Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

61 People found this comment helpful

My family Doc noticed my ugly, thick, yellow toenails during a routine physical. He asked me if I would mind taking a Lamisil tablet once daily for one month to have normal nails again. I was ecstatic, hoping that I could once again wear sandals in public. After finishing the meds, I noticed that my toenails were changing back to normal. Today they are the same as when I was a teenager! But wait, ...

Most voted negative review

20 People found this comment helpful

i have really not begun yet i will today!!

Shared reviews and ratings

DenverMan | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/16/2021
Condition: Fungal Infection of Toenails
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking Terbinafine now for three months due to toe nail fungas on my right foot. My pinky toe has been infected for close to 40 years, two other toes have been infected in the past two years. Two toes are looking better but the pinky toe looks the same. The pinky toe nail grows slow so perhaps in a few months the fungas will grow out. Both my feet bottoms were getting cracked skin, that has cleared up. My right foot completely peeled. Any jock itch has cleared up and my armpits had a rash which cleared. Other than the nail I think I'm fungas free. I have not had any bad side effects. My blood tests are fine. I have not experienced any dark urine. No issues with taste or sleep. I have one more month to go.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frustrated | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/22/2020
Condition: Fungal Disease of the Nails
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 60 pills in now. 25 more to go. My body does not do well. Insomnia,red patch blister on arm,starting on nose now. Aches in body,headaches everyday. Metal taste in mouth. I see no sign of improvement on fingernails or toes. Very frustrating as doctor said it will work. Not sure to keep on or stop. I want this fungus gone . Feeling hopeless

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarah1110 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/4/2020
Condition: Athlete's Foot
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on day 4 of taking the generic form of lamisil, terbinafine and I am so sick. Iâ??ve never felt this bad before. Extreme fatigue and tiredness, headache, stomach hurts and canâ??t eat. When I do manage to eat a few bites, everything tastes terrible. I feel so dehydrated and my eyes are so dry. Sore throat and back pain. Iâ??m so glad tomorrow is Monday

