Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

In an annual eye exam, my eye doctor was concerned with the high eye pressure readings (30). She gave me the most current recommended drug to reduce eye pressure but they did not work. In addition my insurance costs would be $50 for every refill (30 days). I talked to my pharmacist and he recommended Timolo maleate as a generic option. Not only has this drug reduced my eye pressure by half (15), i...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

My cat started on the med this am & 20 min after the eye drops she vomited x3. Is this common in cats? This is for my cat.

Shared reviews and ratings

bagreg | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/27/2019
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused significant drop in blood pressure (worst reading was 102/53)resulting in extreme tiredness which is very unusual for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pjs | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking it for migraines.Somewhat effective.Weakness is a side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anniegr | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2018
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug caused my heart rate to drop 10 points.. thankful that I have monitored blood pressure and heart rate for years so the charting was helpful in relating this drop in heart rate to the eye drops..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
slug rancher | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/30/2018
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After just 14 days on this eye drop combined with latanoprost, I constantly felt cold, tired, and wanted to cry. I was impotent. I had insomnia and sleep disrupted by anxious dreams. I started preferring being blind than living like this. My eye pressure did plunge 75% to single digits, but I was miserable. These side affects lessened and disappeared over 4 weeks following stopping the timolol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Edie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/28/2017
Condition: Closed Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has brought the pressure down, but large red blotches are have begun to appear on my face that are physically noticeable and painful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shirley | 75 or over | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/4/2017
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

last two prescriptions of Timolol have had a different base ingredient which causes a sticky substance to deal with every a.m. my eyelashes are stuck together Very inconvenient, why the change??\

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patsy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/20/2016
Condition: Closed Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Timilol is applied at bedtime and very soon hardens ar the base of my lashes with glue-like consistency. I attempt to soften this cement with tissues and warm water, but by morning i have to separate my lashes with difficulty. Why cant they do something about it?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
grace | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/28/2014
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Drug is controlling my eye pressure Have noticed by hair is thinning - could this be a side affect?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DDD | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/15/2014
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

SEEMS TO MAINTAIN PRESSURE

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Geeba77 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/6/2012
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication along with xalatan since 2004, when I was diagnosed at age 26. I have wondered from time to time if this medication has contributed to bouts of depression along with heart palpatation issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Samuel | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2012
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have noticed problems with dizziness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
webmd | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/16/2011
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first lowered pressure, then did not work as well. Drowsiness, lowered libido.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/12/2011
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Redness of eyelids, crusting of eyelids

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/16/2011
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

keeps preasure in eyes normal

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jamaica Jack | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/4/2010
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In an annual eye exam, my eye doctor was concerned with the high eye pressure readings (30). She gave me the most current recommended drug to reduce eye pressure but they did not work. In addition my insurance costs would be $50 for every refill (30 days). I talked to my pharmacist and he recommended Timolo maleate as a generic option. Not only has this drug reduced my eye pressure by half (15), it also costs me nothing as a genric drug in my insurance coverage. Two wins for a drug I have to use the rest of my life to prevent blindness!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/27/2010
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using the container has been trying. The container has a solid base which can not be squeezed. It is difficult to navigate the dropper to exactly the eye/bulge, but the drops do work with very little side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sw43gran | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/12/2010
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the 3rd drop the dr has tried and this one seems to be helping a little. Easy to use and doesn't make me dizzy like the alphagan did.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
montale92sbcglobal.net | 7-12 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
6/16/2009
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My cat started on the med this am & 20 min after the eye drops she vomited x3. Is this common in cats? This is for my cat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/28/2008
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seems to work well with ease of use. Get generic version and is not costly compared to other meds. Taking AZOPT also and is very costly.($100+ per mo.)Need to find some thing less costly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/9/2008
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More