Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

This is an update to my previous post. I have mixed feelings about this drug. I was able to notice solid results very quickly. The side effects were acceptable at first. Then I started waking up at 2 or 3 AM and could never get a complete night of sleep. I stopped taking it for a week or so and discussed it with my doctor. She was willing to offer another drug to try or gave me the option ...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I took 2 doses of this drug (Luvox CR 100mg) and I almost died. My blood pressure dropped enough to cause black-outs and my heart rate dropped to around 40. I called 911 and had to be given fluids through IV until the drug left my system. Now, a week later, my mouth is still incredibly dry and my taste is not right. My tongue has felt scalded as well. I trusted my doctor that had been treating me ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/13/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication seriously saved my life!! Thank god my Dr. found the right fit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Raf | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/2/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very bad headache

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
groovygirl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/30/2021
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve had OCD since I was quite young (first symptoms around 8) but went undiagnosed/treated until I was 18. I had horrible panic attacks daily and had gotten to a point I wasn’t able to eat anything outside of a specific list of “safe foods” and only going to certain places out of fear of divination causing more panic attacks. I originally tried Zoloft, and then when that failed to help, Fluvoxitine. A little better. My psychiatrist had me try Luvox (generic) starting at 100mg then upping to 100mg twice a day. SUCH A MASSIVE difference. My OCD is practically non existent and no more panic attacks. I however have noticed since gaining weight during the pandemic/perhaps due to the stress the past 1.5 years that my OCD is a little more peaked. My DR is upping to 300mg to see if that alleviates. (None of my tabs are extended release, also therapy has helped with coping skills) I have an overall very positive review for this drug. I will note that the withdrawal for this if you miss a dose or doses is excruciating. I also notice my sleep patterns are a little off at times. But over all, this medication has helped to get me back to normal and has given me my independence back since beginning taking it 8 years ago.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dmakower | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/11/2014
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Luvox CR for 10 years. I was taking 150 mg. twice a day. I decided to try natural supplements and in 3 months I couldn't handle the obsessive thoughts at all. Slowly went up to the 300mg. a day and that didn't work. I had to go up to 400 mg. for 10 months, and am working down toward 300 mg. a day again. It works fantastic for OCD thoughts, but am tired all the time. That is my biggest problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tammyhud | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/27/2014
Condition: Extreme Apprehension or Fear of Social Interaction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has been a life saver for me. The Luvox worked ok but the Luvox CR made a dramatic difference to function. Decreased my Panic attacks and severe depression. Both now generic, although your pharmacist may not realizes it. Insurance cost $12/month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
April | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
1/21/2014
Condition: Extreme Apprehension or Fear of Social Interaction
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

up till now it was workin, now it doesnt

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sp143 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/25/2013
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have ocd & sad ; on luvox cr for 3 years and it has saved my life. i take it in the am which i find to be 3 or 4 times more effective than pm dose. the new generic from par pharma is at less effective (imo) - recommend jazz pharma only. do not expect to change from jazz to par without consequences.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/21/2013
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Completely annihilated my obsessive thoughts and compulsive behavior within a week. It also dissolved my social anxiety to the point that I can enjoy myself in social situations, something I would never have believed possible. Initial few weeks of drowsiness actually proved beneficial, as it combatted my anxiety-inspired insomnia. I'm extremely grateful to have encountered this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chattyg60 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/16/2013
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps my OCD greatly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/14/2013
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on 200mg of Luvox CR for about four years. I suffer from OCD but mostly just obbsesive thoughts. Most days I'm really good and can shut down the thoughts, some days are still tough but the good days far out number the bad days. I really don't suffer from any side effects. The beginnig was the usual, drowsiness,lack of energy but that was gone after a few weeks. This medication has done wonders for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tasman | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/3/2013
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 100mg twice a day for 17, start 1996 years. Don't really notice any side effects. However it really reduced my racing thoughts my anxiety and overall calmer mood. DR. took me off it cold turkey in 2006 4 weeks later I had 3 grand maul seizures. Dr put me back on and the Luvox starting working in about 6 weeks. In 2012 Dr reduced from 100 mg twice a day to 50 mg twice a day 6 weeks later had another grand maul seizure. Dr raise the dose back to 100 mg twice a day and have not had any seizures since. Also we have no history of seizures in the previous three generations of both sides of our family's and three generations beneath me no one has ever had a recorded seizure. I never had any seizure's except when the DR took me off cold turkey and then even tried cutting half over a 4 month period. So if you take this medication and then stop, I would be very cautious, especially the longer you have taken it signed, addicted to LuvoxRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jwhitney73 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2012
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dryheat42 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/11/2012
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ryan | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/19/2011
Condition: Extreme Apprehension or Fear of Social Interaction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this medication for ocd, i started at 100mg and went all the way to 300 mg, little did i know this drug also treats social anxiety which i struggle with and id say about 8 weeks into the medication i was about 90% over my social anxiety and the ocd diminished, i then felt no reason to continue to take it feeling as if i had no social anxiety and as soon as i stopped about a week into it my anxiety returned i began to feel bashful and shamed and shy once again, but definetly not as bad as before the medication, so i think over time of taking it and getting rid of the scrutiny with social anxiety you can be medicaiton free but id say after a year of using the drug i will go back on luvox cr soonRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/2/2011
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | Patient
8/31/2011
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 150mg of Luvox, i'm 18 years old and a girl. I almost immediately got results and after about one and a half-two months I have felt better than I have ever felt before! I love this medicine(:

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cinnamon37617 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/7/2011
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Luvox CR 100mg for two weeks now. While my depression & mood swings have improved, I can't get enough sleep. I am extremely sleepy ALL the time. Other than that, I am satisfied with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ElizabethC | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/25/2011
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this drug for being overly worried and the stress from having a bi-polar son. It was becoming overwhelming for me to deal with. It has really helped with my worry and depression. At first I didn't read to take at night and felt really tired during the day. Started taking at night and I'm not tired during the day anymore. I'm not as wound up which in some ways I miss but it's better than being worried all the time. I take 150 mg. I also take Ambien to help me sleep but was doing that before taking this med. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pepe | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/7/2011
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

made me paranoid and very fearful

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
: ( | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/25/2011
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for six weeks now. I have had severe abdominal pain at times, gas, diarrhea and no sex drive what so ever. It has made me feel confused and I have no motivation to do anything. I feel like I don't care about anything. I have no energy and I am very snappy with my family and friends. This medication has made me numb emotionally and mentally. I take the medication as well as weekly Cognitive behavioral therapy sessions and have had no improvement. Back to the drawing board, I guess :( Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More