Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

My experience with this drug has been phenomenal. I have seen it work in as little as two weeks. Of course with all new acne medications, it makes your skin worse before it gets better. I would say that after the first week, my skin started to really clear up quite nicely. I would recommend this product to anyone. As far as eating something with this medication, i have not felt any side effects of...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

Was on this medication for a week until I got a VERY painful yeast infection followed by severe diaherria. I ended up going to the hospital where I needed IV for the dehydration and I ended up having a UTI as well. I've never had a yeast infection or UTI prior to taking this medication, so I'm assuming this was the cause. Stopped taking it. I would say my skin "glowed" a little more and felt much ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Steve S | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/14/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking this for a possible prostate bacterial infection. Though the stomach pain has been tolerable, I have had severe insomnia. I seem to be hot and sweating at night and somewhat congested. I am on day 6 and I have not slept more than 5 hours on any day. Cannot get to sleep at all!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dswmuddy | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked as described. Lowered infection symptoms. HOWEVER, it caused very intense anxiety, depression, and thoughts of death that just NOW 10 days after taking have somewhat cleared up. I am not depressed and have never had these symptoms before taking. AVOID the tetracycline family if possible. Please watch your children while on this drug, it could save their lives.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debi | 45-54 | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2022
Condition: Non-Contagious Disease due to Actinomyces Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had anaphylaxis to this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
xoLulabellexo | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/18/2022
Condition: Sinus Irritation and Congestion
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Developed severe photo-onychlosis. Doctors had no idea what happened, apparently a rare complication causing all nails to begin lifting from the nail bed. I’d barely spent any time outdoors but it was long enough to cause painful separation. Initially they turned half white, lunula’s disappearing completely and Google said this was Terry’s nails due to kidney failure. After panicking phone calls and a blood test, they’re fine, but my nails still are not. 7 weeks after stopping them and they’re the most painful they’ve been yet. I’ve quit my second job because I can’t use my hands that much and typing causes them to throb after an hour. Cosmetically, they don’t look too bad. However, I can’t get them wet (gross), I’ve been advised to dip them in TCP to keep clean, cut them to a length short enough to not catch but long enough to just keep my nailbeds safe. It’s taken this long to get any answers because apparently it’s rare, doctors didn’t know, a&e didn’t know, I made a last ditch attempt and saw a podiatrist who provided me with a lot of support, dressings if needed and gloves. I can’t believe this happened, and I can’t believe I wasn’t warned that my fingernails might flippin’ fall off because of it. I also developed a burning sensation in my throat two days before the end of the course and couldn’t keep water down. The best part is, I still have chronic sinusitis. Absolutely would not recommend. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AverageJoe | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2022
Condition: Sinus Irritation and Congestion
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For a medication that doesn't have any kind of warning on it it can be extremely dangerous. Took my eighth pill after skipping a day just because my congestion was better and had the worst reaction while driving down a three lane interstate. I couldn't focus on any lane, they all just merged together. I don't know if I was passing out or what. Luckily I was able to finally get off of the road after what felt like an eternity of zig zagging trying to stay in a lane that I couldn't see. Someone had to come pick me up because I was done at that point. I couldn't connect the meds to this experience because there was no warning about side affects. I figured it out after taking one and then looking them up online out of curiosity and found enough to realize that this pill is the problem. And sure enough after an hour or two I was outside watering the plants and I just became very confused. I don't remember much about it, how I got back inside etc. Just know that this medication has potential to be deadly. I would rather have my sinus infection.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fat | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my skin began to clear up for the first two weeks. But paired with extremely dry skin and peeling. On the second and third week I started getting heart palpitations, anxiety like symptoms and extreme nausea. I do not reccomend

