Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

Three years I had one kidney removed because of malignancy. Period CT scans afterward were clear; however, recently a new tumor was discovered, metastasized renal cell carcinoma. Started on Sutent but it had a dangerous effect on heart function. Switched to Torisel and have been on it 3 months now. Tumor has not grown and the active area has reduced slightly. Side effects are not a problem co...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

My dad just started this treatment. He has stage 4 renal cell carcinoma and has had one hell of a year. This is the third treatment, after Nexavar and Sutent. He has just had one treatment so far and is due his next one Friday, so I will post again when I know more about it.

Shared reviews and ratings

JDB | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
1/21/2014
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was diagnosed with Renal cell carcinoma with sarcomatoid featured Stage IV, on 4/22/13, after suffering a spontaneous tib/fib fracture of his right leg. Left kidney and surrounding tissues including left adrenal gland and lymph nodes and a tumor around the vena cava where removed 5/29/13. He was to start treatment with Torisel on July 8th. Sarcomatoid tumor came back in his right shin, 7/5/13 right leg was removed above the knee, treatment was delayed in order for amputation to heal and to get a prostetic leg fitted. Torisel finally started in the 2nd week of September. We've had some problems with skin rash and mouth sores, but these responded well, biggest problem was pnuemanitis at week 12, had to skip a week. Torisel shrank the 3 small nodules in my husbands left lung. Slowed the growth of a tumor on the right adrenal gland and liver, at this time we decided to surgically remove these tumors, also removed a suspisious lymph node in his right groin. At this time 1/21/14 there is no detectable cancer in my husbands body. We are to restart treatment on 2/5/14, there has been some question as to possibly change his treatment, but after reading other comments I feel we should stick with the Torisel. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
toby | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
2/15/2012
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extensive skin lesions and pruritis

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rclj1 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
3/24/2010
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

today was my wife's 14th treatment of torisel, and we are scheduled for our second ct/scan while on this drug. The first scan was promising after taking both sutent and nexavar with little positive results. Since she has been on torisel there have been Fatigue after each dose and a blood transfusing because of the effect of torisel reducing blood counts. Thankfully no mouth soars so far

