Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

43 People found this comment helpful

Was sick for five days. High fever, infected sinuses, clogged ears, sore throat, wheezing. It was bad. I finally broke down and went to the doctor during my lunch break. He gave me a Z-Pack and within two hours of taking the first dose, I started to improve. It's now day three and I am nearly cured, just a little left-over congestion and a light cough.

Most voted negative review

17 People found this comment helpful

Azithromycin 250mg. was given to me for Acute Bronchitis along with Prednisone. The 1st round of medicine was in early Oct. 2012. After taking the antibiotic for 2 days I got painful sores inside my mouth, on lips, cheeks and tongue. It did not cure the Bronchitis so 3 weeks later my Dr. put me on it again. The same thing happened with the sores in my mouth so I am sure it is the Azithromycin 250m...

Shared reviews and ratings

Saturday | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/26/2021
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Legionella Pneumophila Bacteria
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

AWFUL!!! My doctor has prescribed 3 days pack azythromicin for pneumonia with green sputum and severe throat pain. Took it the first day and the sideeffects didn't appear at once. After some time I had skin itching, stomach pain/cramps, pins and needles in feet, heart rhythm changes, insomnia, nervousness. I woke up in each mornings as if I have been a heavy drinking those 3 days. In the 4 day the sideffects such as pins and needles and stomachache started to subside a little bit but heart arrhythmia and excess sweating continued. On the day 3-4 it cleared the green sputum but woke up with sore throat and fever and diarrhea. I will never use it again! It's toxic! I strongly recommend to find alternatives before taking azythromicin!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tmart | 19-24 | Male | Patient
5/27/2021
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with strep throat. The infection went away on day three, but came back as soon as I took my last dose. The infection has actually moved to the other side of my mouth and gotten worse. I was given a second prescription. However, on my first dosage I am supposed to take two, I am on my second prescription and not gotten any better if not worse. I believe the strep has become immune. The only reason I am taking this is because I am allergic to amoxicillin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bremor | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2021
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I ended up in the ER a few hours after taking this medication for a sinus infection. My heart rate and blood pressure went up to 178/98 blood pressure and 130 pulse at resting. They are usually normal. I was kept overnight for evaluation. The cardiologist that saw me had no idea why this happened.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pepto-man | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/30/2021
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get those annoying "ahem" coughs that last forever and have taken azithromycin for them. The first time was okay, just a little diarrhea on the first day. It worked though. The second time was much worse, I had basically every symptom, and have been nursing a bottle of peptobismol just to keep my guts inside. Anyways, my cough seems to be getting better, but I have to figure something out because this is not a drug you want to take a lot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/20/2021
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my Dr. has put me on this and said I will probably be on it permanently. He claims it's building anti bodies. I worry about long term effects.I do have to admit though, that it has kept me out of hospital for recurring lung infections.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
src | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/15/2021
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It did help from the first dose which is a double dose on day one. And it caused upper stomach pain, bad at times. Diarrhea and orange stools as well. Other than that it worked great for my severe sinus infection. I have had Z-packs for years. Always worked great. Sometimes would need a second round of it though to completely knock out the infection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hans Castorp | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/8/2021
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a horribly blocked nose and mucous in sinuses. This medicine helped me very quickly and I noticed an improvement on the second day and I was perfectly fine by day 5. It really worked for me and the only side effect was slight fatigue, which is to be expected.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
T. Thompson | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/19/2020
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a really bad infection/abscess in my jaw. After 4 days of hoping it would go away on it's own, it started to spread and was clearly evolving into more than just a painful abscess. My doctor prescribed Azithromycin 250 - 5 day pack. After the first day(2-250 tabs) I could feel the abscess shrinking and after my final dose the infection was almost clear. By the second day after finishing the regimen the abscess was completely gone. It worked great for me and there were no side effects to speak of, none of the digestive distress some folks have complained about. Semi-Pro tip: a vegetarian/vegan diet does wonders for your digestive system and your overall well being.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DoraLeo | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2020
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was wowed how my throat felt soo much better after 1st day, by 2nd day i was impressed how my swollen tonsils are now half the size. By day 3 the infection looks to be gone, but boy am i feeling woozy and all the sudden vomited and gurgling stomach and sick. I literally have felt so sick that it scared me. I can't take anymore, calling it quits and hope the bacteria in my throat is completely cleared up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/3/2019
