Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

1 People found this comment helpful

Take your prenatal at night, shortly before bed. Less likely to upset your stomach- won't contribute to morning sickness.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I started this medicine quite recently, and right after I drank the called-for 8 ounces of water, I drank a very fruity slushy. The entire day, I didn't experience any kind of fish oil disgusting tasting burps, but let's all remember: burps aren't supposed to taste good anyway. And for those who got sick, did yours say "May be taken with a small snack if stomach upsets" because mine did, and I did...

Shared reviews and ratings

leanne | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/8/2010
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I still can't believe how ANNOYING this product is to take. My doctor prescribed it to me during my pregnancy and it has been nothing but an inconvenience. You aren't supposed to take it with food, so it made my stomach super upset. You can't take it with dairy, you have to take it around the same time every day, etc. I feel like my days revolve around my stupid prenatal vitamins. I want a vitamin I can take with food without reducing its effectiveness. I understand you can't take iron with calcium because calcium cancels it out, so WHY is there calcium and iron in the same pill then??? It doesn't make any sense to me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TD | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/28/2010
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Besides the bulky size of these pills, I have no problem with this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
8/16/2010
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like others, I've taken this vitamin at night but experience different/unusual symptoms. For me, it causes what seems like restless leg symdrome in addition to mild indigestion. It drives me crazy when I try to go to sleep!! When I take a somewhat comparable OTC prenatal vitamin, I'm fine. Perhaps I'm having a mild allergic reaction to this brand?? PruEt has changed it's brand name by the way to PR Natal (FYI).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lolfuture | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/5/2009
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like other reviewers have reported, this vitamin either makes me burp unnecessarily, or, twice now, has made me puke. The puking is 100% a result of the vitamin as it happens about 10 minutes after taking it. Other than when taking this vitamin, I have not puked at all during pregnancy. It makes no difference if you eat food with this -- same bad result.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/22/2009
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was awful!!! I took it everynight before bed because it was supposed to keep your stomach from getting upset. My stomach was upset and oh my the fishy taste you get when it starts to break down. I have almost thrown up because of it. I am requesting a new medication from my doctor ASAP.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lex&BrandonMommy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/7/2009
Condition: A Mother who is Producing Milk and Breastfeeding
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking PruEt while pregnant with my son (now 3months). I had no problems with swallowing the pills, no problems with nausea or any "fish-like" after taste burps. I don't have any suggestions for those who did experience those negative symptoms other than to have your Dr. prescribe another type of prenatal vitamin. I have no complaints.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/15/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor put me on a prenatal for the combo of nutrients based on my condition and I went with the generic to save $$. I havent had any issues with it. I take it a few hours after dinner and about 30 minutes before bed. If I take it too early before bed Ill notice a slight upset stomach, so Im thinking I wouldnt be happy taking it during the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
consumerofpills | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2009
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The problem with this generic is the DHA pills are huge and dissolve in a way that they come back on you in the form of nasty little fishy tasting burps (okay, I guess technically they burps are algae tasting because that is where DHA is derived from). For me, a person who hates the taste of seafood, I feel like I want to gag when the burps (which are frequent) emerge. The only thing I've found that helps to diminish the burping is to eat a banana at the same time you take the pills, but they still don't totally go away. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melissa | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2009
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking DuetDHA, which I was very satisfied with--no nausea whatsoever. But then the pharmacy gave me PruetDHA--supposedly the generic, and it was terrible. I felt nauseous every time I took it, and the fish oil seems to seep out of the capsules, leaving a terrible taste in my mouth and making the pills practically impossible to choke down without gagging. Now I am back on DuetDHA and the nausea is gone. These two vitamins are not the same--perhaps they contain the same ingredients, but the way they are formulated clearly differs. The DuetDHA is far superior.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/18/2009
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take your prenatal at night, shortly before bed. Less likely to upset your stomach- won't contribute to morning sickness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/20/2009
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
soundofyourheartbeat | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/18/2009
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medicine quite recently, and right after I drank the called-for 8 ounces of water, I drank a very fruity slushy. The entire day, I didn't experience any kind of fish oil disgusting tasting burps, but let's all remember: burps aren't supposed to taste good anyway. And for those who got sick, did yours say "May be taken with a small snack if stomach upsets" because mine did, and I didn't get sick either...Read all of the instructions!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
firsttimemom | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/18/2009
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt sick after taking this vitamin everytime. And oh the fist taste after(when you burp) is disgusting!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2009
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got very sick while taking this vitamin. I followed the instructions to the T and still found myself barely able to move because I thought I'd be sick.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
arinkat | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't experienced the fish oil tasting burps, but I find the restrictions of when to take this drug difficult. I have to take it first thing in the morning, and then wait two hours to eat/drink anything with caffeine or dairy. It has made my breakfasts quite interesting. Making this drug more user friendly would be my only suggestion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
3/23/2009
Condition: Pregnancy
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I, too, have tasted fish oil after a burp and have had upset stomach/diarrhea occasionally. I like the multi-vitamin and fish oil/Omega-3 component.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ownflavor | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/11/2009
Condition: A Mother who is Producing Milk and Breastfeeding
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only thing I have an issue with is that whenever I take this vitamin, I burp and can taste the fish oil. It is disgusting.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More