Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

55 People found this comment helpful

To all of you who are thinking of stopping the medication because of weight gain, feeling like a zombie, those terrible nightmares, lack of sex drive, etc... I too have had all of these side effects. Before starting treatment on Remeron coupled with Lexapro (after trying every other drug on the market and suffering for 5+ years) I truly was ready to die. I had no will to live, I was angry at every...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

Ive been mad depressed for as long as i can remember. i was finally diagnosed a few months back. when diagnosed they began many drug regiment non of which helpped without the side effects outweighing the benifits. then i got remeron or whatever you call it a month ago. take it, fall asllep, insane nightmares,cold sweats, shortness of breath...ive pissed my bed twice since i been on it and i havent...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/7/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prior to my proscribed SSRI Zoloft, the side effects hit me hard and did not subside, and my dad was proscribed for years and my doctor conveniently gave me the same, it helped with my depression but did nothing to my anxiety. Remerom had saved me, my restlessness and insomnia slowly drifted and didn't had nights well rest in years, the medication has treated me pretty well. Though it makes me more hungry and thirsty, in which the restroom is harder to pass. I recommend to speak with your doctor as it treated me well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ray | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although sensation of full bladder persisted all night I was unable to pass urine, only drops at a time. It made me depressed and I didn't want to do anything all day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ke | 45-54 | Patient
12/28/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i gained over 10% of my entire body weight in ONE MONTH. All I wanted to do was eat. Even when I ate, I was still hungry. Being hungry all the time might have contributed to my irritability, which was bad. I absolutely DO NOT RECOMMEND this unless you're trying to gain weight. I've been taking trazodone for years for sleep and the new doctor thought this might help more with my anxiety. Well, it didn't. And now I'm depressed because none of my clothes fit. Even my fat pants are too tight and I haven't had to wear them for years. I'm so mad they put me on this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JENNIFER | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on a lot of medications over the years for my anxiety and depression.. I've taken effexor for quite some time and that keeps my anxiety at bay but wasn't doing anything for my depression. The doctors had me try welburtin (which was horrible!!) So they put me on remeron and it's amazing. I'm finally starting to feel human and want to do things again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Taylor H | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/14/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far, being on this medication has been great. I was struggling to sleep at night due to my anxiety. I couldn't even tell you how long its been since I actually slept through the night. I was taking Ativan to help me sleep, but I didn't want to be on Benzos as my family struggles with addiction. ANYWAYS, 3 weeks being on this medication I have not had one sleepLESS night!! I sleep all night long and I am forever grateful for that. I also have noticed some appetite increase, especially at night time but in my case, that's beneficial. My anxiety caused me to be underweight by over 10 pounds. I have been able to start gaining that weight back and haven't lost any more weight at all. So far, so good! I also smoke weed a lot lol and that hasn't affected this medication. I've also had a couple drinks with these meds and no interactions have occurred for me. I highly recommend this pill if you have trouble sleeping and with being underweight. Also thought I should add, other anti-depressants made me feel sick to my stomach, this is the only pill that doesn't make me feel nauseated. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Patient
10/4/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was switched to this from zoloft which I had been on for many years, and have had literally every side effect that is listed for zoloft. I am on day #3 of Mirtazapine and this morning I am terribly nauseous, all 3 days sleeping 10 hours and not able to "get up" as such. Very foggy and very tired. 15 mg right now. I am not sure about this one!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lucy | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/30/2020
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As soon as I started taking this medication my allergy to cannabis was gone. I used to be highly allergic to touching the plant and could never trim it after growing it and had to get others to do it for me. After a few days I noticed I cold actually wrap myself i it and had NO reaction. I've had allergies before and this took them away completely. I asked my doctor about it and she told me it has an antihistamine in it and that is what makes your tired. I was amazed at the difference it has made. Also, my emotion scale has gone from being highly emotional and over the top, to being normal. I'm more focused and less reactive. I do get the shakes a bit after I take it but I go right to bed and it puts me to sleep really well. I have noticed I am getting pains in my arms and legs sometimes that can't be explained with blood tests so I'm wondering if this is a side effect. I would like to find that out. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lesfurst | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/2/2019
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on 30mg every night while I was hospitalized after a suicide attempt. For the first week I felt like I was in a fog. I continued taking the medication as prescribed and after two weeks I didnâ??t feel like I was in a fog anymore. Itâ??s been two months and Iâ??ve gained 30lbs. Iâ??ve never been this heavy in my life except when I was pregnant. It makes me drowsy but doesnâ??t help me sleep. It also makes my appetite worse after I take it. Going to talk to my psychiatrist about other options. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/19/2018
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sleep ahhh and slowing down of racing thoughts beforehand is amazing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jared | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/15/2018
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diagnosed with MDD for 6 years. I had tried pretty much every common SSRI and SNRI with minimal results. After beginning to also suffer from severe insomnia my doctor prescribed me this and my life has completely changed. I can sleep now, and feel incredibly at peace and much less negative. I experienced increased appetite at first, which drove me to exercise which made my symptoms even better. So glad to finally have a solution to my condition.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TheGuy | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2018
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered from severe insomnia and depression for years. I began taking Remeron and my sleep problems vanished almost overnight. I have experienced a distinct lack of side effects, namely the lack of sex drive that I've seen with other medicines. The weight gain can be an issue, if you're young and have the ability to exercise it is certainly worth it. Absolutely thrilled to feel like myself again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
goodmeds | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2018
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on Lexapro and my doctor added 15 mg of this med. I am amazed how it has benefited me. Wish I had been on it sooner. Highly recommend for PTSD