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with an upper respiratory infection and was prescribed Azithromycin 250 mg tables for a 5 day treatment. The pharmacy tech said to call my ATU clinic for adjustments for Warfarin. ATU clinic had me adjust the warfarin for the 5 days I am on the Zpack and was told to watch for any bleeding or bruising more than normal for the next week. Warfarin and Azithromycin do not act well together, so adjustments need to be made temporarily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
T Girl | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2019
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this drug for Bartholin’s cyst and I had SEVERE stomach aches accompanied by vomiting. Previously I took the drug for another infection and also had the same issue, resulting in my inducing of vomit. I will NEVER use this drug again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2019
Condition: Chlamydia Trachomatis Infection of Female Pelvic Organs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked great just eat a blan meal before hand and drink lots of water and you will be fine the side effects are well worth a clean test result wrap it before u tap it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bas | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2019
Condition: Severe Sinusitis caused by Haemophilus Influenzae
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Given for sinusitis. Took them. Got better. BUT. Within day or so. SEVERE PAIN top of thigh to right knee and surrounding muscle. Got a cane to walk. By wk later I could not get up steps could not put any pressure on knee. Walk in clinic. Told I have arthritis. Alls I know this happened when I took this drug. 3 wks now. Still very painful. Can not do steps. Pain lingers long time. So painful coming up steps I thought my knee woukd come out of my leg.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2019
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after two days of first dose my right shoulder,arm and hand is swollen and painful nonstop and earache to L side..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tammy J | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/4/2019
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This antibiotic is one of the best for strep throat, whenever i get strep and take this medication my strep goes away fast , it's very fast and effective I feel like when i take any other type of antibiotics for strep throat it takes a week to feel better but for this it take 1/2 days for my strep to clear and feel like i can swallow again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Just breathe | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/31/2019
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On day 4 for pneumonia. Massive pain in my guts since yesterday! Sweats/hot flashes, heart palpitations, very loose stools, cramping and bloating. Fuzzy vision, ordered a bunch of weird stuff online from being up all night tweaked out on this med. Taking probiotics since day 1. I already have auto immune hearing loss, and now Iâ??m scared after reading other posts. Iâ??m super tired and no appetite. Throat feels very dry. Wish I never took it but was desperate to get better from pneumonia. Still having difficulty breathing. On prednisone and nebulizer. Itâ??s a bad one. Oh I knew about not taking tums and antacids but not magnesium! Iâ??ve been taking vitamins daily that have magnesium but a fit the antacids the pharmacist just said it would make antibiotic not effective. Thank God tmmrw is last day of 5 pack (generic), but guess the next 2 weeks will be on alert for more side effects. Now my docsays it was probably viral. I was sooo sick I wasnâ??t clear to tell him to do a sputum test. UgggRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mudgrubber | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/12/2019
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Visited doctor to refill type 2 diabetes meds and had a chest cold. Doc gave this 5-day Z-pack. No reactions for first two days. On day three noticed raised welts and rashes on my upper thighs and lower waist with extreme itching. Thank goodness for calamine lotion! I had taken the diabetic medication for years so I knew the only change was taking the azimothrycin. I have stopped taking that and will see if this skin condition clears up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CatMom | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/24/2019
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a sore throat that morphed into a bad cough and then pneumonia. Taking this plus steroids plus OTC meds plus 100 oz water per day. Yes, this has side effects. Stomach cramping, nausea, diarrhea, and even some diarrhea "leaking" into my underwear without my awareness. However, I am feeling better each day, coughing less, breathing better, and generally improving (although still fatigued). I am 4 days into treatment and I believe without this medicine I would have continued to get worse and probably ended up in the hospital, because I was coughing all the time and having difficulty breathing. I do not enjoy the side effects but they are better than having pneumonia.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
useprotectionkids | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/17/2019
Condition: Chlamydia Trachomatis Infection of Female Pelvic Organs
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took two 500mg pills at 8:30 pm, by 10:30 pm I had explosive diarrhea... highly recommend eating before taking this as well, as I felt like I was going to throw up, shit my brains out again, or cry. I also had severe cramping, but that was also one of my symptoms that lead me to this diagnosis /:

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2019
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Mycoplasma Pneumoniae
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine is the best. I've been experiencing shortness of breath, throat phlegm congestion and non stop cough for 20 days and is gone in just 1 tablet, the doctor prescribed this with other medicines for three days so I'm still taking it. i've experienced some side effects like vomiting feeling and dizziness in my first day. I understand its a strong antibiotics so its okay for me. I'm very satisfied for this product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More