Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

I took excedrin for 30 years while I was working, and it got me through any pain I had!It worked within 10 mins, and I only needed to take one pill when ever I needed it! Why did they take it off the market?

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

i took two pills... and got soo severly sick... i started to shake.. i started to get chest pains, hhaving torouble to breathe, dizziness... i still dont feel my self and its been two days since i took it was teribble...

Shared reviews and ratings

Purpleflamingo | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/13/2019
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine gave me a seizure. Iâ??ve only ever had 1 other in my life. My head felt fuzzy, and I couldnâ??t see, and lucky my husband and mother in law caught me when I went unconscious while convulsing. Do not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KKrem18 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/21/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I get headaches, nothing else works to ease my pain and discomfort. I had surgery a month ago, and I was on Norco, which did absolutely nothing for my headache. That evening I subbed Excedrin for the headache, and it went away immediately. Aspirin, Advil, Tylenol, etc. do not help my headaches at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alohalady | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2015
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My first Excedrin Extra Stregnth for a mild headache. One and a half hrs. later extreme abdominal pain, rapid heartbeat, extreme shaking, nausea and loss of appetite nearly sending me to ER with a severe reaction Lasting 30+ hrs.. Just a warning this can and does happen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not effective | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/10/2015
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/11/2015
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female |
11/2/2014
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a 44 year- old female and occasionally get mild to moderate headaches from daily stress and some prescription meds I take daily. Motrin 200 mg, Aleve, Advil and even Motrin 600 don't work for me! All junk. Extra Strength Excedrin is a miracle wonder drug for me!! Rarely, do I even need to take two caplets and when I take one, I feel relief within 15 minutes!!! I highly recommend this drug to anyone suffering from headaches and need quick relief. If you have a sensitive stomach, please take it with food. For me, if I take 1 or 2 (whichever I need) on an empty stomach I experience mild nausea that passes quickly. Excellent medication and very fast relief!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lil | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/2/2014
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this for a rather persistent and terrible headache before classes, ended up being dizzy to the point which I could barely walk, had a burning sensation in my stomach and weak limbs, extremely fast and weak heartbeat, worse headache than before such that my vision was being affected, and a ringing in my ears. I honestly thought I was going to die it was one of the scariest experiences of my life. Entire episode probably lasted almost 5 hours and resulted in me passing out. Never taking it again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
6/19/2014
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took two extra strength Excedrin with caffeine and had severe burning in my stomach. The next day I had mild burning in my stomach,but then in the middle of the night, burning pain woke me up in my liver area. I've been dealing with this for now the third day and still don't feel normal. I do not recommend Excedrin for anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LaKis Brown | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/11/2014
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The side effects were red, itchy, swollen hands; itching than burning feeling, swollen tongue, pinkish facial color, with hives. While, at work the called a Rapid Response and landed me in the ER.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/16/2013
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Excedrin for years! Recently, I have been experiencing heartburn. I though it was some new supplements that I have been taking (Ginger). I stopped taking the Ginger, but still had the heartburn. Today, I started to get a headache, so I took 2 Excedrin as I always do. Within minutes, the heartburn returned. I did a little research on the side effects of Excedrin, and found heartburn was one of them! Another side effect is the darkening of stool, which has me a little concerned, has started lately as well. Guess I am going to stop taking Excedrin and see what happens.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
3dsmom | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/13/2013
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I first took this about 3 months ago for headaches because my boyfriend said it really works. My heart started racing, my head pounded and I was nauseous. I was so scared I had to be brought to the ER for the 1st time in my life. Thought I was having a heart attack or stroke(I am 49, don't smoke & only drink socially,was running 5 miles a day and was not on any meds). Ended up being put on bp meds. Had a headache yesterday and took it again and had another episode. Realize it has to be this drug. Will NEVER take it again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
missue | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/12/2013
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only over the counter drug that really works. As or side affects, everything might have them, but when something works this good, why try and ruin its track record. Over 35 years and I've never had a problem, except when you took them of the shelves. Everyone I know feels the same/

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/16/2012
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took excedrin for 30 years while I was working, and it got me through any pain I had!It worked within 10 mins, and I only needed to take one pill when ever I needed it! Why did they take it off the market?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EXEEDRIN EXTASTRANGTH | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/25/2012
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

well nothing is better than EXEEDRIN EXTRASTRENTG FOR MANY YEARS I BEEN TAKE THIS PILL IT'S VERY GOOD I TRAY ALL KIND AS TYLENOL AND NOTHING ONLY THIS PILL NO MATTER WHAT EXEEDRIN IS THE BEST PLEASE RETUNIG BACK TO THE FARMACY, THANK YOU FOR YOU HELP.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LOVE IT | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/18/2012
Condition: Migraine Headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Excedrin is the best headache/pain medicine in the WORLD!!! And the caffine helps wake me up for while working also.. I LOVE IT!!! There werent enough stars to rate this medicine...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/9/2012
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I sometimes get sever headaches. Execedrin is the only pain reliever that works for me 98% of the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/1/2011
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only thing that will get rid of the pain I get from a childhood whiplash. I used to spend 3-4 days in bed not moving until someone told me about this Exedrin. It completely takes the pain away and I can go to work. The bad thing is that I take it about once a week and I can get horrible lower digestive trouble with watery diarrhea. I have to be very careful what I eat for days after taking Exedrin and rice milk is the only thing that relives the problem. Taking herbs like Cats Claw and Milk thistle with it, help to taper that side effect.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Baubzrs | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/22/2011
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Excedrin for headaches, for the passed 20 years. It has now been suggested that I am having "rebound" headaches. In other words, it is the Excedrin tht is now causing my headaches. I have been trying to ween myself off of it for the last 4 days, and I have had constant headaches, but I will keep trying for another week and see what happens. Extra Strength Excedrin is the only medication that has ever relieved me of my headache pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/9/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe joint pain from an injured knee, and my other knee hurts as well from supporting the bad one.....I have been taking Excedrin Xtra strength now for about a year , whenever my knees hurt, and it absolutely is the best over the counter drug available.....it has prevented me from haveing to take prescription drug for my pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pinwheel | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2011
Condition: Head Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took two tablets of Excedrin Migraine Extra Strength at the onset of a sinus headache today. It's the only painkiller that my sister carries, and I thought 'what's the harm?' A lot, it turns out. To begin with, the pills themselves are quite large and rough and difficult to swallow. Within minutes of taking it, I had developed the worst heartburn of my life, and I never get heartburn. It made me feel extremely nauseous, which is still persisting, even though I took it several hours ago. I'm dizzy and listless and I have no energy, even though there's no reason for me to feel like this. My torso from my throat to my stomach was incredibly tight, I had trouble breathing, and I felt like my body was on fire. Not a pleasant feeling. And to top it all off, my headache still lingers! I'm 23 and the only medication I take is Seasonique birth control (which I love).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More