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DCSMOM | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2018
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Why the hell any Dr would give this drug I donâ??t know. My anxiety is over the top because of weight gain and I feel like Iâ??m on speed. No help with sleeping at all! Should have went back to Michigan for best phy Dr in the world. Dr B.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bmsvdsbmsvds | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2017
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never slept better. But, gained 10 lbs. in 4 weeks with no change in eating or exercise habits.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SissyDarnell | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/12/2017
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this drug after being on anti-depressants (SSRI's) for years. I take 7.5mg coupled with 50mg hydroxyzine (Atarax), which works well at allowing me to go to sleep, but I don't STAY asleep, and I STILL need help with severe anxiety (due to real-life problems . . . I'm bedridden, husband has cancer, COPD and A-fib; we have no insurance! Lost business, home, cars, investments, and used all of our savings). Newly developed symptoms are: constant ACID INDIGESTION lower BACK PAIN MUSCLE CRAMPS/SPASMS TACHYCARDIA (racing heart) WEIGHT GAIN (seven pounds in first two weeks) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nauseated | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2017
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started on 15mg at bedtime each day. Increased dosage to 30 mg after 7 days. I am switching to this medication after 4 years of being on venlafaxine. Remeron (mirtazapine) did help me sleep better; however, I began experiencing back and muscle pain, headaches, and severe nausea. I will not use this medication again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lori | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/21/2016
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication helped me out years ago! No I don't remember the dosage I took! But I do rememeber it helped me sleep I felt relaxed! But gosh dang it, did it increase my appetite like no other! Lol yes this medication did help me out! Thank u

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GetInMyTummy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2016
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been on this a week now and i am so sedated. I barely get out of bed except to eat! I want to eat everything in sight! I am not anxious cant tell if im depressed since I just sleep and eat. The question of is this medication easy to use is stupid. Of course it is. You swallow the damn pill!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Medicines | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/24/2016
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very groggy all day long. I work full time, so this does not help. My first day on this medication and so far very tired. Like a dream like state.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LS | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/1/2016
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken this drug on and off for four years so I have experience with 7.5mg dose, 15mg dose, and withdrawal. On 7.5 I was super sleepy in the morning, almost made it impossible for me to make it to work for my 6 AM shift. Also daydreamed about cookies, candy, root beer, etc. On 15, that sleepiness is totally gone. I still love my cookies (initially started Remeron to help combat an eating disorder and the anxiety that went with it) but I am not daydreaming about them as much. I wake up with tons of energy ready to tackle the day. The withdrawal from either dose is nothing. It's harder to fall asleep but would I still sleep 5 hours a night, so it's not like sleep is impossible while withdrawing. (I'm no longer suffering from depression related insomnia like I was, probably due to the other two AD's as well.) It's been so long since my last MDD episode and I take two other AD's so I can't really say how much it has helped my depression or anxiety. All I know is that I get a solid, restful, rejuvenating, 8 hours of sleep each night, and I don't feel the need to starve myself because food just sounds so good! I would recommend this drug to anyone suffering from either insomnia or an eating disorder. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More