Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

36 People found this comment helpful

My son has been taking this for 4 months, starting just after he turned 6. He has done a total 180. He went from almost being expelled in kindergarten to a star student. His handwriting is now legible and he can sit and read me a book with no problem. I went from not wanting to medicate my child to grateful that I did. It didn't make him a zombie and he still has plenty of personality. This drug w...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

My 7 year old son. Is going to take this and im worried.

Shared reviews and ratings

Retired uhv lineman | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/12/2021
Condition: Recurring Sleep Episodes During the Day
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was able to focus on my chores for the day and get things accomplished

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tonyz | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine makes me more alert and focused. I also feel happier while on it. I'm more introvert without it and I feel disorganized and lazy as well. It actually cured my depression a bit. I feel less empty. The only downside is the halflife and the rebound. I have to take it five times a day. The longer lasting one isn't covered by my insurance so I'll have to deal with it. Overall I feel more on track, motivated and confident. It makes life easier to manage. (50mg per day)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

helps with focus issues, side effects include anxiety and suicidal thoughts

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Viquirae | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/18/2020
Condition: Cognitive Impairment following Traumatic Brain Injury
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I may benefit from another brand name but I am afraid of what happens when I don't have it to think

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/30/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very powerful for fixing attention problems. It makes it much easier to work, however the side effects are strange and concerning. There is a significant loss of appetite and dry mouth, but these are not terribly strange. While the medicine wears off (which takes hours), paranoia and confusion can set in. While these happen, there is a feeling of freezing despite the actual temperature, possibly due to a lack of food? Either way, very good for what it is meant to do but unfortunate side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/18/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Willsmommy09 | 7-12 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/31/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 9yr old was having so so much trouble in school and having bad anger issues, his pediatrician put him on 18ml methylphenidate and I've seen such a huge difference, since the 1st day he took it his teacher messaged me to tell me the progress he had!! I'm hoping it continues to work, hes only complained of slight dizziness and some nausea but other than that he says he feels fine:) I'm only upset I didn't take him to the dr sooner!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kmennis | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/14/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am an adult with ADHD since childhood. My psychiatrist and I tried several medications including Adderall which gave me mild anxiety. I take Vyvanse during the day and methylphenidate in evenings when I have school work. The methylphenidate helps keep me focused with no side effects. Only issue is that it only lasts a couple hours. Most ADHD medications do not last as long as they are supposed to. Vyvanse is a 12 hr med and I am doing good if I get eight hrs with it. Would prefer to take Vyvanse twice a day, but insurance would never pay for that, so methylphenidate is a great option.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy to be me now | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/8/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe ADHD and this medicine makes me feel more normal than with out it. I also have depression and it helps that as well.... I actuallt dont jave any sode effects either. Hope it continues to help me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tbk | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/22/2018
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only issue wity methylphenidate is increased anxiety. Despite having depression related to anxiety, I still advocate 100% for this drug. It saved my life. I just wish doctors would see it for what it is - my PCP views it as a dangerous drug that is only for recreational use when not used for ADHD. However my psychiatrist prescribed me Concerta 36mg (switched to methylphenidate SR due to financial reasons) and I haven't been happier. My anxiety is only worse when I'm not productive. But this medication allows me to be. It allows me to get out of bed in the morning. It allows me to shower and get dressed and clean my house. Of the 7 antidepressants I have been on in the past 2 years none have had such a profound effect. I truly hope more research is done so that people like myself are able to access the medication they need, despite it being off-label. I have no desire to abuse this drug when it has given me my life back. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Methylphenidate er | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/14/2018
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Adderall or Concerta for most of my life and all of my adult life, ironically I'm currently hospitalized with a stage 4 wound located directly above my anus, During this hospitalization they lowered my Concerta from 54mg down to 27mg and upon my insistence and a request it has been increase to 36mg. I feel that 54mg would be a much more effective treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
worriedmom | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
10/24/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son recently switched to the generic Concerta made by Kremers - almost immediately he began having severe behavior problems, much worse than before. After doing some reading, it sounds like the generic is not equivalent - beware!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joshua picerno | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/29/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

when i took this medicine it made me suicidal i could control what i was becoming i hurt people around me mentally and physically

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ethan | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/20/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med does help me to concentrate on tasks better than I was able to prior to taking it. The side effects are not too bad. I do notice that I tend to yawn quite a bit when I'm taking it, but oddly, I'm not tired. It also gives me sweaty palms. Otherwise, I feel it is working well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
toez | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/27/2016
Condition: Recurring Sleep Episodes During the Day
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have a slight common disorder and I recommend taking this pill to help with a couple different disorders , it helps not being or getting addicted to any other drugs and you can get used of the side affects fast,the only side effect that I have a problem is biting the inside of my mouth which I buy gum or hard candy to prevent. other than that its a good help to ever day life. I believe if this does not help then the drug is probably being abused or your aummund to higher drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leah | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/7/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every time I took this medicine I had a rapid heart beat, excess sweating, agitation, mood swings, decreased appetite. And occasionally muscle twitching, body temperature decreased, numbness in my fingers and toes which made it hard for me to write/ type. I always took prescribed amount. The medicine did not help much with my condition but gave me all these side effects inside. Would not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tyler Weitzel | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/17/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I didn't like the long acting pills, so I don't recommend taking anything other than plain ritalin tablets. I've heard that you can build up a tolerance to the medication; however, I never felt like that happened to me over the 5 years I took it. I was prescribed 60 mg a day, which was the best, but usually found that I could take less by breaking the pill in half. I felt like it was too much sometimes, and it was time to take a pill, so I'd break it in half and save the remainder for another day. It had always helped me achieve better grades without feeling like i had to try. I watched other students struggle and I felt like the drug in a way kind of cheated out better grades. I definitely recommend the plain methylphenidate tablets. It seemed like the long acting capsules were not manageable. We can't take less than the prescription and the three hour tablets allow this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter is 7 years old and was taking this medication for two days when I had to rush her to the Emergency room because her heart started rapidly beating and she was having conscious blackouts. It was a very scary situation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pandamo | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/8/2015
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used the datrayna (sp?) patches for almost 8 years now. They have by far been the most effective. I dont have to worry about forgetting to take pills or anything which is nice. It also doesnt effect my diet as much as other meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/28/2014
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This generic form (oval tan color) doesn't work very well for my ADHD compared to other generic forms. I have been taking "Concerta" for 11 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More