Show ratings & reviews for

2.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

The inhaler container should have a counter on it. How is a patient supposed to know when he/she is not getting the correct dose becuase it is impossible to tell when the canister is empty.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I believe that this ProAir is actually causing bronchitis like conditions. I was put on Dulera and stopped using the proair. Ran out of Dulera so I had to rely on Proair only. I get this thick green/gray mucus in the morning. All this completely went away when NOT using proair. Along with the mucus I get a bad cough also. I'm not happy.

Shared reviews and ratings

J Cole | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/18/2021
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

New inhaler design is not smart at all. There’s nothing to press at all. You literally just huff it. Can’t taste it can’t tell I got a puff at all, no change at all. My worry is since there’s no button to press and I really have an asthma attack how am I going to be able to puff it hard enough to get the medicine. Very poor design do not buy the new inhaler at all and just request the old one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Flower | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2020
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not only do I have asthma, I also have RA. This makes using my hands challenging. Prior to proair I was using a generic Ventolin inhaler, which worked very well for me. This one is very difficult for me to use; I am unable to pry the lid off on my own and I cannot compress the canister because it is so small, and it doesnâ??t stop my asthma attack rendering it useless. It is also more expensive. Blue cross will no longer cover my Ventolin eventhough it worked and was less expensive. Not happy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wheezer | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/14/2019
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't generally need a rescue inhaler, but while getting over the flu, I was uncomfortable with wheezing, and the doctor prescribed the ProAir HFA. I know how to use an inhaler from previous wheezing episodes, and in stark contrast to my previous experiences with Ventolin inhalers, this inhaler is showing no signs of working. I get no relief of symptoms, and can't see any evidence medicine is being dispensed. It makes it very tempting to take repeated doses, especially when I'm so uncomfortable. Given the other reviews of this product, I'm amazed it's still on the market.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AWat | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/10/2019
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This inhaler is effective when it works. After 60 puffs it clogs and will no longer spray out. It is not very comforting having asthma and not knowing if the inhaler will work when you need it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/9/2019
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is an awful product. The propulsion system is too weak. Sometimes I don't know if I received a dose with my spacer. Can't see or feel the mist. It's like voodoo. Maybe you won't die today if the invisible medication works. Very scary but my insurance won't pay for the ventolin any longer. Try to get anything else from your Dr.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cpav1 | 19-24 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/5/2018
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would like to contact the pharmaceutical company directly, but the quality of this inhaler is terrible. It constantly clogs and you have to run it under water all the time to unclog it. The metered puffs are also inconsistent- one puff will be full and the next will be next to nothing. The albuterol does help my asthma and ease my breathing but the inconsistency and flimsiness is something for the manufacturer to be embarrassed of. I don�t think I�ve ever gotten a full 200 metered use out of it. Disappointed. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angela M | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/5/2018
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a poor product and the delivery has malfunctioned so far on three separate inhalers. I have been able to get replacements via my pharmacy but had to pay my copay again each time!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
strike250 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
4/29/2018
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband just started using inhalers and the first time used Ventolin which worked perfect. His doctor prescribed Proventil and our prescription plan gave him ProAir. The pump was faulty from the beginning. When I had asthma years ago I never experienced a faulty pump. What a waste of money. This should be taken off the market. This is a life threatening situation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/16/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not effective med for severe asthma. Very slow delivery, very short duration before par compared to other inhalers. Do not spend money on this inhaler.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sandy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/1/2017
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this since March 2017, so far I use it before I know I am going to do something that will set off my breathing, so far it has worked.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shannon Sage | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/29/2017
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the worst inhaler on the market. When you need a rescue inhaler you need one that works like Proventil. This inhaler uses a powder that makes your attack even worse. I’ve been to the emergency room twice now because of this inhaler because for some reason Walgreens won’t give me Proventil even though that’s what my doctor prescribed. STAY AWAY from this inhaler.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/15/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this product is a total waste of money. out of 200 "puffs" I probably got 40 good ones. You let them know and all they do is thank you for your feedback but does nothing to get you the puffs you lost back these inhalers are not cheap. Customer service is a joke and they tell you the inhaler has to be cleaned a certain way and then they have troubleshoot the inhaler. Really? what kind of troubleshooting can anyone do on an inhaler over the phone? The rep said they can tell OVER THE PHONE(lmao)when it's washed and cleaned by the spray if the unit is working, they can even tell you how far the spray is. At that I had to let the conversation go. I am just going to go back to Ventolin and pay for it myself. The Ventolin inhaler costs a little more and my insurance won't pay for it but they last about 4 months compared to the PROAIR that so far last maybe 2 weeks Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ASTHMA-KID | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had asthma for over 40 years. PROAIR is the worse inhaler I have ever used. They say that they stopped the others because of the HFC in the environment but I bet the persons making the decisions were not asthma sufferers. I use VENTOLIN which is much better. PROAIR is a placebo if you ask me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Raellmore | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works within seconds for me, luckily, for my asthma symptoms. Much quicker than inhalers I've used in the past.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Puff | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/12/2017
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Everyone is different and medications may not benefit some as it does others. I find it causing more complications. More Coughing and shortness of breathe without relief. Wheezing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jweld | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/9/2017
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is a piece of junk and I consider it dangerous, the generic inhaler is a 1000s better. I found out from my pharmacist that the doctors who prescribe proair got a 25.00 "thank you" from the pharma.....I think its dangerous to do this and I am going to ask my doctor next week to change it. Otherwis I will have to seek a doctor that cares that my generic drugs are free from my insurance and that adds up to 600.00 a year out of my pocket.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Miss Turk | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/25/2017
Condition: Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

went to an urgent care facility for severe cough and they gave me this. 4-5 days later i am still coughing and have the same condition. This inhaler is useless. I have had a great experience with symbicort. I should have just asked for that. The same doctor suggested my 10 year old daughter use the same inhaler because she was having difficulty breathing. it did not work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tinamcg1 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/2/2016
Condition: Bronchitis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this medication (ProAir HFA ) for my bronchitis. I developed sharp chest pains for about 3-4 days then was ok for about 2-3 days and now my rib area has been in a dull yet uncomfortable pain. Can't lay on my left side. Bumps and movement cause it to hurt. When I said I had chest pain my doctor put me in for observation of my heart. Which all came out with a good diagnosis. It states "rare but serious side effect" how come doctors don't look at any interactions and side effects with any meds your on to knock out any irregularities first then continue on with any other research of the cause of your symptoms. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maryperry1952comcast.net | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/18/2016
Condition: Emphysema
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find that three of my inhaler have clogged in the past year that I used. Thank God it didn't clogged while I was have attack.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NA | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/14/2016
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on ProAir about two yrs, they are a rip off,there are never all the doses supposed to dispense.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More