Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

I have now been on Xyzal or the generic for 2 years to alleviate allergy and hives. Works like a dream (still get mild heat induced hives but not as severe and short lived) and I have not experienced any negative side effects. Makes me a little drowsy but I take it before bed and am still able to get up early and go work out without any residual sleepiness.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Medication knocked me out the first night I took it. After that, it did not affect my sleep nor my allergies! Still had extremely stuffy nose and itchy eyes after 2 weeks of use.

Shared reviews and ratings

srn | 65-74 | Female | Patient
2/11/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sbs | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/11/2021
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
4o6rmp | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/12/2020
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This Anna histamine knock me out like Benadryl does so it’s worthless to take I still have watery eyes. I’ll go back to Claritin

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

prescribed for persistent cough secondary to allergy. Still coughing. Did not clear up nasal congestion. Experiencing joint pain requiring me to sit for relief

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Puffy eyes sore throat | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/5/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

1st day of taking this medicine. I took it 6 hours ago and my sore throat is much better, but both eyes are still very swollen, red and puffy, still have itchy face and itchy throat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CGWICK | 25-34 | Male | Patient
2/19/2018
Condition: Seasonal Runny Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Suffered seasonal runny nose and planned to shift hometown even. Then this medicine rescued me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/14/2017
Condition: Atopic Dermatitis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/13/2017
Condition: Hives
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works but My prescription has increased in price from from $6.24 to $145 with new insurance. Can anyone help with advice?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cjtinherm | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/12/2017
Condition: Hives
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had hives for 4 1/2 weeks after a reaction to a medication during my colonoscopy. I thought I would go crazy from the extreme itching! I tried many OTC antihistamines and prednisone with no improvement. Finally I went online and read something about Xyzal and thought "what's one more?". Worked like a charm! Finally, relief the very next day!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/22/2017
Condition: Persistent Hives of Unknown Cause
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I noticed,that I was chronically tired,joint pains were not relieved by the medications prescribed for the pain,all the above stopped,after i quit taking it.I think I will just take it prn.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kingdomsaint | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2017
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medication knocked me out the first night I took it. After that, it did not affect my sleep nor my allergies! Still had extremely stuffy nose and itchy eyes after 2 weeks of use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2017
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked great for my stuffy nose but .... I was up ALL NIGHT everytime I took it. Def did not make me sleepy .... was quite the opposite!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
laurenbs | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2016
Condition: Seasonal Runny Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Makes me sleep so hard

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/28/2016
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
boundless | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/14/2016
Condition: Non-Seasonal Allergic Runny Nose
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Completely useless. Still sneezing and runny nose after I took this. Had zero effect on me. Waste of money and time I could have spent on a drug that works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hugh | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2016
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes difficulty urinating

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fishrick | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2016
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has not touched my stuffy nose symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KW | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/19/2016
Condition: Seasonal Runny Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Because it is expensive, I only take this instead of Zyrtec when tree allergies are bad and it gives more relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2016
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken it all.. Allegra, zyrtec, and claritin. Zyrtec and Allegra work much better for me than this drug. Barely works better than taking nothing at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/5/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Allergies ,I get viral infections often and ends with body itching , usually in bedtime this med. helps me a lot,of course it makes me drowsy ,I take in the night before I go to bed , I trust this medication, it helps me a lot !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More