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fail Whale | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took doxycycline throughout my life, several occasions for hormonal acne did not really help with acne, sometimes made it worse but it did help overall for sinus infections etc. During Covid in January, I had a double ear infection so they prescribe me doxycycline, I got a big red splotch on my buttock, and some smaller rashes on my torso. I attributed it to Covid fever. It went away after a couple of days, didn’t think anything of it. Fast forward to today, April 24, I have another ear infection, found out it was from falling asleep with my earbuds on. Stupid I know! Took a Doxy noticed a prickly sensation on my body, took a nap and woke up with a big splotchy rash all over my torso and one big welt on my buttock just like last time. The doctor is right down the street from me, he didn’t believe me! I came in and showed him, he said “wow I’ve only seen that one other time in my life.” Maybe Covid changed my body chemistry? maybe the body changes every decade? I don’t know. Wish me luck. Trying another antibiotic tomorrow, possibly a Z pack. Ridiculous. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
This is my name | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/14/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill makes me feel like absolute garbage. They say to take this pill with no dairy and on an empty stomach which isn't smart in the first place. I've been dizzy and sick for 3 days now and it hasn't happened until after I started the medication for a bacterial infection in my bladder. This is ridiculous.. ????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/4/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking doxycycline for nearly 4 weeks now. I have been prescribed this for my acne. On the first two days I felt nausea and dizziness, but I had taken them on an empty stomach. I then took them at least an hour after eating and I felt fine. I have read about depression side effects and I am already depressed and medicated so I feel like it hasn't effected my mental health. My skin glows and is mostly clear. It feels super smooth and my breakouts are becoming less and less dramatic. I have only given the effectiveness 3 stars as I haven't yet seen the full benefits.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gave me chills, bad headache, fatigue ,loss of appetite, muscle pain. Felt worse than I did before taking it. Stopped taking after 2 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maybe Lyme | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/10/2021
Condition: Lyme Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Woke up with 1 large reddish blue smooth oval on belly side with a clear center-not a classic bullseye. Following day, 3 more small reddish blue ovals appeared. I pulled 2 ticks out of my dog a week earlier, so went to Urgent Care right away. Dr said looks “highly suspicious for lyme” & gave me 14 days of this med 100 mg twice a day. I’m on day 8, and the rash is still the same. A little worried about that. I only had a slight headache before starting the med. I drink half a bottle of spring water, swallow the pill, drink other half and immediately follow it with one slice of bread. No nausea. Will be following up with Dr after medicine is finished. I don’t know how to rate effectiveness/satisfaction yet, so I rate 3. Ease of use gets a 5.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gaff | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/9/2021
Condition: A Sexually Transmitted Disease due to Chlamydia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked well. I had a severe panic attack in the car on day 2 screaming for my wife to crash a kill me. We knew it was the doxycycline so I stayed home with her.. Suicide ideation can be random while taking it.. Self talk and staying busy help a lot. I will never go back on anything in the tetracycline family again. This is the worst psychological experience with a medication I've ever had.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kimberly | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/5/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this for 2 yrs...taking it for acne cyst resistant from anything else I've tried...thie Doxycycline keeps the horrible painful cyst away as long as I don't miss a single dose. You MUST swallow this pill with food or ut will make you extremely nauseated. Other than that I have had no problems

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
raygs | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/1/2018
Condition: Lyme Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

in my experience, doxycycline was absolute hell. I had to take it for the entire month of June, two capsules in the morning and two at night, and in the very beginning I learned that the photosensitivity (increased risk of sunburn) was no joke. I am not a person who burns easily, but I put on full sunscreen and got the worst burns of my life from about 20 minutes in the sun. I ended up just avoiding sunlight for the rest of the time I was taking the doxycycline. The other main effect I felt was how easily I got sick. for me, I could only eat before taking the medicine, and if I ate soon after taking it I would throw up within 15 minutes. even one slice of apple after taking my morning dose caused me to throw up twice. some mornings I woke up feeling sick, and I learned that it's best to not eat at all on those mornings and to just wait it out until I was feeling a little better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sufferer | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

STAY AWAY FROM THIS MED LIKE FIRE, caused severe anxiety and depression, google "doxycyline depression" to see what happens to people, you have been warned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2018
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extremely dizzy all the time and constant pounding headaches. Chills are also an issue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2018
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a urinary tract infection and this is the first time I was prescribed this medication. I was very nauseas and dizzy even if taken with food. It did clear the symptoms about 2.5-3 days however I started to notice a rash all over my face and neck. I only had 2 days left so I finished the pills. However the rash got a lot worse. Itchy, red and white bumps all over my entire face. It cleared my infection but now I'm walking around with an inflamed and irritated face. Never taking this medication again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/4/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this medication for acne that develops on my skin due to allergens in that air that cause acne on my face and arms. This medication does however cause nausea so I would advise taking it with crackers or applesauce.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sneezy | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2017
Condition: Sinus Irritation and Congestion
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Constant churning in my stomach, feel like I have to throw up. After two days I stopped taking this and felt better within hours. Will never take this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kraz4k9s | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2017
Condition: Lyme Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects I noticed that my doctor failed to mention included depression. I have never been depressed until I started the medication, so I am fairly sure the meds caused my mood change. I take it with food to prevent nausea and diarrhea but still have those problems with this medication. I am also very sensitive to the sun while taking the meds...sunburn as well as a tingling sensation as soon as I go outside during the day. Not sure if the meds are at fault, but I also get cold sweats which were one of the reasons I saw my physician, so those could be from the condition, not the cure. I tested negative for lyme disease, and finish the antibiotic tomorrow. I am so glad because I think the cure is often worse than the disease. I hope the side effects are not permanent.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More