Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

I was referred to a urologist for pelvic pain after different types of gynocologists couldn't figure out where the pain was coming from. After a few visits to the urologist, he guessed that it might be Interstitial Cystitis. He had also put a scope into my bladder and saw that the upper half was red, which he said was unusual. He started me on Elmiron which took all the pain away in 3 days. Someti...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

Besides IC I also have Hunner's Ulcers. I am lucky that a small dose of Elmiron helps the bladder pain. Frequency is still a problem. Most medications I have tried for frequency are not very effective. Cost is the bigggest problem for me. Very expensive.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/5/2021
Condition: Bladder Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doesn't help with pain!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elimiron | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/27/2020
Condition: Urinary Tract Irritation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication gave me so comfort from the pain and uncomfortable life i had lived a long time. I say this for the people who did not have success. I went to doctor for urinating discomfort. After years of antibiotics and really crazy diagnosis. I met with urologist. He used camera to study. He found i had if I remember correctly a bladder neck that needed reduction. Horrible camera pain, horrible surgery for reduction. Horrible recovery. But i tell you now the surgery was exactly the problem plus the elimron has done me so much justice and i can actually live my life peacefully!! I sware and give you my word if the elimiron didnâ??t work. Go back have your doctor check for a possible bladder neck reduction. May be the best thing you ever did! Promise ð??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DeeLF | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/26/2016
Condition: Bladder Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After multiple visits to my Gynecologist, she sent me to a Urogynecologist, who knew it was Interstitial Cystitis just upon taking a history of my symptoms. He did a couple of studies in-office, confirming the diagnosis, and then placed me on Elmiron. At first I, too, did not think it was working, until I ran out of it and could not afford to purchase it for a couple weeks. I have been on it for a little over 10 years, and it this has been a life-saver for me. Also, I have never had to go into the ER for a flare-up, because the Urogynecologist also provided me with a list of foods that could cause them; this list has been extremely useful. My pain is now nearly nonexistent, and the frequency and urgency are directly related to and controlled by my daily caffeine intake. I LOVE this medication, and feel it is a godsend. Of note, I usually only take it in the morning and evening, because I forget about the midday dose; even on this reduced dosage, I have achieved what I consider to be stellar results!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Seshet | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/1/2012
Condition: Bladder Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Elmiron several years ago for Interstitial Cystisis. I took it for six month and had no improvement at all!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
merle wurth | 65-74 | Female | Patient
1/17/2012
Condition: Bladder Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Besides IC I also have Hunner's Ulcers. I am lucky that a small dose of Elmiron helps the bladder pain. Frequency is still a problem. Most medications I have tried for frequency are not very effective. Cost is the bigggest problem for me. Very expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eartha | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/25/2011
Condition: Bladder Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Trying to remember to take this 3 times a day is hard. And to add to that, dosing is 1 hour before a meal or 2 hours after. I am not convinced this medication is even working. I have been on it for 3 months and feel no better than the day it was prescribed. Even the medication info says it can take 3 months to a year to see results. I am discouraged about the effectiveness of this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/5/2011
Condition: Bladder Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was referred to a urologist for pelvic pain after different types of gynocologists couldn't figure out where the pain was coming from. After a few visits to the urologist, he guessed that it might be Interstitial Cystitis. He had also put a scope into my bladder and saw that the upper half was red, which he said was unusual. He started me on Elmiron which took all the pain away in 3 days. Sometimes I had flare-ups and went in for emergency treatment where they ingected 3 types of drugs into the bladder, but they didn't help much and I just had to to tough it out for a week or so until the pain settled down.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
reliefforIC | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/21/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 26 and began to experience severe pain and discomfort in my lower back and abdomen. I am a student and I went to the health center on campus where doctors tried to pinpoint what i had. I was given antibiotics and they did not work. I was urinating, or trying to, 17-20 times a day. eventually, I began to see blood in my urine and my school physician referred me to a urologist. The urologist knew what I had the moment i told him about the pain, bleeding, and urgency of my urination. He prescribed me Elmiron and injected the drug 3x/week for two weeks into my bladder. I do not have health insurance and the drug is 465 dollars for a months supply and i needed six months worth. I love how the drug has helped me, but I just wish it were cheaper. I have also found some triggers such as spicy foods (which I LOVE), teas, coffee, and some others. I am much better than I was before. oh, and when i experience a flare up one tablespoon of baking soda in water helps significantly. I am convinced that this drug has helped improve the quality of my life. i don't have to stay by a bathroom all day. I still get up once at night, but I am not getting up 3-5 times any longer. Thank God.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
christmas | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/3/2009
Condition: Bladder Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
9/13/2009
Condition: Urinary Tract Irritation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More