Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

This drug works wonderfully and the difference it made in OAB was exceptional. The worst thing, which has become a huge problem for me, is that one of the side effects is "dry mouth" and it gets worse with time. It gets so bad that you eventually have NO saliva. This is the only side effect that I had but one that I just can't tolerate anymore. I never realized how important saliva is until y...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

once a day use and applied to stomach. No taking a pill

Shared reviews and ratings

Disappointed | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/5/2016
Condition: A Condition of Bladder Dysfunction from Nerve Disorder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The 3% pump gel worked great. Used it for 4 years. Was discontinued so forced to use the 10% packets. Horrible. Does not absorb and does not work. Have only been on them for a week so hoping it will improve. Also Medicare does not cover so out of pocket expense is too great for such an ineffective product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bluewagon | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/14/2016
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug helped me incredibly. It was used on my skin so I didn't need to take another oral med as I am already on so many. The only side effect I had while getting used to the drug was dry mouth. This drug changed my life. I have used it for the last 5 years (I believe) and it has been a lifesaver, not having to urinate every hour, urine leakage, etc. I am writing about it now because I was forced to check the internet for other drugs for overactive bladder as my insurance company has dropped this amazing drug from coverage. I received a letter in December saying the drug had no efficacy. The med is about $300 a month. I am on social security disability and have yet to strike it rich in the stock market ... so I am seeing my doctor for other options. Pretty soon the insurance companies will have us digging up roots from the woods in hopes of helping our medical conditions ... ugh. Well gonna go read some reviews on other meds. But Gelnique was amazing and changed my life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
patticake | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2015
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only partially worked for me. Messy to apply. I hated it. I would take Oxybutin pills before I'd try this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MagMar7 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/15/2014
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Gelnique for over 2 mos now and although it helped a little bit, my Dr. added Sanctura. I'm now back to feeling like I'm not using anything at all. After trying everything else, my only option now is the implant, Botox, or acuipuncture and I'm only 49 yrs old.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PATSY | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/20/2014
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BUT, CAN'T AFFORD

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
laurie2860 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/27/2014
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gelnique topical worked the best for me of ALL the OAB medications (RX and OTC). I suffered with extreme dry mouth and had to purchase Biotene products to counteract it. On occasion, unable to fall asleep at bedtime. Due to being a newer drug, my out of pocket cost was $100/month. Being on Medicare and a fixed income, I had to stop taking it as couldn't afford it. Looking into injections for OAB. Doctor researching my options at the moment. Overall, a great OAB medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nightlady | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/7/2013
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Satisfied...but...greatly contributes to my chronic dry eye. I currently use the 10% packets. I am going to try the 3% to see whether I still have effectiveness, but less drying. Great med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
barbella | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/27/2012
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love the effects of this drug/delivery system, but develop a rash on all of the treatment areas, despite the fact that I rotate them daily to try and lessen the effect. The rash is small itchy bumps. Insurance doesn't cover the $200/mo cost, so I can't use it every month. Didn't realize oxybutnin was available in an oral med, may ask my pharmacist about that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TM2178 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/18/2012
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

at first, I really felt this was my savior. It cut down my urgency and frequency especially at night. I rubbed it on a couple hours before bedtime so I could have good night's sleep. However, the more I use it, it has grown less effective.The doctor switched me to Enablex. Every medicine I have tried I hope that will help only to be discouraged over and over again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
5/16/2012
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seven years ago I used this med for 16 months and it worked perfectly no noticable side effects. Restarted about 2 months ago, and again it corrected my symptoms but I became increasingly dizzy, nauseous to the point of not being able to function. I could not walk straight,could not get out of bed w/o support and driving was out of the question. All I wanted to do was sleep. Stopped using 10 days ago and I am now functioning normal again. Will have to try another method for bladder control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary Lou | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/5/2012
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Though Gelnique undoubtedly worked for me, cutting way down on frequency and allowing me to sleep for the first time, Medicare does not pay for it, and it is quite expensive at $200 per month. My pharmacist told me that the generic Oxybutynin, which costs about $10 per month, is exactly the same drug and would do exactly the same thing, so I switched to Oxybutynin and found it even more effective, Probably because it comes in pill form rather than the liquid which in part evaporates and in part gets washed away on your hands. Both forms do cause dry mouth, which seems to be something you have to put up with in order to treat an overactive bladder. I've tried six different drugs and this (Oxybutinin) is the most effective.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/6/2011
Condition: Urine Leakage When there is a Strong Desire to Void
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rajagurl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/3/2011
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gelnique made my bladder feel funny. It did decrease the amount of times I had to go. I might try it again and see what happens this time. Messy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicholas | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/17/2011
Condition: Urine Leakage When there is a Strong Desire to Void
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dry mouth and headaches. Also I am experiencing blurred vision. I have been on the gel for about 3 weeks almost and find that its effectiveness is not as good as when I first started using it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dotjrn | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/15/2011
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

tried but constpation caused more problem and had to stop

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/4/2011
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dizziness, drowsiness, some constipation (though use Muralax, fiber and drink water,eat fruit), legs weak.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
redshayred | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2011
Condition: Urine Leakage When there is a Strong Desire to Void
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

dry mouth is a very large problem............hope i can overcome this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lowellin | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/31/2011
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/23/2011
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug works wonderfully and the difference it made in OAB was exceptional. The worst thing, which has become a huge problem for me, is that one of the side effects is "dry mouth" and it gets worse with time. It gets so bad that you eventually have NO saliva. This is the only side effect that I had but one that I just can't tolerate anymore. I never realized how important saliva is until you don't produce it! I am heading back to the Doctor to explore other options! :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/8/2011
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this medication for 2 months. Started taking medication daily but found most effective and comfortable taking only once every 3 days. Allieviated 90% of my symptoms after 1 month of use!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More