Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this medication for 2 years to treat cluster headaches and migraines and was evaluated by my neurologist as an alternative to other treatments. This medication has been very effective in treating my headaches and has been helpful in allowing me to rest better during the night. I currently take it twice a day.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I had a very bad experience with this med.  I was prescribed Vivactil when I was 16 for chronic headaches, not knowing that it was an antidepressant.  I started becoming depressed, so they prescribed another antidepressant.  I took the combination for 3 years, continued getting worse, contiually having my doctors up my dose.  I fully believe that antidepressants should be carefully monitored by pa...

Shared reviews and ratings

chinpdx | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/30/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for tension headache relief for some time now and it really works. I have gone from nearly daily headaches to once in awhile. And when I feel one coming on I take Naproxen. No more Hyrocodone for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2011
Condition: Generalized Attack of Muscular Weakness
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anguls350 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/22/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was precribed this as an abortive for migraines. I have been on this and several other medications for 4 months. I do not think this medication is working for me at all. I am supposed to take up to 3 15mg as needed but it never takes the migraine away. I always end up taking my very exspensive treximet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
11/10/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A physician I worked for agreed to prescribe this drug for chronic and intense snoring. Taken at bedtime it works miraculously. I know this is not an approved usage of the drug, but it should be.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharonbs60 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/16/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After an automobile accident my neurologist rx'd Vivactil, for Migraine and Cluster headaches, I took the drug for over 10 yrs. Now the cluster headaches are back, I asked my dr to prescribe the drug again, I know how well it worked to control the headaches. The only side effects I have experienced is weight loss and dry mouth. Compared to the headaches, I can handle the side effects, I literally do not have an appetite. I can already see an improvement with the headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kierscm | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/20/2009
Condition: Generalized Attack of Muscular Weakness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take vivactil to treat Cataplexy. A condition of Narcolespy that causes loss of muscle control. My knees will buckel. I cant lift my arms. I cant hold up my head. My vision blurs. I slur my speach. I retain complete alertness but I am unable to function otherwise. This usualy happens during extreme emotion. For me its laughter. I cant laugh without these things happening. Vivactil stops all of these reactions from happening.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/17/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a very bad experience with this med.  I was prescribed Vivactil when I was 16 for chronic headaches, not knowing that it was an antidepressant.  I started becoming depressed, so they prescribed another antidepressant.  I took the combination for 3 years, continued getting worse, contiually having my doctors up my dose.  I fully believe that antidepressants should be carefully monitored by parents of teenagers.  The answer is not always to up a dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
akarenin | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/23/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking the medication for severe and chronic migraines. Tried over 10 other prescription medications that had absolutely no effect on the migraines but made me dizzy, nauseous, etc. This medication is the only one that has worked, and was worked completely. No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
flborn59 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/22/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for 2 years to treat cluster headaches and migraines and was evaluated by my neurologist as an alternative to other treatments. This medication has been very effective in treating my headaches and has been helpful in allowing me to rest better during the night. I currently take it twice a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
teachingkids | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/5/2007
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced ringing in the ears at day 3. This messed up my hearing but I thought I could live with it. My doctor told me to stay on the medication and that it would go away. On day 8 I experienced suicidal thoughts. That I couldn't live with so I stopped the medication right away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More