Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

40 People found this comment helpful

I've had UC for 13 years and would have a flare-up twice a year for 2 to 3 months at a time, every year! (seasonal) This drug has gotten me off Prednisone which I loved too but wasn't healthy for me. My doctor gave me this drug and I love it! I've been in remission for the first time since I started this drug. I take 50mg daily and I have no side effects and I have my life back!!!!

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

slow improvement

Shared reviews and ratings

C Willow | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/16/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had organizing pneumonia in my lungs. Groups of ( palops) causing breathing issues. It's new to the pulmonary world. 2014 is when this was discovered. I tend to get the the new weird illnesses. ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
akatab | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/3/2021
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 50mg of Azathioprine for Crohn's because nothing has worked for me. I took it for 6 months and it caused nothing but side effects. I had joint pain, sores in my mouth, loss of taste, pain so bad I would have to go to bed at 3 in the afternoon and then had cold sweats. The list went on and on but my doctor said it would stop. I had to stop the drug because of all the side effects. I went to Humira next but that didn't work either.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2020
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

IT'S GOING TO TAKE TIME. GOOD SO FAR.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TankGirl | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/3/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Behçet’s Disease. Azathioprine was supposed to help with the oral ulcers I experienced, and had going on for two years. It helped a little, but the sores would still return, just not as often. After taking it for six months I realized that the bottoms of my feet hurt, both of my knees hurt, my hips hurt and so did my shoulders and hands. My doctor changed me to Humira and so far it is helping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bobby Ray | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/23/2019
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve had Crohnâ??s for over 50 years. I’ve been on Azathioprene for over 13years after my second surgery. I’ve been in remission ever since. Some joint pain, but very tolerable. Doctor wants me to change to a biologic due to increased risk of lymphoma. I take 175 mg per day in the morning after a meal. Since I’ve lost about 3 feet of intestine, I take cholestyramine. I have to wait about 3 hours so it doesn’t interfere with the azathioprine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
IrishEnglish | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2018
Condition: Liver Inflammation caused by Body's Own Immune Response
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Two weeks into treatment I acquired pneumonia, never had it before in my life. 3 weeks in, at a dosage of 50mg, nausea started, but I fought it off. 4th week, the Dr increased my dosage to 100mgs. I went out in the sun for 15 min and my nose blistered up that night. Avoid sunlight! 5th week, the vomiting started, no holding it back. Every day more vomiting about half an hour after taking the pill, and then blood in my urine (UTI) never had that problem in my life, also started having fluid in my ear and ear canal infection. I quit the medicine and 2 weeks later I still can't go out in the sun and am having more infections. I believe this medicine also caused my hep C treatment to fail (Mavyret). The Dr told me to take both medicines concurrently. Big mistake. I haven't been the same since I took azathioprine. I just hope I recover my immune system at some point. Ironically, my new Dr is not so sure I have an autoimmune disease. Need more tests, but now I have to do another treatment for hep C. IF I can get approval from the insurance company. I have experienced some hair loss. :(Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kadydid60 | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/19/2017
Condition: Prevention of Lung Transplant Rejection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for 33 years. Had first transplant 2/84. Second transplant 6/16. I have thousands of lesions from this and the sun. Have had squamous cell cancer 3 times in the last 2 1/2 years. Have been getting lesions froze, they do like 20-30 at a time. I feel like I get lots more all the time. No way for me to keep up with just the bigger ones little lone all the thousands of others. But along with the prednisone It has worked for the last 33 years. Since my second transplant I am taking prograf as well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nin | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2017
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after being on this for 3weeks i developed a cyst(?) just inside the vaginal area. very painful. dr had to remove it thru surgery. He reported that it was an allergy to this medication. took me off immediately. doing great now!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
squirrelmomma | 55-64 | Female | Patient
6/12/2017
Condition: Liver Inflammation caused by Body's Own Immune Response
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i am taking azathioprine for autoimmune hepatitis been takig it for a year and a half now side effects were bad at first have lessened now dr prescribed omeprazole for nausea it helps have lupus plus rheumatoid arthritis being treated by plaquinel hoping to feel normalsoon

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
granny | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/8/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It seems that Aza is making me extremely tired and depressed. Is anyone else having this problem?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jackson | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/21/2016
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with UC dec-15, brought out of my flare with infliximab and now take 150mg of Aza everyday. Its kept me very well for 6 months so far, I've had some joint pain but this is subsiding. Note there is a 2-3 month lead-in for this drug to become effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angharad | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2016
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been taking these tablets for two days amd within a few hours of taking the first, I had electric shock feeling on the side of my head just up above my right ear. Its starting to be sensitive to the touch,too. Hope this stops soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane Eyre | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/2/2016
Condition: Liver Inflammation caused by Body's Own Immune Response
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have autoimmune hepatitis in addition to Primary biliary cirrhosis of the liver. I have taken 100mg/day for 2 years now, doing very well, all of my liver enzymes have continued to reduce (ALT/AST are within normal levels); the doctor increased my Ursodial so my ALK PH. levels have now started to drop as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Myasthenia Gravis | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2015
Condition: Myasthenia Gravis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking Azathioprine to reduce daily intake of prednisone. When I first started to take it, it weakened my immune system so badly I would walk around with the sniffles, nose runs, and body aches like I had a permanent cold. I also had horrible stomach aches, and diarrhea. Recently the last two times vomited, but the last time I vomited there was blood in it. this prescription dos not help my muscles at all. prednisone seems like the only way.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KRIS | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/21/2015
Condition: Liver Inflammation caused by Body's Own Immune Response
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking 50mg of Azathioprine for Autoimmune Hepatitis. Hair loss is terrible. I am exhausted all of the time. Joint pain. Stomach pain. Brain Fog. I am 43 but feel 90 most days. My doctor ignores me on all of this. I felt better when I didn't take it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MzMoody | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on drug for 4months for Pericarditis associated with auto-immune disease. Also have been on oral steroids for over 3yrs. I think my body is not responding to Azo as I am experiencing more flares of acute pericarditis than I was before Azo. I am that rare case, have had cardiac stripping (removal of pericardium) and pericardialcentesis. Anyone else taking this drug for auto immune disorder?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/8/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff turned me into a walking zombie...I couldn't stay awake...wound up stopping it after 3 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rhonda | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/29/2015
Condition: Inflammation of Skin and Muscles All Over the Body
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gained some weight but I still have my hair so thats good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
laughsonme | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/15/2015
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am starting to get numbness in my hands and upset stomach. I am going to talk to my Dr about stopping this medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Koinu | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with UC when I was just turning 18 its been almost 6 years now. I started azathioprine when I saw a new GI when I moved to a different state. I did some blood work before starting the medication and I did some more blood work after 2 weeks of being on it. About a couple weeks into taking the medication I had severe pain in my abdomen that radiated around to my back and I could hardly get comfortable. The doctor in the ER was dismissive when I asked her to check and see if the new medication was causing all of these symptoms. I actually forgot to take it a couple of times when I got out and surprisingly I felt better. I took a pill last night, and I woke up with severe pain and I actually vomited this time around. The family I stay with made me see the GI, he actually pulled up my records from the hospital and when they did blood-work the first time and the 2 weeks in. He realized that it really was doing what it was supposed to, but recognized that I unfortunately had a spike in my pancreas which he attributed to the new medication. He pulled me off of it immediately and is wanting me to recover before he starts me on the top tier of the biological medications. So the moral of my story is always ALWAYS check with a specialist, and don't take someone's word who has absolutely no experience in this area. It can actually end up costing you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More