Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

As a further to my previous review:(have been taking Apriso for about six months and have not had any flareups. I was taking Entocort but my doctor had me switch to Apriso and am very satisfied. Apriso while expensive is about one third the price of Entocort. I read it is for use for up to 6 months but now I see many people have been taking it for much longer. On May 27, 2011, after taking Apri...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

bouts of diarea and fatigue

Shared reviews and ratings

Toyotaroadrunner | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2019
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this expensive $$$.$$ for a week and nothing yet. Still have symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rebecca | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/7/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med has made diarrhea worse gave it one month told doctor so he added another with called budesonide total diarrhea every half hour. I stopped today everything, trying crackers pedilight & anti-diarrhea, my fingers are crossed. I gave one piece of toast...I'm praying, if not we are going to ER

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
centaurojz | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/24/2018
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using this drug for the past 6-7 years, only one flare up because I decided to reduce the dosage, down side?....$372 per month, with insurance (high deductible) with the $100 coupon from manufacturer discounted.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
oiLcri4 | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/18/2018
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

effective without side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Suzy | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/10/2017
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on Apriso for 1-1/2 years. First 6 months 4 a day, then the past year 2 a day for maintenance as symptoms are gone. Had a follow-up colonoscopy last month and results show no evidence of colitis!!! First clean colonoscopy since I was diagnosed over 20 years ago! No adverse reaction to this drug. Would highly recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John91 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2016
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this about a month ago. Most symptoms of Colitis are gone. No more mad rushes to the bathroom in the morning. Almost feel normal again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2016
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works, I'm in remission. I'm just confused as to why I have to swallow 4 horse pills that are half empty, a smaller capsule would help with swallowing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gplan9696aol.com | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/1/2016
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would like to know,if anybody stopped using Apriso,does your hair grow back?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LJam | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/29/2016
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Apriso a month ago. I was on Asacol for 4 years (the length of my diagnosis), but my insurance stopped covering it. I was nervous about switching, but so far so good on Apriso. I have experienced diahrea and a rash, but both were mild and didn't last long. I also take Humira. Looking forward to possibly going into remission.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
patcwin | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/23/2015
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

been in remission for 5 years only 1 flare up and that was shortly after I started Apriso. Since been fine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dchad0178 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/5/2015
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on apriso for 5 years or so. It has kept my uc under control. One flare up in 5 years. Take med. in morning after breakfast. Cause upset if taken without food. Down side is cost $198 a month even with my insurance.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fat Albert | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/6/2015
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with UC over 20 years ago. Had been taking Asacol until 2 months ago (my insurance quit paying for it). I am doing fine on the Apriso but it is way to expensive. With insurance I still had to pay $110 for a months supply. I am working with my Dr to change what I am taking,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Selene | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed in July with UC After 20 days on Apriso, had flu like myalgia, arthralgis and significant fatigue. Now, after being off the med for 19 days, I still have the same symptoms and am feeling much worse. Shouldn't this go away after almost 3 weeks of not taking the med?? I felt so bad, I went to the ER with negative results for any other problem

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GailJ | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took apriso for 3 months with good results, my intestinal ulcers' pain quit. Then I deveoloped intolerance to apriso, with abdominal pain, fatigue, and depression. I cut back to 1 a day with a meal in the evening and still have stomach pain during the night and day. I think I will stop taking it. I also take Budesonide.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/26/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 28 and was diagnosed with UC 6 months ago. I started on Apriso immediately. I misread the dosage and have been taking 1 pill in the am instead 4. My symptoms have gone away except for a couple of instances within 6 months. My gastroenterologist was pleasantly surprised at my success on such low dosage . Only side effect for me is slight nausea througout the day if I dont eat small meals throughout. Also, as advised do not stay in direct sunlight for long periods of time or you will develop a Migraine like no other. High sun sensitivity.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried 3 doses as samples to replace Pentasa (which gave me headaches) and they were ok. But the day after I paid $60 for a prescription of Apriso (no coupons available) I started a "acute intolerance syndrome" - cramping, headache, stomach pain and bloody diarrhea. Stopped the Apriso and all symptoms stopped except the blood. That took 6 weeks on prednisone to stop completely. I'm glad it works for some folks, but for me it was intolerable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/10/2014
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication sent me backwards after doing great for a month on Entocort. My spasms & pain were back & Dr. said to quit it. I only took it for a month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cenla | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/31/2014
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Apriso several years ago (4 or 5?). I have had a couple minor flare-ups, all when I waited too long to visit the doctor after a prescription ran out. Once I got a new prescription and started taking it again - all better! Overall I would say this has made a GREAT improvement in my life. I take 4 pills in the AM, which is so much easier than having to take Asacol all day long.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stewtoo | 75 or over | Male | Patient
5/18/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Apriso 8X 325mg ea. once a day for six months. I seemed to be no different at the end than I was at the beginning. I stopped it at this point.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/27/2014
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Apriso for 8 months. The only issue I am having is joint pain. Usually in the morning after being in bed all night. Hips and shoulder blades are very sore. No hair loss. Other symptoms are gone. It's wonderful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More