Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

24 People found this comment helpful

no seminal fluid after 3 does. no one told me that was aside effect can't find any info will ask for a different drug if possible but it does imnprove unrine flow and sleeping through the night

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I had improved flow for a few weeks ,dry orgasms and eventually no orgasm,no morning erection and severe constipation.switched to flomax so far acomplete turnaround

Shared reviews and ratings

JEH | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/5/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has done nothing for the urination problem. I still pee 4 to 6 times a night. I dream and wake up and have to go. I have been taking this medicine for two months and I am considering dropping it. I also take one sildenafil pill per day. I think that works better by itself. I just can't see where it has helped. It has caused my prostrate readings to jump up by 2.0 points. Now I am probably going to have a biopsy done. These doctors give you one thing, and it causes a problem with another. I think you are better off not taking anything. My Dad died at 87, and they told him he would have to take blood pressure medicine when he was 70 years old. He put it in the drawer. He never took any of it and ate whatever he wanted. I think he was smart.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MikeG | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/4/2020
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking silodosin 8 mg (4 mg at a time) to help with frequent bathroom trips at night, from 3 or 4 trips down to 1 or none. Much better than Flomax, no headaches, no stuffy nose and works better. Only "problem" is lose of ejaculation, which really isn't a problem - Orgasm hasn't been affected and no mess is nice! For sale in Canada much cheaper than Rapaflo which is very high priced in the US.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ranger a k Singh | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2019
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was suffering from frequent urination, low flow, and unable to control on urination, several times urination during Night time. The doctor provides me, 0.4 my tamsulosin tablets. But side effects were very high like low bp etc. After 35 days, the doctor has changed medicine by 0.8 mg silodosin capsule, urine flow become normal by the first dose itself, no low blood pressure, almost control in frequent urination problem. The side effects are only regarding sex, no erection etc, during treatment, don't do sex or think about sex. Then you can enjoy a normal life, despite enlarged prostate. I am having age about 58 years. I am fully satisfied with this drug. A k Singh, bidhuna, upRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
theraindew | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2019
Condition: Stones in the Urinary Tract
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given this after removing kidney stones. While it did ease urine flow, it caused severe headache and diarrhoea. No such issues after stopping this tablet per doctors advice.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | Patient
4/30/2019
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It didn't do anything for my BPH symptoms; all it did was make me dizzy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Richard7 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/19/2019
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Effective, but caused me to faint ( not dizzy, but suddenly fainted a fell). I broke C1 vertebrae. I am very lucky I did not finish up in a wheel chair or even die my doctor says. Would not recommend this drug. Even though few have his side effect the risk is too much.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pondapatale | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/2/2017
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had continuous chronic diarrhoea. I have now isolated this drug as the cause. Reason was that I did not "take with food". Even with food I get occasional cramps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donald | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/15/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This caused serious dizziness and some shortness of breath. I ended up in the ER before we finally figured out it was rapaflo causing the problem. From what I umderstand I am one of the few that have had these problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DAVNEL | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/9/2013
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I BELIEVE THIS MED CAUSES MY HEART TO BEAT EXCEPTIONALY HARD..NOT RAPID..JUST A HARD PUMP THAT I CAN FEEL BEATING IN MY CHEST. I BELIEVE IT WEAKENS THE HEART MUSCLE AND MAKES THE HEART WORK HARDER..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy so far | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/6/2012
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had improved flow for a few weeks ,dry orgasms and eventually no orgasm,no morning erection and severe constipation.switched to flomax so far acomplete turnaround

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
av | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/29/2012
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no seminal fluid after 3 does. no one told me that was aside effect can't find any info will ask for a different drug if possible but it does imnprove unrine flow and sleeping through the night

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/28/2012
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great to improve urine flow. My side effects are retrograde ejaculation which I got used too after six months, and cognitive impairment or slowness which prevents sustained concentration and focus. Not used to that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
buckmerg | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2011
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given by my urologist to try out. Worked within 24 hrs and was able to have a better urine flow. Stopped taking until my regular doctor can verify it is ok to take while on verapamil. Only side effect was lack of seminal fluid during ejaculation. Was told this is normal due to reducing the prostate size. Does not affect functionally of sex drive but will hinder pleasure for those who like seminal fluid as part of their pleasure. Will make for conception impossible. Some minor dizziness is to be expected, but will subside. Best to consult your doctor before making it part of your regiment. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/14/2010
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took one 8mg pill and couldn't ejaculate. I have pain in my groin now. Where did the sperm go? Scary! Needless to say I won't be taking any more. On a scale from one to ten my prostate is at a five. I'll take my chances. I'm 55 years old. No cancer was found. No more urologist for a while.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More