noted slight tinnitus for the first time. Recent physical reveals no serious problem, but I do not want to risk other side effects. If warmer months allow I will stop use. If pain returns I will consult my primary physician, possibly try steroid injections.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/21/2018
Condition: Muscle Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for 4 months for my RLS and my back pain and it has helped me out alot and relieved my pain and I'm very happy with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Activetraveler | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/30/2018
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Aleve does not work for me, but unexpectedly Benedryl & similar allergy meds help greatly to reduce my lower back pain! I have tight glut, piriformis & hamstring muscles on left side. NSAIDS have never helped. "Allergy" meds seems to calm the involved nerves. Happy to have discovered this! I take just 1/2 caplet at bedtime, and if needed same mid-day, and I keep on moving!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Activetraveler | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/30/2018
Condition: Muscle Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Aleve has never worked for me, but unexpectedly Benedryl and allergy meds (chlorpheniramine maleate + phenylephrine HCL, for ex.) help greatly to reduce my lower back pain! I have tight glut, piriformis & hamstring muscles on left side. NSAIDS have never helped. "Allergy" meds seem to calm the involved nerves. Happy to have discovered this & wanted to share. I take just 1/2 caplet at bedtime, and if needed same mid-day, and I keep on moving!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RAMBO70 | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/25/2017
Condition: Muscle Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If I'm sore 1 tablet will usually take care of it. When I have a lot of pain. I take 2. It works for me .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/18/2017
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kimmy | 13-18 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/10/2017
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TylerB24 | 13-18 | Male | Patient
4/4/2017
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking naproxen the pain went away. Then i started hallucinating, not knowing what was real and what was my imagination. Towards the end of the few days of this foggy hallucination state i started having suicidal thought because i wanted it to be over. A few months later i got sick and took Naproxen and had the same effects, I figured out that i am allergic to naproxen and i just want other people to know about this effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
douglasstidham | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/13/2016
Condition: Minor Musculoskeletal Injury
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No pain relief from shin splints injury. It's like not taking anything at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/2/2016
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 500 mg. twice daily for 2 weeks for pain persisting 8 months after broken ankle and wrist. Had total relief of pain and stiffness in these joints as well as in my back. Pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/2/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Trying to find something that works for my migraines but this is not it. Works great on joint pain but does nothing for a migraine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/22/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/27/2015
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dmsch | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/9/2015
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this medication for severe cramps associated with chronic cysts. It does have the potential to make you drowsy (it pretty much puts me out), so I limit use to evenings or days when I can remain at home. Definitely would not be able to function at work after taking this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heather | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/21/2015
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I usually use naproxen sodium (Aleve) for menstrual cramps, and it is highly effective. Takes no more than a half hour to start feeling relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/18/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Found that even 2-500 twice a week would not even touch the pain. I was worst off. After two solid weeks with no relief switched back to my other meds and have no issue. Will not try this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
runnermom2-4 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2015
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this drug at different times for different types of pain. I can't take ibuprofen anymore because it is very hard on my stomach. Tylenol type pain relievers don't help me much so I have tried the naproxen. It is pretty effective at relieving moderate pain and reducing more heavy pain. Each time that I've had to take it for more than one day I get heart palpitations that get worse and worse more like an irregular heartbeat. I also get dizzy and sometimes have mild chest pain. Too scared to take this stuff anymore. I don't know what to take for pain the next time I need something.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2015
Condition: Toothache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Advil doesnt even come close to the effectiveness this has. Hands down switching to this

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Savannah | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/20/2015
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Dysmenorrhea, and Naproxen Sodium is the only medicine that has been able to keep me from throwing up, loosing weight, or missing important events. I have tried Ibuprofen, Aleeve, and Tylenol, but none of those work. Thank God for Naproxen!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gabe | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/9/2014
Condition: Muscle Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Other NSAID's and pain relievers were either ineffective or resulted in some type of side-effect (usually upset stomach). Naproxen sodium has always quickly greatly reduced or eliminated my muscle pain or headache with no side-effects. For those that deal with neck and shoulder pain in particular, as I do, either from overuse or stress, naproxen sodium will likely benefit you more than others.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More