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teresa | 25-34 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/16/2020
Condition: Fungal Infection of Toenails
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took lamisil 3 times in the course of 6 yrs and it did not help me at all. I recently removed my toenail and took lamisil for 3 months everyday and my nail grew back even worse than it was before. No side effects just disappointed that it didnâ??t work on me :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phreddye418 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/27/2020
Condition: Fungal Disease of the Nails
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this from April 26, 2019 til May 20, 2020. My toenails were horrific and my fingernails were half bad. This stuff is 99.90% effective. I still have a tiny bit of nail problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Babs | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/3/2020
Condition: Fungal Infection of Toenails
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking this far almost 12 weeks I started to get major chest pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ahill | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/27/2019
Condition: Fungal Infection of Toenails
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my 2nd time in 10 years taking lamasil. Both times I got a fungus from a pedicure. The first time it took 4 months prescription. After I stopped the 3rd it started to grow back. My doctor prescribed me one more month and told me to take it every other day. It worked! This time I am on 3rd month and appears to be working beautifully! Neither time have I experienced any side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/16/2019
Condition: Fungal Disease of the Nails
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went to see my dermatologist because my toe nails were yellow and thick. I could not even cut them. My doctor explain to me it was a fungus which I never had in my life before. I was horrified. My doctor told me that fungus could spread on other nails. I decided to take the oral medicine for several months. The doctor took two blood test to monitor my liver and said that the drug will be in my body system half a year after stopping taking medicine. I had no side effects. Unfortunately fungus spread on four other nails!! I was so distressed. One of my nails became deformed. After a year I went to see the doctor again. The culture from the lab brought results that I had three types of fungus. My doctor said it was highly unusual that fungus got worse after taking this medicine. The doctor suggested taking it again! I was like: why taking such harsh meds again if they made the fungus even severely worse? I am crying cos I am ashamed for my nails. I am trying home remedies, but the state of my nails is not changing. It is very painful trying to cut my nails. I guess I have to live with it. I am in mid 30s and never thought I would be avoiding wearing flip flops ð??­Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SinfulObsession | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/3/2019
Condition: Fungal Infection of Fingernails - Onychomycosis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a rare-ish fungal infection starting at the nail matrix/ cuticle of a single fingernail. When a doctor finally prescribed 6 weeks of terbinafine I had high hopes but was doubtful about the length of treatment. While taking the medication, my mail started growing out healthier, but as soon as I finished with the 6 weeks, the fungus took over again. This was with additional daily/ twice-daily applications of acetone (to dry it up) followed with undecylenic acid applied underneath the nail plate (complete separation of nail plate from the nail bed). I'm sure a long-term treatment plan would work better on such a difficult to treat infection, but I hope I'm not developing a resistant strain of fungus. When I can afford another trip to urgent care, I'll demand a longer treatment program. Not giving up hope yet because I can't hide my fingernail.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SinfulObsession | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/3/2019
Condition: Fungal Infection of Fingernails - Onychomycosis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a rare-ish fungal infection starting at the nail matrix/ cuticle of a single fingernail. When a doctor finally prescribed 6 weeks of terbinafine I had high hopes but was doubtful about the length of treatment. While taking the medication, my mail started growing out healthier, but as soon as I finished with the 6 weeks, the fungus took over again. This was with additional daily/ twice-daily applications of acetone (to dry it up) followed with undecylenic acid applied underneath the nail plate (complete separation of nail plate from the nail bed). I'm sure a long-term treatment plan would work better on such a difficult to treat infection, but I hope I'm not developing a resistant strain of fungus. When I can afford another trip to urgent care, I'll demand a longer treatment program. Not giving up hope yet because I can't hide my fingernail.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JRB | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/21/2019
Condition: Fungal Infection of Toenails
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far very good. I am 70 pills into a 90 day treatment. My large nail which initially damage from a Ski Boot is starting to grow back normally (it is about 2/3 of the way out). I have been using topical spray Lamisil under the toenail at the same time. I have cut back on my caffeine some and also have cut way back on alcohol although I haven't stopped completely. I did stop the medicine for a few days when I knew I was going to be drinking. My Liver Function Tests were normal at 6 weeks. I would recommend to not drink while on this medication and to stop it for at least 2 days and preferably longer if you intend to drink alcohol.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rachel | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2019
Condition: Fungal Infection of Toenails
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe side effects - major insomnia, anxiety, loss of appetite and dark colored urine. Had to stop after 18 days of use. 10 days off drug and am still suffering insomnia. Cannot work or drive some days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PT | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/9/2019
Condition: Fungal Infection of Toenails
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am writing about six weeks into treatment (daily taking a pill at about the same time every day). The reason I am writing is to clarify some things other writers mentioned. One thing is, you may not see ANY change for several months, because the damaged nail stays damaged; it is the NEW nail(s) that slowly appear that will be clear and free of damage. Second, my dermatologist said that three months of daily tablets is what is required (I suppose less may work for some cases, but it is not as effective in general). Third, Lamisil is effective in 87% of cases of toenail infection; when it fails it is due to damaged nail bed that does not seal out new fungal infection (most people do not have that kind of toe bed damage). As for side effects, I have had none at all, and am surprised how many have reported some unpleasant side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fruity loops | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2018
Condition: Fungal Disease of the Nails
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unfortunately Iâ??ve had toenails fungus since I can remember very discouraging for being a young woman, I dreamed to wear sandals and get pedicures! In my mid 20â??s I decided to seek medical intervention {even though when I was younger I was told that Lamasil wouldnâ??t do me any good due to the risk etc} well I got on it along with a topic ointment after my treatment I was finally blessed with normal health toenails! Mind you my fungus was so severe the doctor didnâ??t give me much hope but it worked miracles for me. Iâ??m now in my 30â??s rocking sandals even in the winter and getting my monthly pedicures! I would totally recommend this to anyone suffering with disgusting toe nails fungus. Thanks for reading. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kacey m | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2018
Condition: Chronic Fungal Infection of Skin
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer lupus. I have been dealing with fungus due to lupus in my skin and nails. Iâ??m in extremely bad pain due to lupus. And these rashes. The cracks are bleeding, so I was hoping this med would do it. I tried taking it for 6days. During those 6days. It was pure hell. Stomach, nausea , severe anxiety, diarrhea,then constipation. Stopping med today. Iâ??ll take the rash over this crap. Severe weakness while taking this med. wonâ??t be able to take this med. hopefully I can try something else. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/29/2017
Condition: Athlete's Foot
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would advise no one to take this drug ever. It is not worth it. I have endured 19 days of bloody diarrhea and have been diagnosed with colitis. Stop taking Lamisil!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/21/2017
Condition: Fungal Infection of Fingernails - Onychomycosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given a 12 week treatment plan but only took it for 6 weeks before I quit it. I do see a slight improvement in my toenails, but the many side effects I had were not worth it.The biggest one is the 100% loss of taste in my mouth for the last 3 weeks. I cant taste ANYTHING. Please research this drug before you take it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
buzz | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/25/2017
Condition: Fungal Disease of the Nails
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

About 20 years ago, I had all ten fingers and 10 toes infected. Ugly, bleeding, embarrassing mess. I took the prescribed dosage of Lamisil and my fingers and toes cleared up. I did have a bad taste in my mouth that lasted about 6 months after discontinuing treatment. Now, it has returned to my two big toes and I started the regiment again today. Don't be afraid of this, at least without trying. The pluses out weigh the minuses, at least for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SM | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/11/2016
Condition: Athlete's Foot
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used it for 10 days and it completely cured athlete's foot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/24/2016
Condition: Fungal Infection of Toenails
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered with toe/foot fungus for years & I'm on my 6 month of taking generic Lamisil & finally see results in my toenail. The only downside is the GI upset, constipation, & headache. I dealt with the side effects because I want to care the nail fungus. It works if you can tolerate the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More