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kandy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
3/16/2010
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband has received weekly 25mg IV Torisel beginning Jan 18, 2010 for his mRCC. The one obvious tumor in his neck has decreased by 1/2 the original size. Main side effects: bitter taste, no appetite, moderate itching and rash (Sinequan given), elevated blood sugar, cholesteral, triglycerides, anemia. Today he was given an injection for the anemia. Does anyone know what it may have been? It was not Procrit. History: kidney removed 2000; part of 2nd kidney removed 2002; Thyroidectomy/mRCC 2009; Sutent 50mg/20 days 2009, bad side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mamaflo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
1/18/2010
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband (now 58) was diagnoised with advanced renal cell carcinoma in sept 2003. He has had a kidney and adrenal gland removed. He was initially put on Nexavar and was on it for a little more than 2 years (lots of side effects). He has now been on weekly infusions of Torisel for 13 months. During this period he has developed mets in his liver, spine, and ribs. He had some daily radation on the spinal mets in addition to the torisel with amazing results. The mets in his rib and liver however continue to increase in size. His oncologist is optimistic though and wants to continue with the Torisel if possible. The major side effect he has experienced is swelling of his get/ankles. Keep believing this disease can be cured, there are new treatments developed annually. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cameron | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/1/2009
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my left Kidney removed last July (2008) and it was rated stage III/IV. Went on Sutent and could barely handle the side effects. A CT scan in January 09 showed RCC in the lymph nodes. A July CT scan showed the Sutent had stopped working and the spots were growing. Sutent was stopped. I started on Torisel on Sept 11th, 09. After 4 treatments, the rash/acne was so bad, (face, scalp, chest, and mouth/tongue)the fifth week was canceled to give me time to recover. Started 6th week at a slightly reduced dose and the acne came back but not in my mouth. The CT scan on October 16th showed a reduction in the lymph nodes. I have had 7 treatments so far, and I am on antibiotics to control the acne. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lafrcf | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/7/2009
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had 7 t6reatments. First CT taken within days. Have chromophobe kidney cancer, mets to bones. Sutent side effects too difficult. Dropped that dose and eventually stopped working. Switched to Torisel. Bad skin rashes are only significant side effect; rest can be tolerated. God bless all and good luck.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roberjoel | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/12/2009
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have now received 37 treatments. I haven't had any bad reactions but the taste change. Everything tastes bad! My cancer is still growing but slowly. I have renal cell carcinoma in 5 spots. I just finished radiation treatment for quality of life issues. Now I can walk again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Becca53 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
4/16/2009
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My fiance has been on Torisel 25 mg's since Jan. 11 2008, he has stage 4 mrcc, altho kidney removed in Nov. mets to both his lungs..He had 3, 25 mg's and then his borderline scans after his 3rd treatment he had 5-10% shrinkage after 3 doses.. He is due for his next catscan in 2-3 weeks and we'll see how those turn out...He has a a few problems with getting a very bad rash, but with a slight mg steriod, has only had to take a week off a month, and with the original bad rash came he had to take 3 weeks off, plus drop to 15 mg, for 2 weeks up to 20mg Monday back up to 25 mg's...I look at all the targeted drugs are hard and i'm not expecting to much shrinkage, but any shrinage is better than nothing or regrowth...So we are both very pleased with Torisel and a very understanding oncologist..It's helped up thru a very difficult time, making decision neither one of us thought we'd ever have to make....Thanks for reading...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
2/22/2009
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Torisel weekly for 9 months. Side effects: change in taste, mouth sores, weight loss. Have had two CT scans since taking Torisel. Tumors in lungs, adrenal, & remaining kidney have stopped growing.I took Nexavar and Sutent but side effects were too much, even tho the drugs were effective in shrinking tumors.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/4/2009
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have metastatic recal cell carcinoma Sutent & Nexavar did nothing. Torisel was easy use and significantly reduced my tumors after 8 treatments. Then it stopped working. Over the next few months of treatment the tumors in lungs did not change while those in my abdomen & liver increased in size.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
unlucky1 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/2/2009
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

so far so good, have metatastic renal cell tried nexavar, didnt work now on torisel for 6 months tumors are stable, no growth or new ones, i pray this keeps working. my worst side effect is being extremely tired after the pre med of benedryl.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roberjoel | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/4/2008
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ihave had 9 treatments with this drug. The only side effect that I have noticed is taste change. My last CT scan showed no change in the size of my cancer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DONALD | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/15/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAVE STAGE 4 RENAL CELL. MY KIDNEY WAS REMOVED BUT I HAVE MULTIPLE NODULES IN THE LUNGS, DUE TO RCC METASTESIZING. I HAVE BEE ON TORISEL FOR 6 WEEKS. HAVE GAINED 10 LBS! DR SAID IT MAY BE BECAUSE THE TORISEL IS WORKING. HAVE A RASH ON BACK, BUT SOMEONE SAID THAT PROBABLY MEANS THE TORISEL IS WORKING. WILL HAVE CT SCAN IN A FEW WEEKS. OVERALL,VERY SATISFIED AND PRAY THIS IS WORKING! DONALD

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/6/2008
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Three years I had one kidney removed because of malignancy. Period CT scans afterward were clear; however, recently a new tumor was discovered, metastasized renal cell carcinoma. Started on Sutent but it had a dangerous effect on heart function. Switched to Torisel and have been on it 3 months now. Tumor has not grown and the active area has reduced slightly. Side effects are not a problem considering the probable outcome if I wasn't taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mrgolfer | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/31/2007
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Torisel for two months with minimal side effects. My CT scan showed my tumors had not grown.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marimba_girl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/8/2007
Condition: Cancer Involving the Kidney Cells
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My dad just started this treatment. He has stage 4 renal cell carcinoma and has had one hell of a year. This is the third treatment, after Nexavar and Sutent. He has just had one treatment so far and is due his next one Friday, so I will post again when I know more about it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More