Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

47 People found this comment helpful

I have been able to run longer and with more ease using this medication. My concerns the soreness that I experience after running and the weight that I continue to gain. I exercise on a regular basis, eat right but since I started using this medication I can't seem to control my weight which wasn't a problem before.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

i have a problem with it becuase of one of the side effects and has made things worse for me becuase now things are even harder for me to breathe and before i lied about asthma and things are really hard to breath ounce you strat useing something you didn't need

Shared reviews and ratings

Mark Brown | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2021
Condition: Emphysema
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps with breathing an has increased my appetite, which I need.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
9/4/2020
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

From the first dose, I had severe stomach pain, vomitting, headache and nosebleed. Disturbing that no side effects listed on information sheet that comes with the drug. Very expensive drug. Going back to old meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chantilly0313 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with pneumonia and and after battling the pneumonia for about a month once I got onto the Symbicort after a week I could tell the difference in my lungs and my breathing. This drug definitely worked for me. My energy levels returned and if I didn't have to wash my mouth out every single time I used it I would have given it five stars.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nick | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/20/2020
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It made me more cough by drying out my throat. As soon I stopped using it - I stopped coughing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
disgruntled20 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/15/2020
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The dosage mechanism did not work. It was faulty, so I returned it for a refund. Considering how much it costs, it's a disgrace that they've got a faulty design. I would strongly recommend an alternative.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
10/30/2019
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/30/2019
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It does take my wheezing away, but my hair has been falling out when showering, and brushing hair. This inhaler is the only new medicine that I am taking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom T | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/16/2019
Condition: COPD with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you are a diabetic I strongly advise you not to take this drug. My blood sugars skyrocketed and I gained 19 pounds in 2 months. Since I have stopped it in just 3 days my sugars are starting to normalize and the eight is coming off. This in my opinion is a bad medication and it really does not help COPD or Asthma.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bluewater | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2019
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a bad flu that stirred up my asthma and left me with a deep cough. I was prescribed Symbicort. The first day it seemed to help. The second day I developed severe stomach cramping. The third day I became nauseous as the cramping increased. The fourth day I went into serious seizure. My husband called 911 and I was taken to the hospital where I was administered meds to break the seizures. I stopped the Symbicort and immediately the cramping and nausea stopped. I has been 7 months now and never another seizure! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mar | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/8/2018
Condition: COPD with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Symbicort for 1 1/2 years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ladyatlake | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/1/2018
Condition: Prevention of Bronchospasm with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using Symbicort stopped my severe coughing, but TOTALLY removed my olfactory senses. I am 79 and have cooked all my life. But now, I can't tell the difference in taste in ANY foods. Shrimp tastes the same as chicken, as bread, as eggs, as ice cream. HELP!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vi | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/3/2018
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I noticed hoarseness when talking. Have to clear my throat a few times before I get my voice back. Also you have to rinse your mouth with water after each use. I also tried Bevespi but it doesn't have steroids. I noticed it leaves a bad taste after each use even after rinsing my mouth.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
winemanfla | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/26/2017
Condition: COPD with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have trouble breathing when walking and had to stop to catch my breath every 15-20 steps up hill I have COPD and quit smoking and have gained weight so I want to walk to get the pounds off . Started to use symbicort and noticed the difference right away now I can walk up hill with out so many stops this works the for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
peanut1115 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/15/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works great at controlling the asthma but I have gained 6 lbs in only 8 weeks of use. As you gain weight, this can excaserbate your asthma, so this is an unacceptable side effect. I have not found any medication that works well without serious negative side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TCocolin | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It made me hallucinate. I had to stop using it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
2/2/2017
Condition: Emphysema
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kate | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/24/2017
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Intially, I gained weight and was bloated. Then, I had a unquenchable thirst and was having night sweats.I thought it was menapause, until I woke up blind. This medication caused me develop diabetes and cataracs in both eyes. I had my sugars checked before going on this medication. It was normal. After being on this medication, my fasting sugars were 600.I gained 3 dress sizes. This medication ruined my financial future. Everyone waiting for catarac surgery with me when I had my second eye done was on Symbacort.No one told me this drug could cause this much havoc to my health. The optomologist told me when I went to get a stronger set of glasses. My boyfriend and I researched the medication at that point. I went back to my physician and told him what I found. He left his practice shortly after. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jen21673 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/13/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this medication for several years. Symbicort has truly helped me to breath on a daily basis. I have only one complaint and that is that once I get down to only having 10 puffs left it no longer helps and I start to become congested. Without fail every month this happens. I don't even have to look to know that my inhaler is at or around 10 puffs left. Not sure why this is but it's frustrating because this medication is expensive even wtih Insurance..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chuck | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/23/2016
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works as advertised. Side effects experienced are, loss of voice, foot and hand cramps and hands shaking. My blood pressure has always been great, but has increased by about 40%.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
symbicort | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/23/2016
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have copd and had used symbicort for about 5 years, no problems. Never needed an emergency inhaler and generally slept through nights. Because of an insurance issue, my dr. changed my inhalers. Within 10 days, I was gasping. My dr. sent me to emergency. Spent 3 days doing tests. Put me on some different inhalers. Within 2 days of leaving the hospital, I was using my emergency inhaler, often (had never needed it previously) (I don't think it helped anyway) As a last resort (rather than emergency hospital), I decide to try some symbicort, which I had leftover. With just 2 puffs before bed, I slept over 6 hours (previously maybe 3-4.) Breathing, even into the next day was awesome (wasn't worried about when or where my next breath was coming from). I would have been back in the emergency room by now! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More