Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

24 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking it for 10 years and I am very happy with the medication. It keeps my colon calm and I don't have to urinate as often since I have been taking this medication. I was given this when I had ulcerative colitis.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

taking homax as directed has not done anything to lessen the pain at times even causing cramping that did not have before the med.

Shared reviews and ratings

MICHAELHAMM661 | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2017
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I TOOK IT

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Woodljn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/16/2014
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this only as needed (when the cramps begin). Usually 2 tablets under the tounge will do the trick in about 5 minutes. Since my condition is not cronic and only flairs up a few times a year the doc recommended that I take them only when the symptoms start. What a significant improvement!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/12/2012
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very effective as it works very fast. Usually take two a day as Dr prescribed..but Increase to maximum of 4 when have an episode

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
baresid56 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/11/2012
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

IT helped to reduce the number of trips I hade to make to the bathroom. However, it may cause some constipation, because everything stops, the spasmodic action, that is.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/11/2012
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been a miracle drug for me. For many years I have truly suffered withIBS and didn't know what it was. Finally after seeing the correct physician the diagnosis was made. Along with that came the appropriate treatment. Nyo works for me and relieves untollerable pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
baresident | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/26/2012
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bladder problems were controlled with the use of this drug, but it did cause constipation, confusion, gas, as well as, dry mouth. I have sarcoidosis that produces excess vitamin D that creates stones from my calcium nutrients on a regular basis for the last year. It reduced the spasms and urgency to urinate, too. I did not like the confusion it creates in your state of mind.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lori | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/5/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered from IBS for most of my life. At age 40 I went into ulcerative colitis. This drug has saved me from so much suffering. It does not stop the whole process, but it eases the pain and allows me to travel and work again. I only take it when I have a severe "attack" and the cramping is severe. It has not solved all the problems, but makes the acute attacks bearable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jaack65 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/23/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have esophageal spasms. Food & water wont go down the esophagus and the PAIN is 8/10. Sublingual tabs usually work within 5-10 minutes, pain subsides and I get water & food down. These spasms happens even when I am not eating or drinking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gaudelina | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/5/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have IBS and GERD. I also experience spasms that may ornot be related to my G>I problems and that is the spasms are like a huge hickup or tic that is continuous and dose not let me sleep. Doses anyone else has had this problem???? I am desperate to fing the cause. My doctors are also frustrated.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
forgetmenot | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/13/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Treatment Gastrointestinal Pyloric Spasm, Does though slow down Peristalsis hich can cause problems in others areas*

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
silvab1 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2011
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/11/2011
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have IBS-D, and this medication has helped. However, I still need to take Imodium during severe bouts of diarrhea. As I type this I am very ill with IBS symptoms, and some of the other comments lets me know that I'm not alone with this problem. Thank you for taking time to respond.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/30/2011
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only medicine after 10 years of dealing with chronic diarrhea and horrible cramps that has worked at all. The only drawback to the hyomax is that after awhile it makes me constipated so then I just don't take it as much till the diarrhea comes back. Beyond that I am 100% satisfied!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/30/2011
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helps my IBS at times, but I do have side effects--increased irritability and sinus pressure/headache.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
old man | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/16/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use to pass very stinky gas all the time running family out of the house. Now with taking this drug, my family can live in the house with me. Problems arise this year tho as the prescription went from $6.00 a month to $137.00 a month due to new Health Care rules. Now I am having a very hard time coming up with the money as I am 87 yrs old and have very little income. Do I give up eating or buying this important drug?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
salpringles | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/27/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm taking hyomax for spasm of the colon and pain under rt rib cage. this medicine stop the excerating pain that i lived with almost dailey.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/30/2010
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
condeos | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/11/2010
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I really don't understand what it's supposed to do. My mouth gets so dry I can't swallow. Does it cause constipation? I don't know if it's helping me or not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/2/2010
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sweetie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/28/2010
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after having gallbladder removed ive experienced severe spams this seems to help in curbing the horrible pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More