Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

I've been struggling with my BP for over two years. During this time period, I've tried several beta blockers and calcium channel blockers. Only Toprol XL effectively controlled my BP, however, I just couldn't deal with the side effects. Then my doctor introduced me to Bystolic (nebivolol). It has worked like a charm. It controls my BP and I no longer suffer from the side effects. I might grow a t...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Not sure if it is bothering by sinus and causing congestion

Shared reviews and ratings

Nebivolol | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/10/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking the brand Bystolic with no side effects. They changed to the generic Nebivolol and the side effects are horrible. Severe headaches, pounding heart rate dizziness to the point of fainting. I cannot take this medication. It is cheaper but not better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
evolva | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/23/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

very good for lowering my blood pressure, had to stop it because of Raynaud syndrome

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shellymk | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/27/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Starting taking Bystolic 10mg over 6 months ago. I have lowered my BP dramatically. I had little to no side effects. It really works. Amazing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bonebux | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/15/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am using it for tachycardia/palpitations. I would say that it works at least 60 percent of the time. I'm only taking 5 mg. I've had some side effects such as wierd stomach feelings and sometimes body pain or a slight fatigue. Now I've noticed some people have sleep issues on this drug. The reason I chose it is because I heard it has much less of a propensity to inhibit melatonin release than the other beta blocker drugs. I have extreme chronic insomnia and with this drug I don't notice it affecting my sleep. If anything my sleep is kind of better and I prefer taking the med at night with my sleep meds. I notice less daytime side effects this way as well. Seems best not taken near meal times. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/24/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on atenolol for 35 years, topped out and still bp problems. Nebivolol was the answer to my prayers. I don't have palpitations anymore and my bp is consistently closer to "normal". I feel so much better and I can't tell you what side effects I am experiencing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nebivolol oral | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/2/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

blood pressure stabilised but blood test showed liver enzymes went up. wonder if I should continue with this

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
10/20/2013
Condition: Angina
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2013
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tightness of chest, difficulty in breathing , dizzyness, feeling weak

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
3atlast | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/10/2011
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just can't believe this drug is too good to be true. I have suffered with hbp for years. Tried various drug combinations. Micardis was making me feel like a zombie. Thank God got of of Micardis and was using norvasc and hztc. Suffered with angina symptoms and bp in mid 130's/80's. Not bad for my age but angina a problem! Cardiologist put me on this drug. Instant effects dropped first day to 116/67. Amazing had to monitor bp did not drop to low. If so cardio said to cut in half from 10mg to 5mg. Now trying without Norvasc 120/67...unbelievable!!! So far no side effects other than sleeping and increased water intake. Nothing to worry about if this works I will be a very happy man. Will keep you posted.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/16/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was on tazloc -am before but my htn was not controlled by taking this its under control

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/2/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ContractorA | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
5/17/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband has been on this medication for almost 2 year. after losing some pounds and exercising the doctor reduced his dosage to half a pill per day. He has never felt better and has no reactions at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bodaware | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2010
Condition: Myocardial Reinfarction Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this for 5 days and still having palpations or fluttering in my heart and for the last 2 nights I cannot sleep. It is like I am speeding inside. I do not like the way I feel. I was trying to give it some time to see if it gets better but I can't handle many more days of this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gwn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/10/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am having problems sleeping at night with this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gertees | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/1/2010
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having problems with a different BP med, my primary physician switched me to Bystolic. It immediately changed the way I felt. From tired and almost depressed I began to "feel normal". It is combined with the use of Norvasc which seems to be doing the job.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
6/7/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

sometimes it works on a particular day. mean to say some day my BP is under control and on a particular day its not??????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ere | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/16/2009
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

fine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
12/6/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bystolic has worked great.Not only brought BP down but also stopped palpatations and increased my endurance. No side effects.I've been a Paramedic for 23 years and really like this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jim | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not sure if it is bothering by sinus and causing congestion

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CT | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/7/2008
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had a difficult time with controlling high blood pressure in the past. This drug has worked quite well for me so far. My BP has decreassed from 140's to low teens.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More