Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

11 People found this comment helpful

I had a sinus infection, I usually get one sinus infection a year now that I am getting older. This medication helps; the first couple of days were fine, around the 3rd day that I was taking this, I started getting a "metal" taste in my mouth. Tastes like I have been chewing on an aluminum can. I can't find anything to get rid of the taste; brushing, flossing & mouthwash haven't helped. I only hav...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

(taking for strep / respiratory infection)- my condition has improved for the reasons I started the drug, but the last two nights have been terrible with a really nasty taste in my mouth. I never reviewed a drug before, but I had to check this out. I'm finding a lot of people have this problem. nothing takes the taste away- I've tried everything. I've been on it for two days and hope it doesn'...

Shared reviews and ratings

mycobacterium cholonae | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/31/2014
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Mycoplasma Pneumoniae
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

backache and black diarreah

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2013
Condition: Severe Episode of Chronic Bronchitis by M. Catarrhalis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on day 5 of 10. I am really not happy. The nasty metallic taste is awful. I am still coughing and need my inhaler. I am seriously considering calling my PCP for a different medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ga.momoftwo | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2012
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus M. Catarrhalis Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking Clarithromycin for a sinus infection. I am on day 3 and have had an aweful taste in my mouth since yesterday. Also, my stomach cramps after eating and then have diarrhea. I will make sure I never take this drug again! No matter how good it works the side effects are not worth it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/5/2012
Condition: Chronic Bronchitis caused by Haemophilus Influenzae
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medications for 6 days and it has not helped my condition at all. Still have fluid on my ears and infection has dropped in my chest. The taste is aweful and it lingers with you for quite a while. It also makes you feel like you have a lump in your throat. Hasn't been effective at all, so I called and requested a change in medication today. Would not recommend this to others.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dbrstwrt | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2011
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far so good. I'm on day two. I do not have the bad taste in my mouth. My doctor did tell me to take a probiotic with it as it will cause diarrhea. I do have to say, so far the probiotic is not working. As far as the infection clearing up, I won't know till the next blood test.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seem to feel better if I could only get past the awful taste that comes with this drug. First time I ever had it prescribed...last time I will ever take it. Only on day 3...hope I can make it to day 10 before I flush them. The taste thing does seem to fade after 24 hours but them it's time to take more. :-(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pug | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for two days now. I have had stomach/intestine growling, diareahhea, and a dry mouth. It seems like a golf ball is stuck in my throat, and my ear infection is still hurting. I will repost when I am finished with the ten days of taking these horse sized pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
12/8/2010
Condition: Chronic Bronchitis caused by Haemophilus Influenzae
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Sparfloxacin, generic for Zagam, for treating bronchitis. It helped me a lot during the winter. I took 20mg dosage online at International Drug Mart.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lucia | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/13/2010
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus S. Pneumoniae Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will be taking this drug for chronic sinus infection for 10 days. It is day 3 and the reviews are true. A slight nagging metallic taste will persist. I have never had this side effect. Will attempt to take bacterial additive pills to combat any expected nausea (none now, that might come later). And yes the taste can wake you at night. Sinus infection not over yet but it's early days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FLMOM | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/10/2010
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Mycoplasma Pneumoniae
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was severely ill, in bed for 4 weeks. I labelled as pneumonia but really they didn't know what it was (viral infection with allergic bronchial spasms was official diagnosis). Terrible cough and painful breathing, but sinuses were fairly ok, all things considered. The doctors decided to treat for pneumonia, so I was prescribed this med, along with albuterol, symbicort, flonase, tussicaps, etc... I was afraid to take the antibiotics after reading these reviews but figured I was so desperate. After 4 weeks of extreme pain, the antibiotics gave relief after about 3 days, and was completely better by day 10. The metallic taste was indeed an awful side effect, but the rest (occasional stomach annoyances, at worst) were very minor for me. Bottom line, it got the job done! I would not hesitate to take it again if needed. I don't typically post but given such negative feedback on this antibiotic, I thought I would share my positive experience.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maggs | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/23/2010
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus H. Influenzae Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Everyone seems to experience an awful taste as an annoying side effect. My doctor's nurse clinician told me to eat pretzels after taking the medication. It really helpsm so I figured I'd pass it along.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gia15 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/3/2010
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel worse since starting this drug.It's makeing me sleppy and my cough is worse.Will not take it anymore after the next few doses I have left. Unhappy with the metal taste in my mouth also. My doctor called in in for me after amoxocillin did not work either.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
noel | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/25/2010
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 7 days into a 14 day run for treating pneumonia. I've had no problems- i.e- upset stomach, bad taste, etc. After about 3 to 4 days the clorored muccus disappeared from my coughing. So far, so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lmarusafamily | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/24/2010
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was costly and produced all side effects in me on day 1 of dosage. Terrible headaches, worse pain I have ever had, nausea and vomiting everything, terrible taste in mouth and painful, swollen roof of mouth and off meds two days headache gone, nausea gone, but painful roof of mouth still present. Don't take this med unless they give you nausea and headache meds along with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/2/2010
Condition: Chronic Bronchitis caused by Streptococcus Pneumoniae
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

APPLE CIDER The taste is the worst side effect but I found something that works - apple cider not juice must be cider

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
castpro | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2010
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on day three and the only side effects so far are a terrible metal taste and minor cramping. I take two 500mg ER tablets together every 24 hours...immediately following dinner, around 7 pm. Each night around midnight I wake-up with this terrible taste...I mean it is aweful. Temporary releaf comes if I eat something but the bad taste is back within the half hour. I have 11 more days of this...not looking forward to it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pcdsyr | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/20/2010
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus M. Catarrhalis Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

500 MG tablets twice a day for ten days have not relieved symptoms at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/9/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hope putting up with this awful taste is worth and I get rid of this lung infection. On it two days, abdominal cramps tonight. Will try to hang in there

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2010
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The worst thing about this medicine is the nausea that it caused immediately. If I continued to put food in my stomach it seemed to help. The metal taste came about the third day. Still having some coughing after completing the cycle of medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
teamchick | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/2/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

(taking for strep / respiratory infection)- my condition has improved for the reasons I started the drug, but the last two nights have been terrible with a really nasty taste in my mouth. I never reviewed a drug before, but I had to check this out. I'm finding a lot of people have this problem. nothing takes the taste away- I've tried everything. I've been on it for two days and hope it doesn't get any worse because it keeps me up at night - so gross.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More